Algeria: Spain forsakes international obligations in appalling refoulement of Algerian whistleblower

In Arab Countries, International Advocacy Program by CIHRS

The undersigned organisations strongly condemn the deportation by Spain of Algerian activist Mohamed Benhalima, in the evening of 24 March 2022, despite the risks of torture and serious human rights violations he faces in Algeria, and therefore in blatant violation of Spain’s international obligations on non-refoulement. The authorities had been made aware, through civil society and legal appeals, that Mr Benhalima faces a high risk of torture, arbitrary detention and unfair trial in Algeria, where such violations are increasingly common against prisoners of opinion and peaceful activists.

Mohamed Benhalima is an Algerian citizen and a former army corporal, who became a whistleblower to expose corruption among Algeria’s high-ranking military officials in 2019. He left Algeria after receiving information that his name was on a list of wanted military officials at risk of detention by the Algerian army for their participation in the Hirak, a mass pro-democracy protest movement.

He sought asylum in Spain on 18 February 2020 and again on 18 March 2022 Spain refused him asylum both times. On 14 March 2022, authorities opened an administrative file of expulsion for infringement of Art. 54.1.a. of Immigration Law 4/2000, alleging that Mr. Benhalima took part in “activities contrary to public security or which may be harmful for Spanish relationships with foreign states”.

Spanish authorities justified the opening of an expulsion file based on Mr. Benhalima’s alleged association with political opposition group Rachad, which was listed as a terrorist group by Algeria on 6 February 2022[1]. Spanish authorities claimed that Rachad’s objective was to infiltrate radical youth into Algerian society to protest against the Algerian government, and concluded that the activist was member of a terrorist group.

Spanish authorities did not provide any proof of use of violence, advocacy of hatred, or any other action taken by the activist that could be considered as “terrorism” in accordance with the definition proposed by the UN Special Rapporteur on the protection of human rights while countering terrorism[2]. Authorities also do not appear to have considered a context in which Algerian authorities have been increasingly levelling bogus terrorism and national security charges against peaceful activists, human rights defenders and journalists since April 2021. On 27 December 2021, UN Special Procedures warned[3] that the definition of terrorism in the Algerian Penal Code was too imprecise and undermined human rights. They stated that the procedure for registration on the national terrorist list did not comply with international human rights standards and expressed concern that it could give rise to abuse.

On 24 March around 7pm, Mr. Benhalima’s lawyers were notified of the resolution of expulsion and promptly filed a request for an interim suspensive measure at the National Court of Spain, which was rejected; however, it was revealed later that the activist was already being escorted on a plane to Algeria at the time.

On 21 March 2022, the UN High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) submitted a non-public report to the Spanish government stating that Mr. Benhalima’s asylum request should be studied thoroughly in a regular procedure and not rejected expediently, arguing that the risk of torture was credible and that Algeria’s criminalisation of peaceful opposition was internationally recognised.

On 27 March, Benhalima appeared in a video broadcasted on Ennahar TV, in which he “confesses” to the crimes of conspiracy against the state and states that he was not treated badly in custody. However, the undersigned organisations call into question the reliability of such statements which might be the result of duress. In addition, Benhalima had himself released a video from the retention centre in Valencia, before his deportation to Algeria, in which he warns that such videos would not be genuine and would show that he “was subjected to severe torture at the hands of intelligence services.”

In January and March 2021, in Algeria, Mohamed Benhalima was sentenced in absentia to a total of 20 years in prison for charges including “participation in a terrorist group” (Article 87bis 3 of the Penal Code) and “publishing fake news undermining national unity” (Art.196 bis) among other charges. The overly broad formulation of both articles has been used by Algeria repeatedly to criminalise people who have expressed any form of dissent. In one of the two verdicts, issued on 9 March 2021, the judge sentenced Benhalima to 10 years in prison for his online publications, including videos exposing corruption in the army, a form of expression which is protected under the right to freedom of expression.

Spanish authorities additionally motivated the expulsion based on Mr. Benhalima’s close relationship with Mohamed Abdellah, another Algerian whistleblower and former member of the military, who also sought refuge in Spain in April 2019 and was forcibly returned on 21 August 2021 using Art. 54.1.a. of Law 4/2000, in similar circumstances and for the same motives.

