Al-Sisi’s Visit to Brussels: No Red Carpet for Human Rights Violations

In Egypt /Road Map Program, Statements and Position Papers by CIHRS

As EU officials prepare to welcome African heads of state for the EU-AU summit in Brussels on 17-18 February, 2022, 6 NGOs call on EU and Belgian leaders not to roll out the red carpet for Egyptian President Abdelfattah al-Sisi.

The human rights crisis in Egypt under Al-Sisi’s repressive rule has been under the spotlight in recent months, and the Egyptian authorities have been seeking to whitewash their international image. High-ranking EU and Member State officials should not receive President Al-Sisi bilaterally during his time in Brussels unless they will decisively address human rights as a key issue in the EU’s relationship with Egypt, and take a clear and public position on the matter.

In January 2021, twelve human rights organizations issued a joint letter to leaders in the European Union and member states, citing a litany of human rights abuses (including repression of civil society, rampant arbitrary detention, and increased applicaiton of the death penalty, among others). The letter called for the EU to undertake a “comprehensive review of its relations with Egypt.” While there have been sporadic prisoner releases since that letter was delivered, the overall situation for human rights has not seen material improvement.

“Egyptian President el-Sisi has systematically attacked the press, imprisoned journalists, and silenced critical voices,” said Tom Gibson, Committee to Protect Journalists’ EU representative.  “The European Commission should abide by its values and demand during el-Sisi’s upcoming visit that Egyptian authorities cease their repression of the media. The Commission cannot let business carry on as usual.”

Wadih Al-Asmar, President of EuroMed Rights, said “The EU should stop turning a blind eye to widespread human rights violations and to the relentless persecution of peaceful dissenting voices in Egypt. The recent sentencing of human rights lawyer Mohamed al-Baqer and blogger Alaa Abdel Fattah by an emergency court is a sad illustration of this. We need more clear condemnation of these negative developments, and we need the EU to stand with independent civil society and with all the victims of these violations, so that silence does not come across as an endorsement of the Egyptian authorities’ horrendous practices.”

Ahmed Mefreh, the Executive Director of the Committee for Justice, said: “Egypt aims to be a key partner to the EU, but on its terms. The Egyptian regime continues to target human rights defenders, journalists, and lawyers and counting on diplomacy to find a way out of being held accountable for its crimes. Systematic torture in police custody, enforced disappearances, and the use of emergency courts illustrate the devastating effects of the prevailing impunity in Egypt. The EU must support efforts to establish a monitoring mechanism on Egypt at the UN Human Rights Council and strongly voice the negative impact of Egypt’s human rights policy on their allyship. Partnership with Egypt should be founded on the respect to all human rights.”

The deterioration in the human rights situation has drawn condemnation from world leaders, including most notably in March 2021 UN Human Rights Council session, where 32 states expressed “[deep concern] about the application of terrorism legislation against human rights activists, LGBTI persons, journalists, politicians and lawyers.” Yet earlier this year the EU and Egypt submitted a joint bid to chair the Global Counterterrorism Forum.

Leslie Piquemal, Senior EU Advocacy Representative at the Cairo Institute for Human Rights Studies (CIHRS) said: “In March 2021 32 states, including many EU Member States, finally spoke up at the UN Human Rights Council on Egypt’s appalling human rights record. Almost a year on, President Al-Sissi is heading to Brussels for the EU-AU summit. The EU and European states should follow up on last year’s message and refrain from honoring Al-Sissi with high profile accolades that will whitewash Egypt’s image while severe  human rights violations continue.”

Alexis Deswaef, FIDH Vice President said: “Al-Sissi’s brutal regime commits daily human rights violations in the name of national security and counter-terrorism, while EU member states shamelessly sell weapons to Egypt. The recent news that the EU and Egypt submitted a joint bid to co-chair the Global Counter Terrorism Forum together is yet another outrageous sign that the EU and member states consider Egypt as a privileged partner, despite its violent repression against dissenting voices. The EU must urgently change course to send a clear signal to Al-Sissi that Egypt’s appalling human rights record will no longer be tolerated.”

