MaghrebVoices

Algeria: State reprisals must be ended against human rights defenders cooperating with UN mechanisms

In Arab Countries, International Advocacy Program by CIHRS

On 24 August, Kaddour Chouicha, a prominent human rights defender and vice president of the Algerian League for the Defense of Human Rights (LADDH), and president of the League in Oran, was detained at  Oran airport with his wife. After a two-hour interrogation about the reason for his travel, his destination, and his links with United Nations (UN) human rights mechanisms, Chouicha was prevented from boarding his flight at the airport without being informed in advance by the authorities that his name was on a travel ban list. The travel ban procedure coincides with Chouicha’s readiness to travel, to prepare with others for meetings with the United Nations Special Rapporteurs, and to highlight the continued restrictions on the freedom of the work of trade unions and associations. He had been  traveling with his wife, who is participating in meetings at the Human Rights Council today 31 August, in the lead up  to the official Universal Periodic Review (UPR) session at the Human Rights Council, which is scheduled to be held next November. The travel ban is also likely  in retaliation  for his participation in a joint submission that shed light on the shrinking of civic space and harsh repression against human rights defenders and activists from the Hirak movement by the Algerian authorities. This increasing repression includes physical aggression, arbitrary arrest, ill-treatment and torture during detention, and judicial harassment against peaceful demonstrators, members of the human rights movement, trade unionists, and journalists.

The undersigned organizations fear that this incident, which coincided with the visit of the French President to Algeria, is further evidence of the continued condoning by European leaders of the escalating human rights violations in Algeria, in exchange for securing Europe’s energy needs. The organizations consider that this selectivity and inconsistency in support of international human rights standards fuels instability and promotes the growth of violent extremist groups. In addition, the strategy of searching for compromises with authoritarian regimes would impede the processes of democratization on the shores of the southern Mediterranean, and increase the number of immigrants from its youth desperate for change.

It is worth mentioning that the Algerian authorities have a long record of harassment against  Kaddour Chouicha; on 12 March 2021, he and his son were violently beaten by police forces in Oran (one of the police officers tried to strangle him). On 29 April 2021, human rights defenders (HRDs) Chouicha, Jamila Loukil, and Said Boudour, and 12 other peaceful activists, were prosecuted on terrorism-related charges. The Public Prosecutor charged them with “conspiracy against state security to incite citizens to take up arms against the authority of the state or to undermine the integrity of the national territory, propaganda of foreign origin or inspiration likely to harm the national interest, and registration in a terrorist or subversive organization operating abroad or In Algeria,” according to articles 77, 78, 87 bis, 87 bis 3, 87 bis 6, 87 bis 12 and 96 of the Penal Code. The list of charges reflects the Algerian authorities’ deliberate unfair association of the peaceful and legitimate activity of human rights defenders and terrorist crimes, in a manner that allows them to be sentenced to long prison terms of up to 20 years.

In this context, the undersigned organizations demand:

  1. UN Special procedures and OHCHR should immediately and publicly raise concerns to Algerian authorities about the continuous targeting and reprisals against human rights defender
  2. International bodies and independent international and regional human rights organizations should work to ensure that Algerian civil society is able to operate freely and free from reprisals and repression, especially the Algerian League for the Defense of Human Rights.
  3. Algerian authorities should urgently and immediately drop all travel ban measures and charges against human rights defender Kaddour Chouicha; who is being targeted for his legitimate and peaceful work defending human rights and his participation in peaceful protests.
  4. Algerian authorities must guarantee that in all circumstances, human rights defenders in Algeria can carry out their legitimate human rights activities without restrictions or fear of reprisal. Peaceful protesters should not be penalized, especially through the use of unfounded terrorism charges to imprison them.
  5. Algerian authorities should review Penal Code provisions that carry the risk of unduly criminalizing human rights work, including articles 87bis and 96, in line with the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (ICCPR) and the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights (ACHPR) ratified by Algeria.

Signatures:

  1. Cairo Institute for Human Rights Studies
  2. Euromed Rights
  3. The Algerian League for the Defense of Human Rights (LADDH)
  4. FIDH – within the framework of the Observatory for the Protection of Human Rights Defenders.
  5. World Organisation Against Torture – within the framework of the Observatory for the Protection of Human Rights Defenders
  6. JUSTICIA center
  7. international Response
  8. Actions détenus

Background information:

The Algerian authorities’ abuse of counterterrorism as a tool of reprisal against HRDs:

Executive decree n°21-384 of 7 October 2021 laid out the modalities of the establishment and listing of the national terrorist list, under which the listed entities or individuals can be subjected to severe restrictions (travel ban, asset freeze, and the prohibition from engaging in political, union, or public activities). According to the decree, the listing process is solely based on a preliminary and independent investigation by security bodies, without judicial oversight and legislative regulations. On this basis, a commission chaired by the Minister of Interior and composed of several other ministers and heads of security bodies, decides on the inclusion and removal of individuals and entities onto the list. The lack of independent review runs counter to international standards that require an independent investigation before imposing punishment.