Mohamed Abdellah, currently detained in the military prison of Blida, stated in court on 2 January 2022 that he had been subjected to torture and other ill-treatment upon his return to Algeria, including physical abuse and prolonged solitary confinement in a cell with no light, according to a witness who attended the hearing. He was also deprived of access to a lawyer.

Despite the strong similarities between both cases providing a compelling precedent about the actual risk of torture and other ill-treatment of activists and whistleblowers in Algeria, notably former members of the military, the Spanish government showed its determination to forcibly return someone where their physical and psychological integrity was not guaranteed. In doing so, Spain flouted critical international law obligations that forbid governments to return individuals to a country where they would be in danger of suffering torture or other cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment.

The government’s decision to expel Mr. Benhalima and the decision of the National Court not to apply a suspensive measure are in contravention of Article 3 of the UN Convention against Torture (CAT) ratified by Spain in 1987, which provides for an absolute protection against refoulement of persons in danger of being tortured or otherwise ill-treated in a State to which they are to be expelled, returned or extradited. According to the UN Committee against Torture, nobody can be excluded from this protection even if they are deemed to pose a threat to national security and are not eligible for asylum[4]. The Committee has shown that once a person alludes to a risk of torture, a State party can no longer cite domestic concerns as grounds for failing in this obligation[5], and that such considerations emphasise the importance of appropriate review mechanisms[6]. The Committee further explained that diplomatic assurances could not be used as a justification for failing to apply the principle of non-refoulement[7].

Similarly, Article 3 of the European Convention on Human Rights (ECHR) has been interpreted by the European Court on Human Rights as providing an effective means of protection against all forms of return to places where there are substantial grounds to believe that the person would be subjected to torture, or to inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment[8]. For the Court, this obligation prevails over any obligation to return, expel or extradite arising from other international or bilateral commitments[9]. Article 3 is further listed in Article 15(2) of the ECHR as a non-derogable provision, which leaves no scope for limitations under any circumstances, whether they be safety, public order or other grounds[10].

  1. Alianza-ActionAid
  2. Al Karama
  3. Amnesty International
  4. Cairo Institute for Human Rights Studies (CIHRS)
  5. Collective of the Families of the Disappeared in Algeria (CFDA)
  6. Euromed Rights
  7. Irídia, Center for Human Rights.
  8. Justitia Center for Legal Protection of Human Rights in Algeria
  9. MENA Rights Group
  10. Red Jurídica
  11. Riposte Internationale
  12. Spanish Commission for Refugees – CEAR
  13. Statewatch
  14. World Organisation against Torture (OMCT)

[1] Algerian Official Gazette, n°11 of 27 February 2022.
[2] Report of the Special Rapporteur on the promotion and protection of human rights and fundamental freedoms while countering terrorism, 22 December 2010, A/HRC/16/51 https://documents-dds-ny.un.org/doc/UNDOC/GEN/G10/178/98/PDF/G1017898.pdf?OpenElement.
[3] OL DZA 12/2021.
[4] See example Human Rights Committee, Khan v Canada, N°15/1994 (n 1); VXN and HN v Sweden, N°130/1999 and 131/1999
(n° 49) para 14.3; Dadar v Canada, N° 258/2004, UN Doc CAT/C/35/D/258/2004, 23 November 2005,
paras 4.4, 8.8.
[5] UN Committee Against torture, Adel Tebourski v France, No 300/2006 (n°49) para 8.3.
[6] UN Committee Against Torture, Agiza v Sweden, N°233/2003, UN Doc CAT/C/34/D/233/2003, 20 May 2005, para 13.8
[7] UN Committee against torture, Abichou v Germany, N°430/2010, UN Doc CAT/C/50/D/430/2010, 21 May 2013, para 11.5
[8] UNHCR Manual on Refugee Protection and the ECHR Part 2.1 – Fact Sheet on Article 3.
[9] Ibid, para. 2.5.
[10] European Court of Human Rights, Ireland v. United Kingdom, Judgement of 18 January 1978, Series A, No. 25, para. 162 and 163.

