REUTERS/Hani Amara

18 human rights organizations call for renewal of UN Fact-Finding Mission on Libya

In Arab Countries, International Advocacy Program by CIHRS

The undersigned organizations call on member and observer States of the UN Human Rights Council to support the renewal of the UN Fact-Finding Mission (FFM) mandate on Libya, as a matter of urgency, at the upcoming 50th session of the UN Human Rights Council (HRC).

Your Excellency,

The undersigned organizations welcomed the establishment on 22 June 2020 by the United Nations Human Rights Council (HRC) of the Independent Fact-Finding Mission on Libya (FFM) through resolution 43/39, for a period of one year, to investigate violations and abuses of human rights and international humanitarian law throughout Libya by all parties since the beginning of 2016, including any gendered dimensions of such violations and abuses, and preserve evidence, with a view to preventing further deterioration of the human rights situation, and to ensuring accountability. In October 2021, the HRC renewed the FFM’s mandate for a period of nine months, until the end of June 2022. The FFM is scheduled to present its comprehensive report to the HRC on 6 July 2022.

To date, the investigatory work of the FFM has proven vital in establishing facts related to violations of international human rights law and international humanitarian law committed in Libya since 2016.  However, the work of the FFM is far from complete. Its renewal is imperative to continue investigating ongoing crimes and violations, to shed light on the human rights situation, and to send a strong message that the prevailing environment of impunity can no longer be tolerated.

Supporting pathways to accountability, including through international investigative mechanisms such as the FFM, is key to restoring the rule of law. In its interim report from March 2022, the FFM notably concluded that a culture of impunity was impeding Libya’s transition to peace, democracy, and the rule of law. With the indefinite postponement of presidential and legislative elections scheduled to begin on 24 December 2021, Libya is once again at a political stalemate that continues to fragment the country. Armed groups and militias exploit institutional weaknesses and commit crimes with impunity. The Libyan judiciary has largely failed to bring perpetrators of human rights violations to account, including in relation to the unlawful killings in Tarhouna, while armed groups and militias have subjected prosecutors and judges to abduction, threats and other violence. In violation of the UN arms embargo, several States continue to provide support to various parties to the conflict, while thousands of foreign fighters remain in the country.

The FFM’s investigations indicated that “several Libyan parties to the conflict violated international humanitarian law and potentially committed war crimes.” While the systematic crackdown on civic space has escalated at an alarming rate, civil society actors, especially those working on human rights and peacebuilding, face constant harassment, defamation, threats, arbitrary detention, enforced disappearance, torture and other ill-treatment and unfair trials. The FFM has also reported that women and girls in Libya face physical attacks, harassment and a myriad of institutional and social obstacles that prevent them from fully enjoying their human rights and often limit their ability to participate in public life. In addition, the FFM’s work has shed further light on the violations committed against non-nationals, such as migrants, asylum seekers and refugees and against stateless people – whether at sea by coast guard forces, or by guards in detention centers and at the hands of traffickers and smugglers – and noted that they may amount to crimes against humanity.

For the severity and scale of violations, we underscore the importance of the work of the FFM and the need for the mandate to be renewed. Since its inception, the FFM has faced numerous obstacles, from UN budgetary constraints to the impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic. Following the extension of its mandate in October 2021, the FFM secretariat and support team only became fully operational in late January 2022, leaving it with less than five months to prepare its comprehensive report. Despite all these difficulties, the FFM has been able to publish two substantial reports that highlight the gravity of the human rights situation in Libya and the critical need for further investigations to put an end to the cycle of abuse and tackle widespread impunity.

Failure to renew the FFM by the HRC would send a message to unaccountable armed groups, militias and officials in Libya that Human Rights Council members and observer States, and more generally the international community, are not committed to finding pathways to accountability for past and ongoing violations and abuses, and that respect for human rights and humanitarian law in Libya is not a priority. Such an approach could lead to an escalation in violations and crimes, further entrench impunity, and undermine efforts to navigate the country towards political stability grounded in respect for the rule of law.

In this context, we strongly urge your delegation to ensure the renewal and proper resourcing of the FFM on Libya at the upcoming session of the HRC, with an extended mandate of at least one year to enable it to continue its vital work.