On 27 December 2021, UN Special Procedures warned that counter-terrorism legislation undermined fundamental rights and imposed disproportionate penalties for acts that should not be addressed by counter-terrorism legislation[1]. They stated that the procedures for listing the names of entities and individuals on the national terrorist list did not comply with international human rights standards and expressed “concern that this legislative framework could give rise to abuse and allow arbitrary decisions to be made”.

Between April and October 2021, CIHRS documented at least 59 individuals prosecuted on unfounded terrorism charges.[2] We mention them as an example but not limited to;.

  1. On 29 April 2021, human rights defenders (HRDs) Kaddour Chouicha, Jamila Loukil and Said Boudour, and 12 other peaceful activists, were prosecuted on terrorism-related charges[3].
  2. Protester Hakima Bahri was arrested on 21 May 2021 for “participation in a terrorist organization”.
  3. On 26 May 2021, human rights lawyer Abderraouf Arslane[4] was arrested and prosecuted for participation in a terrorist organization (Articles 87bis 2 and 87bis 3 of the Penal Code).
  4. Activists Fatima Boudouda and Moufida Kharchi have been in pretrial detention since 21 May 2021 on terrorism-related charges.
  5. Trade unionist Ramzi Derder and three other activists[5] were arrested in Batna on 27-30 June 2021 on terrorism charges.
  6. On 24 August 2021, minority rights defender Kamira Nait Sidive forcibly disappeared, she was then charged with several terrorism-related accusations[6].
  7. Christian Amazigh activist Slimane Bouhafs, an Algerian refugee[7], was forcibly returned from Tunis on 25 August 2021 to be prosecuted for “participation in a terrorist organization”.
  8. Fifteen Amazigh activists and journalist Mohamed Mouloudj were arrested between 2-14 September 2021 and prosecuted on terrorism charges.
  9. Former policeman Zahir Moulaoui was detained on 5 October 2021 and accused of “participation in a terrorist organization” and “praising terrorism”.
  10. Human rights defender Mohad Gasmi was sentenced to three years in prison on 9 June 2022 for “praising terrorism” based on critical social media posts[8]; he was also sentenced to three years of jail on 15 June 2022, found guilty of “revealing confidential information without the intention of treason or espionage” (Article 67 of the Penal Code) for his travels abroad to attend environmental conferences and for email exchanges about the exploitation of shale gas in the south of Algeria[9].
  11. On 12 September 2021, journalist Hassan Bouras was placed in pretrial detention on eight misdemeanors and criminal charges related to terrorism[10].
  12. On 10 November 2021, activist Bouabdellah Bouachria was sentenced to nine years for charges including “praising terrorism”.
  13. On 18 February 2022, HRD Zaki Hannache was arrested for “praising terrorism”, “undermining national unity”, “receiving funds undermining national unity”, “Displaying and distributing publications likely to harm the national interest”, and “dissemination of false information”, based on his human rights work documenting arbitrary prosecutions and arrests related to the Hirak or the exercise of civil and political freedoms since 2019 (the Special Rapporteur on Human Rights Defenders is leading communication on his case). He was released on 30 March but the charges against him have not been dropped by the prosecutor and case against him remains pending.