This post is also available in: العربية

Share this Post

إسبانيا تتخلى عن التزاماتها الدولية وتعيد قسرًا الجزائري فاضح الفساد محمد بن حليمة

In البرنامج الدولي لحماية حقوق الإنسان, دول عربية by CIHRS

تدين المنظمات الموقعة أدناه بشدة ترحيل إسبانيا للناشط الجزائري محمد بن حليمة، مساء 24 مارس 2022، برغم مخاطر التعذيب والانتهاكات الجسيمة لحقوق الإنسان التي قد يواجهها في الجزائر، وتؤكد المنظمات أن ذلك الترحيل يعد انتهاكًا صارخًا للالتزامات الدولية لإسبانيا بشأن عدم الإعادة القسرية. بعدما علمت السلطات، من خلال المجتمع المدني والاستئنافات القانونية، أن السيد بن حليمة يواجه خطرًا كبيرًا بالتعرض للتعذيب والاحتجاز التعسفي والمحاكمة الجائرة في الجزائر؛ إذ تنتشر مثل هذه الانتهاكات بشكل متزايد بحق سجناء الرأي والنشطاء السلميين.

محمد بن حليمة هو مواطن جزائري وعريف سابق في الجيش، وقد أصبح منذ 2019، مُبلّغًا عن الفساد بين كبار المسئولين العسكريين الجزائريين. واضطر الناشط لمغادرة الجزائر بعد تلقيه معلومات تفيد إدراج اسمه ضمن قائمة بأسماء مسئولين عسكريين مطلوبين ومعرضين لخطر الاحتجاز من جانب الجيش الجزائري لمشاركتهم في احتجاجات «الحراك»، وهي حركة احتجاج جماهيري مناصرة للديمقراطية.

كان بن حليمة قد قدم التماسًا باللجوء في إسبانيا في 18 فبراير 2020، وفي 18 مارس 2022، وفي كلتا الحالتين، رفضت إسبانيا اللجوء. وفي 14 مارس 2022، فتحت السلطات الإسبانية ملفًا إداريًا لطرده بزعم انتهاكه للمادة (54-1-أ) من قانون الهجرة (4/2000)، مدعيةً مشاركته في «أنشطة منافية للأمن العام أو يمكن أن تضر بالعلاقات الإسبانية مع دول أجنبية».

بررت السلطات الإسبانية فتح ملف طرد لابن حليمة بناءً على الارتباط المزعوم بجماعة المعارضة السياسية «رشاد»، والتي صنفتها الجزائر كجماعة إرهابية في 6 فبراير 2022. [1] وادعت السلطات الإسبانية أن هدف «رشاد» كان تسلّل الشباب المتطرف إلى المجتمع الجزائري لتأجيج الاحتجاج على الحكومة الجزائرية، وخلصت إلى أن الناشط كان عضوًا في جماعة إرهابية.

في الوقت ذاته، لم تقدم السلطات أي دليل على خطاب أو عمل عنيف أو أي إجراء آخر مارسه الناشط ويندرج تحت تعريف الإرهاب، بما يتماشى مع الاتفاقية التي اقترحها مقرر الأمم المتحدة الخاص المعني بحماية حقوق الإنسان في سياق مكافحة الإرهاب.[2] ويبدو أن السلطات الإسبانية تجاهلت الممارسات التي دأبت عليها السلطات الجزائرية منذ أبريل 2021، وتتضمن توجيه اتهامات وهمية تتعلق بأمن الدولة والإرهاب للنشطاء المسالمين والمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان والصحفيين. وفي 27 ديسمبر 2021، حذرت الإجراءات الخاصة للأمم المتحدة[3] من أن تعريف الإرهاب في قانون العقوبات الجزائري غير دقيق بالمرة، ويقوض الحقوق الأساسية. كما أشارت الإجراءات الخاصة لأن إجراءات التسجيل في القائمة الوطنية للإرهابيين لا تمتثل للمعايير الدولية لحقوق الإنسان، معربةً عن قلقها من تسبب تلك الإجراءات في حدوث انتهاكات.

وفي 21 مارس 2022، قدمت مفوضية الأمم المتحدة لشئون اللاجئين تقريرًا غير علني إلى الحكومة الإسبانية ينص على أنه يجب دراسة طلب اللجوء المقدم من السيد بن حليمة بدقة في سياق إجراء منتظم وعدم رفضه بشكل متسرع، مؤكدةً أن خوف بن حليمة من التعذيب له من الدلائل ما يؤيده، وأن تجريم الجزائر للمعارضة السلمية معترف به دوليًا.