Andrea Prasow, Executive Director of the Freedom Initiative said: “President Sisi’s visit is an opportunity for European leaders to show they care more about the tens of thousands wrongfully imprisoned in Egypt than they do about offering Sisi a warm welcome. Any leader meeting with Sisi should make clear that Egypt must fulfill its human rights obligations, particularly by ending arbitrary detention, unlawful travel bans, and targeting human rights defenders outside its borders.”

  1. Cairo Institute for Human Rights Studies (CIHRS)
  2. Committee for Justice (CFJ)
  3. Committee to Protect Journalists (CPJ)
  4. EuroMed Rights
  5. Freedom Initiative
  6. International Federation for Human Rights (FIDH)

 

 

This post is also available in: العربية Français

Share this Post

زيارة “السيسي” لبروكسل: لا للاحتفاء بجرائم حقوق الإنسان

In برنامج مصر ..خارطة الطريق, مواقف وبيانات by CIHRS

بينما يستعد مسئولو الاتحاد الأوروبي لاستقبال رؤساء الدول الأفريقية في قمة الاتحاد الأوروبي والاتحاد الأفريقي ببروكسل، يومي 17 و18 فبراير الجاري، تدعو المنظمات الحقوقية الـ 6 الموقعة على هذا البيان قادة الاتحاد الأوروبي وبلجيكا إلى عدم الاحتفاء بالرئيس المصري عبد الفتاح السيسي.

تسعى السلطات المصرية إلى تحسين صورتها أمام العالم، بعدما تم تسليط الضوء في الأشهر الأخيرة على أزمة حقوق الإنسان في ظل الحكم القمعي للرئيس السيسي. لذا فمن المنتظر أن يتجنب المسئولون في الاتحاد الأوروبي والدول الأعضاء الانخراط في أية لقاءات ثنائية مع الرئيس السيسي خلال فترة وجوده في بروكسل، ما لم يتطرقوا فيها بشكل حاسم لأزمة حقوق الإنسان باعتبارها قضية مفصلية في علاقة الاتحاد الأوروبي بمصر، ويتخذوا موقفًا واضحًا وعلنيًا بشأن هذه المسألة.

في يناير 2021، أصدرت 12 منظمة حقوقية رسالة مشتركة إلى قادة الاتحاد الأوروبي والدول الأعضاء، تستعرض نماذج  للانتهاكات المروعة لحقوق الإنسان  المرتكبة في مصر، بما في ذلك؛ قمع المجتمع المدني، وتفشي الاحتجاز التعسفي، وزيادة تنفيذ عقوبة الإعدام. وقد دعت الرسالة الاتحاد الأوروبي إلى إجراء مراجعة شاملة لعلاقاته مع مصر. ورغم بعض القرارات بإطلاق سراح قلة من السجناء منذ تسليم تلك الرسالة، لم يشهد الوضع العام لحقوق الإنسان في مصر تحسنًا ملموسًا.

يقول توم جيبسون، ممثل لجنة حماية الصحفيين في الاتحاد الأوروبي: “يهاجم الرئيس السيسي الصحافة بشكل منهجي، ويسجن الصحفيين، ويُسكت الأصوات الناقدة. وعلى المفوضية الأوروبية أن تلتزم بقيمها وتطالب السيسي خلال الزيارة بالكف عن قمع وسائل الإعلام، وإلا لا يمكن للمفوضية أن تدع الشراكة تستمر كالمعتاد”.

وأضاف وديع الأسمر، رئيس الأورو- متوسطية للحقوق: “على الاتحاد الأوروبي أن يتوقف عن غض الطرف عن انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان واسعة الانتشار والتنكيل المستمر بالأصوات السلمية المعارضة في مصر. ولعل الحكم الأخير على محامي حقوق الإنسان محمد الباقر، والمدون علاء عبد الفتاح، من قبل محكمة الطوارئ، هو دليل محزن على ذلك. نحن بحاجة إلى إدانة أكثر وضوحًا لهذه التطورات السلبية، ونتطلع لوقوف الاتحاد الأوروبي بجانب المجتمع المدني المستقل وضحايا هذه الانتهاكات، حتى لا يُفسر صمته على أنه تأييد للممارسات المروعة للسلطات المصرية.”