[1] See communication OL DZ 12/2021 https://spcommreports.ohchr.org/TMResultsBase/DownLoadPublicCommunicationFile?gId=26905.
[2] See: Algeria: Marked regression in human rights underscored by proliferation of baseless terrorism prosecutions https://cihrs.org/algeria-marked-regression-in-human-rights-underscored-by-proliferation-of-baseless-terrorism-prosecutions/?lang=en
[3] See “Algeria: terrorism charges brought against human rights defenders”, Front Line Defenders:  https://www.frontlinedefenders.org/fr/statement-report/joint-statement-algeria-terrorism-charges-brought-against-human-rights-defenders
[4] Member of the Collective for the Defense of Hirak Detainees.
[5] Aissam Messadia, Okba Toulmit and Oussama Medaci.
[6] See “Unlawful arrest and detention: woman human rights defender Kamira Nait Sid”, Front Line Defenders: https://www.frontlinedefenders.org/en/case/unlawful-arrest-and-detention-woman-human-rights-defender-kamira-nait-sid
[7] Recognized by the UNHCR since 2018. See “Tunisia: Authorities must come clean over abduction of Algerian activist”, Amnesty International: https://www.amnesty.org.uk/press-releases/tunisia-authorities-must-come-clean-over-abduction-algerian-activist
[8] See “Human rights defender Mohad Gasmi preventive detention”, Front Line Defenders: https://www.frontlinedefenders.org/en/case/human-rights-defender-mohad-gasmi-preventive-detention
[9] See “Algeria: Immediately release and annul the sentence of environmental human rights defender Mohad Gasmi”, Joint open letter: https://cihrs.org/algeria-immediately-release-and-annul-the-sentence-of-environmental-human-rights-defender-mohad-gasmi/?lang=en
[10] Bouras risks the death penalty, for online publications about the oxygen crisis during the Covid-19 pandemic, as well as about the murder of Hirak activist Djamel Bensmail, lynched by a crowd on 11 August 2021.

This post is also available in: العربية

Share this Post

MaghrebVoices

على السلطات الجزائرية إنهاء الأعمال الانتقامية بحق المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان المتعاونين مع آليات الأمم المتحدة

In البرنامج الدولي لحماية حقوق الإنسان, دول عربية by CIHRS

في 24 أغسطس، تم توقيف الحقوقي الجزائري قدور شويشة، نائب رئيس الرابطة الجزائرية للدفاع عن حقوق الإنسان ورئيس الرابطة في وهران، في مطار وهران مع زوجته. وبعد استجواب لمدة ساعتين حول سبب سفره، ووجهته، وصلته بآليات الأمم المتحدة لحقوق الإنسان، تم منعه من السفر، رغم أنه لم يكن قد تم إخطاره من قبل بإدراجه ضمن قوائم الممنوعين. ويتزامن هذا الإجراء مع استعداد شويشة للسفر، للتحضير مع أخرين، للقاءات مع المقررين الخواص للأمم المتحدة؛ لتسليط الضوء على التضييقات المتواصلة على حرية عمل النقابات والجمعيات. ويسافر برفقة زوجته التي تشارك في الاجتماعات التحضيرية بمجلس حقوق الإنسان اليوم 31 أغسطس تحضيرًا لجلسة الاستعراض الدوري الشامل الرسمية بمجلس حقوق الإنسان، والمقرر عقدها في نوفمبر المقبل. كما يأتي هذا الإجراء في أعقاب مشاركته في إعداد ورقة سلطت الضوء على تقليص الحيز المدني والقمع المتزايد بحق المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان ونشطاء الحراك من جانب السلطات الجزائرية، بما يشمل؛ الاعتداء الجسدي، والاعتقال التعسفي، وسوء المعاملة والتعذيب أثناء الاحتجاز، والملاحقات القضائية للمتظاهرين السلميين وأعضاء حركة حقوق الإنسان والنقابيين والصحفيين.

تخشى المنظمات الموقعة أدناه أن تكون هذه الواقعة –المتزامنة مع زيارة الرئيس الفرنسي للجزائر– دليلًا إضافيًا على استمرار تغاضي القادة الأوروبيين عن انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان المتصاعدة في الجزائر، في مقابل تأمين احتياجات أوروبا من الطاقة. وتعتبر المنظمات أن هذه الانتقائية وهذا التناقض في دعم المعايير الدولية لحقوق الإنسان، يغذي عدم الاستقرار، ويعزز من نمو الجماعات المتطرفة العنيفة. فضلًا عن أن استراتيجية البحث عن حلول وسط مع الأنظمة الاستبدادية من شأنها عرقلة عمليات التحول الديمقراطي على شواطئ جنوب البحر الأبيض المتوسط، وزيادة أعداد المهاجرين من شبابه اليائس من التغيير.