في 24 مارس، حوالي الساعة السابعة مساءً، أُخطر محامو السيد بن حليمة بقرار الطرد، الأمر الذي دفعهم لتقديم طلب فوري إلى المحكمة الوطنية الإسبانية لاتخاذ إجراء مؤقت لوقف التنفيذ. وبينما رُفض هذا الطلب؛ اتضح لاحقًا أن الناشط كان في طريقه للجزائر بالفعل في ذلك الوقت.

لاحقًا في 27 مارس، ظهر بن حليمة في فيديو بثته قناة النهار، «اعترف» فيه بارتكاب جرائم تآمر ضد الدولة، وأعلن أنه لم يعامل بشكل سيء أثناء احتجازه. رغم ذلك، فإن المنظمات الموقعة أدناه تشكك في مصداقية مثل هذه الاعترافات، التي قد تكون نتيجة الإكراه. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، نشر بن حليمة بنفسه مقطع فيديو من مركز احتجاز في فالنسيا، قبيل ترحيله إلى الجزائر، يحذر فيه من أن مقاطع الفيديو من هذا القبيل لن تكون حقيقية، وأنها ستظهر «تعرضه لتعذيب شديد على أيدي أجهزة المخابرات».

وفي يناير ومارس 2021، حكم على بن حليمة غيابيًا في الجزائر بالسجن لمدة 20 سنة، بعدة تهم من بينها «المشاركة في جماعة إرهابية» و«نشر أخبار زائفة تقوض الوحدة الوطنية» بموجب المواد «87 مكرر 3 من قانون العقوبات» و«196 مكرر» على التوالي. وتذكر المنظمات الموقعة بأن السلطات الجزائرية قد استخدمت مرارًا وتكرارًا الصياغة الفضفاضة لهاتين المادتين في سبيل تجريم الحريات الأساسية. وفي أحد الحكمين الصادرين بحق بن حليمة، في 9 مارس 2021، حكم أحد القضاة على بن حليمة بالسجن 10 سنوات بسبب منشوراته على الإنترنت، ومن بينها أشرطة الفيديو التي تكشف الفساد في الجيش، والذي يعد أحد أشكال التعبير السلمي عن الرأي، والمحمي بموجب الحق في حرية التعبير.

في السياق ذاته، تحججت السلطات الإسبانية في قرارها لطرد بن حليمة بعلاقته الوثيقة مع محمد عبد الله، وهو جزائري آخر مبلغ عن الفساد، وعضو سابق في الجيش الجزائري، والذي التمس أيضًا اللجوء في إسبانيا في أبريل 2019، وأعيد قسريًا في 21 أغسطس 2021 باستخدام المادة نفسها من القانون نفسه، وفي ظروف مماثلة وللدوافع ذاتها.

وفي 2 يناير 2022، صرح محمد عبد الله، المحتجز حاليًا في سجن البليدة العسكري، أثناء إحدى جلسات محاكمته، بتعرضه لأشكال مختلفة من التعذيب وسوء المعاملة عند عودته إلى الجزائر، بما في ذلك الاعتداء الجسدي والحبس الانفرادي المطول في زنزانة خالية من الإضاءة، وفقًا لشاهد حضر الجلسة، كما حُرم من الوصول إلى محام.

ورغم أوجه التشابه القوية بين كلتا الحالتين، الأمر الذي يوفر سابقة مقنعة حول الخطر الفعلي لتعذيب وسوء معاملة النشطاء والمبلغين عن الفساد في الجزائر، لا سيما أفراد الجيش السابقين؛ أظهرت الحكومة الإسبانية عزمها على إعادة بن حليمة قسرًا، رغم المخاطر التي تهدد سلامته الجسدية والنفسية. ويظهر هذا الأمر مدى استخفاف إسباني بالتزامات القانون الدولي الحاسمة، والتي لا ينبغي بموجبها إعادة أي شخص إلى بلد يتعرض فيه لخطر التعذيب أو غيره من ضروب المعاملة القاسية أو اللاإنسانية أو المهينة.