With Assurances of our Highest Consideration,

  1. Adala for All
  2. Al-Aman Organisation against Racial Discrimination
  3. Amnesty International
  4. Aswat Libya Network
  5. Cairo Institute for Human Rights Studies (CIHRS)
  6. Defender Centre for Human Rights (DCHR)
  7. Human Rights Watch
  8. Independent Organisation for Human Rights
  9. International Commission of Jurists (ICJ)
  10. International Federation for Human Rights (FIDH)
  11. Jurists without Chains (JWC)
  12. Lawyers for Justice in Libya (LFJL)
  13. Libyan Crimes Watch (LCW)
  14. Libya Al-Mostakbal Center for Media and Culture
  15. Libyan Organisation for Legal Aid
  16. Libyan Women’s Platform for Peace (LWPP)
  17. Women’s International League for Peace and Freedom (WILPF)
  18. Youth for Tawergha

This post is also available in: العربية

Share this Post

REUTERS/Hani Amara

ليبيا: 18 منظمة حقوقية تدعو الدول الأعضاء بالأمم المتحدة لتجديد بعثة تقصي الحقائق بشأن ليبيا

In البرنامج الدولي لحماية حقوق الإنسان, دول عربية by CIHRS

تدعو المنظمات الموقعة أدناه الدول الأعضاء والمراقبة في مجلس حقوق الإنسان بالأمم المتحدة لدعم تجديد ولاية بعثة الأمم المتحدة لتقصي الحقائق بشأن ليبيا، على وجه السرعة، أثناء الجلسة الخمسين للمجلس.

أصحاب السعادة،

لقد سبق وأعربت المنظمات الموقعة أدناه عن ترحيبها بقرار مجلس حقوق الإنسان بالأمم المتحدة بتشكيل بعثة تقصي الحقائق المستقلة بشأن ليبيا في 22 يونيو 2020، في القرار رقم 43/39، لمدة عام واحد. ونص قرار تشكيلها على التحقيق في انتهاكات وتجاوزات حقوق الإنسان والقانون الإنساني الدولي المرتكَبة، بما في ذلك أي أبعاد جنسانية لهذه الانتهاكات والتجاوزات، في جميع أنحاء ليبيا، ومن جميع الأطراف، منذ بداية عام 2016، وكذا الحفاظ على الأدلة؛ بهدف منع المزيد من التدهور في حالة حقوق الإنسان، وضمان المساءلة. وفي أكتوبر 2021، جدد مجلس حقوق الإنسان ولاية البعثة لمدة تسعة أشهر، حتى نهاية يونيو 2022. ومن المقرر أن تقدم بعثة تقصي الحقائق تقريرها الشامل لمجلس حقوق الإنسان في 6 يوليو 2022.

منذ تشكيلها في 2020، وحتى الآن، برهنت تحقيقات بعثة تقصى الحقائق على مدى أهميتها؛ لإثبات الحقائق والأنماط المتعلقة بانتهاكات القانون الدولي لحقوق الإنسان والقانون الإنساني الدولي المرتكبة في ليبيا منذ 2016. إلا أن عمل بعثة تقصي الحقائق لم ينته بعد، الأمر الذي يحتم تجديد ولايتها؛ لمواصلة التحقيق في الجرائم والانتهاكات الجارية، وإلقاء الضوء على حالة حقوق الإنسان، وكذا إرسال رسالة مفادها أنه لم يعد بالإمكان التسامح مع تفشي الإفلات من العقاب. إن دعم مسارات المساءلة، بما في ذلك استخدام آليات التحقيق الدولية مثل بعثة تقصي الحقائق، هو مفتاح استعادة سيادة القانون في ليبيا.

وفي مارس 2022، خلصت بعثة تقصي الحقائق في تقريرها المؤقت، إلى أن ثقافة الإفلات من العقاب تعرقل انتقال ليبيا إلى السلام والديمقراطية وسيادة القانون. بعدما دخلت ليبيا في مأزق سياسي يهدد بتفتيت البلاد، والمتمثل في إرجاء الانتخابات الرئاسية والتشريعية إلى أجل غير مسمى، بعدما كان من المقرر إجرائها في 24 ديسمبر 2021.

في الوقت نفسه، تستغل الجماعات والميليشيات المسلحة نقاط الضعف المؤسسية، وتواصل ارتكاب العديد من الجرائم والانتهاكات في ظل إفلات من العقاب. وإلى حد كبير، أخفق القضاء الليبي في محاسبة مرتكبي انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان، بما في ذلك، على سبيل المثال، عمليات القتل خارج نطاق القانون في ترهونة. كما أخضعت الجماعات المسلحة والميليشيات المدعين العامين والقضاة للاختطاف والتهديد وأعمال العنف الأخرى. وفي الوقت نفسه، يتواصل انتهاك حظر الأسلحة المفروض من جانب الأمم المتحدة، إذ تقدم دول الدعم لمختلف أطراف النزاع، بينما يتواصل تواجد آلاف المقاتلين الأجانب في البلاد.