من جانبه يقول أحمد مفرح، المدير التنفيذي لـ كوميتي فور جستس: “تسعى مصر إلى أن تكون شريكًا رئيسيًا للاتحاد الأوروبي، ولكن وفقًا لشروطها. إذ يواصل النظام المصري استهداف المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان والصحفيين والمحامين، ويعول على الدبلوماسية للإفلات من المحاسبة عن جرائمه. ويعكس التعذيب المنهجي في أقسام الشرطة، والإخفاء القسري، والاحتكام لمحاكم الطوارئ الآثار المدمرة للإفلات من العقاب السائد في مصر. يجب على الاتحاد الأوروبي دعم الجهود المبذولة لتشكيل آلية أممية للمراقبة على مصر في مجلس حقوق الإنسان، والتعبير بقوة عن الأثر السلبي لسياستها في مجال حقوق الإنسان على حلفائها. يجب أن تقوم الشراكة مع مصر على أساس احترام جميع حقوق الإنسان”.

تعرضت مصر لإدانة واسعة من زعماء العالم، خلال جلسة مجلس حقوق الإنسان بالأمم المتحدة في مارس 2021 بسبب تدهور حالة حقوق الانسان فيها، وعلى الرغم من ذلك قدم الاتحاد الأوروبي ومصر في وقت سابق من هذا العام عرضًا مشتركًا لرئاسة المنتدى العالمي لمكافحة الإرهاب.

تقول ليزلي بيكيمال، مسئولة شئون المناصرة الدولية لدى الاتحاد الأوروبي بمركز القاهرة لدراسات حقوق الإنسان: “في مارس 2021، تطرقت 32 دولة في مجلس حقوق الإنسان، بما في ذلك دول أعضاء بالاتحاد الأوروبي، لسجل مصر المروع في مجال حقوق الإنسان. وبعد مرور عام تقريبًا، يتوجه الرئيس السيسي لبروكسل لحضور قمة الاتحاد الأوروبي والاتحاد الأفريقي. والآن، يجب على الاتحاد الأوروبي والدول الأوروبية التأكيد على رسالة العام الماضي والامتناع عن تكريم السيسي أو الاحتفاء به على نحو يُجمل صورة مصر أمام العالم، بينما تستمر الانتهاكات الجسيمة لحقوق الإنسان”.

ويضيف ألكسيس دسويف، نائب رئيس الفيدرالية الدولية لحقوق الإنسان: “يرتكب نظام السيسي انتهاكات وحشية يومية لحقوق الإنسان بدعوى حماية الأمن القومي ومكافحة الإرهاب، وتبيع الدول الأعضاء في الاتحاد الأوروبي الأسلحة لمصر بلا خجل. ولعل الأخبار الأخيرة بشأن تقديم الاتحاد الأوروبي ومصر عرضًا مشتركًا لرئاسة المنتدى العالمي لمكافحة الإرهاب معًا، يعد بمثابة علامة أخرى مشينة للاتحاد الأوروبي والدول الأعضاء بشأن اعتبارهم مصر شريكًا متميزًا، رغم قمعها العنيف للأصوات المعارضة. يجب على الاتحاد الأوروبي أن يغير مساره على وجه السرعة، وإرسال إشارة واضحة للسيسي مفادها أنه لا تسامح مع سجل مصر المروع في مجال حقوق الإنسان بعد الآن”.

وبحسب أندريا براسو، المديرة التنفيذية لمبادرة الحرية: “زيارة الرئيس السيسي فرصة للقادة الأوروبيين لإظهار اهتمامهم بعشرات الآلاف من المسجونين ظلمًا في مصر، أكثر من اهتمامهم بالترحيب الحار بالرئيس المصري. كما يجب أن يوضح أي زعيم يجتمع مع السيسي ضرورة أن تفي مصر بالتزاماتها في مجال حقوق الإنسان، لا سيما من خلال إنهاء الاحتجاز التعسفي، ورفع حظر السفر غير القانوني، ووقف استهداف المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان خارج حدودها”.

الموقعون:

  • مركز القاهرة لدراسات حقوق الإنسان (CIHRS)
  • كوميتي فور جستس (CFJ)
  • لجنة حماية الصحفيين (CPJ)
  • الأورو-متوسطية للحقوق
  • مبادرة الحرية
  • الفيدرالية الدولية لحقوق الإنسان (FIDH)

هذه المقالة متاحة أيضًا بـ: English Français

Share this Post