إن قرار الحكومة الإسبانية بإعادة السيد بن حليمة قسرًا والقرار القضائي للمحكمة الوطنية بعدم إصدار قرار بوقف التنفيذ، يتعارضان مع المادة 3 من اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة لمناهضة التعذيب، التي صدقت عليها إسبانيا في عام 1987، والتي تنص على الحماية المطلقة من الإعادة القسرية؛ بمعنى أنه لا يمكن استبعاد أي شخص من هذه الحماية حتى لو اعتُبر أنه يشكل تهديدًا للأمن القومي وغير مؤهل للجوء.[4] وحسبما أكدت لجنة الأمم المتحدة لمناهضة التعذيب، فإنه بمجرد إشارة الشخص إلى خطر التعرض للتعذيب، لم يعد بإمكان الدولة الطرف الاستشهاد بالاعتبارات المحلية كأسباب لتجنب هذا الالتزام،[5] موضحةً أن مثل هذه الاعتبارات تؤكد على أهمية آليات المراجعة المناسبة.[6] وأوضحت اللجنة كذلك عدم جواز استخدام الضمانات الدبلوماسية كمبرر لعدم تطبيق مبدأ عدم الإعادة القسرية.[7]

في سياق متصل، فسرت المحكمة الأوروبية لحقوق الإنسان المادة 3 من الاتفاقية الأوروبية لحقوق الإنسان (ECHR) على أنها توفر وسيلة فعالة للحماية من جميع أشكال العودة إلى الأماكن التي توجد فيها أسباب جوهرية للاعتقاد بتعرض الشخص للتعذيب أو للمعاملة أو العقوبة اللاإنسانية أو المهينة. بالنسبة للمحكمة،[8] يسود هذا الالتزام على أي التزام بالعودة أو الطرد أو التسليم ناشئ عن التزامات دولية أو ثنائية أخرى.[9] تم إدراج المادة 3 أيضًا في المادة 15 (2) من الاتفاقية الأوروبية لحقوق الإنسان باعتبارها حكمًا غير قابل للتقييد، والذي لا يترك مجالًا للقيود تحت أي ظرف من الظروف، سواءً كانت تتعلق بالسلامة أو النظام العام أو أسباب أخرى.[10]

المنظمات الموقعة:

  1. منا لحقوق الإنسان
  2. مركز جوستيتيا للحماية القانونية لحقوق الإنسان في الجزائر
  3. المنظمة العالمية لمناهضة التعذيب
  4. جوريديكا الأحمر
  5. مركز القاهرة لدراسات حقوق الإنسان
  6. منظمة العفو الدولية
  7. إيريديا، مركز حقوق الإنسان
  8. تجمع عائلات المفقودين في الجزائر
  9. الكرامة
  10. ستاتواتش (Statewatch)
  11. المفوضية الإسبانية للاجئين – CEAR
  12. يوروميد للحقوق
  13. التصدي الدولي
  14. أليانزا أكشن إيد (Alianza-ActionAid)

[1] الجريدة الرسمية رقم 11 بتاريخ 27 فبراير 2022.
[2]A/HRC/16/51
[3]OL DZA 12/2021
[4] على سبيل المثال خان ضد كندا، رقم 15/1994 (رقم 1)؛ VXN وHN ضد السويد، رقم 130/1999 و131/1999 (رقم 49) الفقرة 14.3؛ دادار ضد كندا، رقم 258/2004، وثيقة الأمم المتحدة CAT / C / 35 / D / 258/2004، 23 نوفمبر 2005، الفقرتان 4.4 و8.8.
[5] عادل تبرسكي ضد فرنسا، رقم 300/2006 (رقم 49) فقرة 8.3.
[6] عجيزة ضد السويد، رقم 233/2003، وثيقة الأمم المتحدة CAT / C / 34 / D / 233/2003، 20 مايو 2005، الفقرة 13.8
[7] أبيشو ضد ألمانيا، رقم 430/2010، وثيقة الأمم المتحدة CAT / C / 50 / D / 430/2010، 21 مايو 2013، الفقرة 11.5
[8] دليل المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين بشأن حماية اللاجئين والجزء 2.1 من الاتفاقية الأوروبية لحقوق الإنسان – صحيفة وقائع حول المادة 3.
[9] المرجع نفسه، الفقرة 2.5
[10] أيرلندا ضد المملكة المتحدة، الحكم الصادر في 18 يناير 1978، المجموعة أ، رقم 25، الفقرة 162 و 163.

هذه المقالة متاحة أيضًا بـ: English

Share this Post