تحقيقات بعثة تقصي الحقائق أشارت لأن «العديد من الأطراف الليبية انتهكت القانون الإنساني الدولي، وربما ارتكبت جرائم حرب». وفي سياق متصل، فإن تصاعد الحملة المنهجية بحق المجتمع المدني ينذر بالخطر؛ إذ أن الجهات الفاعلة في المجتمع المدني، خاصةً أولئك الذين يعملون في مجال حقوق الإنسان وبناء السلام، يواجهون مضايقات وتشهير وتهديدات واحتجاز تعسفي واختفاء قسري وتعذيب وسوء معاملة ومحاكمات جائرة. وحسبما أفادت تحقيقات بعثة تقصي الحقائق أيضًا، فإن النساء والفتيات في ليبيا يواجهن اعتداءات جسدية ومضايقات، بالإضافة لعدد لا يحصى من العقبات المؤسسية والاجتماعية التي تحول دون تمتعهن الكامل بحقوقهن الإنسانية، وغالبًا ما تحد من قدرتهن على المشاركة في الحياة العامة. كما سلط عمل بعثة تقصي الحقائق المزيد من الضوء على الانتهاكات المرتكبة بحق غير المواطنين، مثل المهاجرين وطالبي اللجوء واللاجئين، وبحق الأشخاص عديمي الجنسية -سواء في البحر من جانب قوات خفر السواحل، أو من جانب الحراس في مراكز الاحتجاز وعلى أيدي المتاجرين والمهربين، مشيرةً لأنها قد تصل حد الجرائم ضد الإنسانية.

في ضوء هذا، وبناءً على خطورة وحجم الانتهاكات، فإن المنظمات الموقعة تؤكد على أهمية عمل بعثة تقصي الحقائق وضرورة تجديد تفويضها؛ إذ واجهت البعثة العديد من العقبات منذ تشكيلها، بدايةً بقيود ميزانية الأمم المتحدة وصولًا إلى آثار تفشي جائحة كوفيد-19. ومنذ تمديد تفويض بعثة تقصي الحقائق في أكتوبر 2021، لم تستطع أمانة البعثة وفريق الدعم العمل بكامل طاقتهما سوى في أواخر يناير 2022، الأمر الذي أتاح لها أقل من خمسة أشهر لإعداد تقريرها الشامل. ورغم كل هذه الصعوبات؛ تمكنت بعثة تقصي الحقائق من نشر تقريرين جوهريين يسلطان الضوء على خطورة حالة حقوق الإنسان في ليبيا، ويؤكدان على الحاجة الماسة لإجراء المزيد من التحقيقات؛ لوضع حد لدائرة الانتهاكات ومعالجة الإفلات من العقاب المتفشي على نطاق واسع.

إن عدم تجديد بعثة تقصي الحقائق من جانب مجلس حقوق الإنسان سيوجه رسالة للجماعات المسلحة غير الخاضعة للمساءلة، وللميليشيات، وكذا للمسئولين في ليبيا، مفادها أن أعضاء مجلس حقوق الإنسان والدول المراقبة، والمجتمع الدولي بشكل أعم، يتنصلون من التزاماتهم بضمان المساءلة عن الانتهاكات والتجاوزات الماضية والمستمرة، وأن احترام حقوق الإنسان والقانون الإنساني في ليبيا أولوية. ومن شان هذا النهج أن يؤدي لتصاعد الانتهاكات والجرائم، وزيادة ترسيخ الإفلات من العقاب، فضلًا عن تقويض الجهود المبذولة لتوجيه البلاد نحو الاستقرار السياسي المستند على احترام سيادة القانون.

في هذا السياق، فإننا نحث وفدك بشدة على ضمان تجديد بعثة الأمم المتحدة لتقصي الحقائق بشأن ليبيا أثناء الجلسة القادمة لمجلس حقوق الإنسان، بالإضافة لتزويدها بالموارد المناسبة، وضمان تمديد ولايتها لعام واحد، على الأقل؛ لتمكينها من مواصلة عملها الحيوي.

وتفضلوا بقبول احترامنا

المنظمات الموقعة:

  1. منظمة العفو الدولية
  2. مركز القاهرة لدراسات حقوق الإنسان
  3. مركز مدافع لحقوق الإنسان
  4. هيومان رايتس واتش
  5. لجنة الحقوقيين الدولية
  6. محامون من أجل العدالة في ليبيا
  7. رابطة النساء الدولية للسلام والحرية
  8. مركز ليبيا المستقبل للإعلام والثقافة
  9. جمعية عدالة للجميع
  10. منبر المرأة الليبية من أجل السلام
  11. شبكة أصوات ليبيا
  12. منظمة رصد الجرائم الليبية
  13. منظمة شباب من أجل تاورغاء
  14. المنظمة الليبية للمساعدة القانونية
  15. منظمة الأمان لمناهضة التمييز العنصري
  16. منظمة حقوقيون بلا قيود
  17. المنظمة المستقلة لحقوق الإنسان
  18. الفيدرالية الدولية لحقوق الإنسان

هذه المقالة متاحة أيضًا بـ: English

Share this Post