جدير بالذكر، أن السلطات الجزائرية تمتلك سجلًا حافلًا من المضايقات بحق شويشة؛ ففي 12 مارس 2021، تعرض هو وابنه للضرب المبرح من جانب قوات الشرطة في وهران، وحاول أحد ضباط الشرطة خنقه. وفي 29 أبريل 2021، خضع للمحاكمة مع الحقوقيين جميلة الوكيل، وسعيد بدور، و12 ناشطًا سلميًا آخرين، بتهم تتعلق بالإرهاب؛ إذ وجه المدعي العام إليهم اتهامات بـ «التآمر ضد أمن الدولة لتحريض المواطنين على حمل السلاح ضد سلطة الدولة أو لتقويض سلامة الأراضي الوطنية، والدعاية ذات المصدر أو الإلهام الأجنبي التي من المحتمل أن تضر بالمصلحة الوطنية، والتسجيل في منظمة إرهابية أو تخريبية ناشطة في الخارج أو في الجزائر»، بموجب المواد 77 و78 و87 مكررا و87 مكررا 3 و87 مكررا 6 و87 مكررا 12 و96 من قانون العقوبات. وتعكس قائمة الاتهامات تعمد السلطات الجزائرية الربط المجحف للنشاط السلمي والمشروع للمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان وجرائم الإرهاب، على نحو يسمح بالحكم عليهم بالسجن لفترات مطولة تصل إلى 20 عامًا.

وفي هذا السياق، تطالب المنظمات الموقعة بـالتالي:

  1. على الإجراءات الخاصة للأمم المتحدة والمفوضية السامية لحقوق الإنسان إثارة المخاوف لدى السلطات الجزائرية بشكل فوري وعلني بشأن استمرار استهداف الحقوقي قدور شويشة والانتقام منه.
  2. على الهيئات الدولية والمنظمات الحقوقية الدولية والإقليمية المستقلة العمل على ضمان تمكين المجتمع المدني الجزائري من العمل بحرية وبمعزل عن الانتقام والقمع، لا سيما الرابطة الجزائرية للدفاع عن حقوق الإنسان.
  3. على السلطات الجزائرية أن تسقط، بشكل عاجل وفوري، جميع تدابير حظر السفر والتهم الموجهة للمدافع قدور شويشة، بسبب عمله المشروع والسلمي في الدفاع عن حقوق الإنسان ومشاركته في الاحتجاجات السلمية.
  4. على السلطات الجزائرية ضمان ممارسة المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان أنشطتهم المشروعة في مجال حقوق الإنسان دون قيود أو خوف من الانتقام. ووقف معاقبة المحتجين السلميين، لا سيما من خلال توظيف الاتهامات بالإرهاب التي لا أساس لها من الصحة للزج بهم في السجون.
  5. على للسلطات الجزائرية مراجعة أحكام قانون العقوبات التي تنطوي على خطر تجريم العمل في مجال حقوق الإنسان دون مبرر، بما في ذلك المادتين 87 مكرراً و96، بما يتوافق مع العهد الدولي الخاص بالحقوق المدنية والسياسية والميثاق الأفريقي لحقوق الإنسان والشعوب اللذان صدقت عليهما الجزائر.

المنظمات الموقعة:

  • مركز القاهرة لدراسات حقوق الإنسان
  • الشبكة الأورو-متوسطية لحقوق الإنسان
  • الرابطة الجزائرية لحقوق الإنسان
  • الفيدرالية الدولية لحقوق الإنسان – في إطار مرصد حماية المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان
  • المنظمة العالمية لمناهضة التعذيب – في إطار مرصد حماية المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان
  • التصدي الدولي
  • جيستسيا
  • حراك من أجل المعتقلين

معلومات خلفية:

توظيف السلطات الجزائرية مكافحة الإرهاب كأداة للانتقام من المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان

يحدد المرسوم التنفيذي رقم 21-384 المؤرخ في 7 أكتوبر 2021 طرق وضع القائمة الوطنية للإرهابيين والادراج عليها، والتي بموجبها تخضع الكيانات أو الأفراد المدرجة لقيود صارمة، منها: حظر السفر وتجميد الأصول والحرمان من مزاولة النشاط السياسي أو النقابي أو العام. وبحسب المرسوم، لا تستند عملية الإدراج سوى لتحقيق أولي غير مستقل، تجريه الهيئات الأمنية، دون رقابة قضائية أو ضوابط تشريعية. تقرر على أساسه لجنة، يترأسها وزير الداخلية وتضم عدة وزراء ورؤساء لأجهزة أمنية، إدراج أسماء الأفراد والكيانات في القائمة أو حذفهم، على نحو مخالف للمعايير الدولية التي تشترط إجراء تحقيق مستقل قبل إنزال العقوبة.

في 27 ديسمبر 2021، حذرت الإجراءات الخاصة للأمم المتحدة من أن تشريعات مكافحة الإرهاب تقوض الحقوق الأساسية وتفرض عقوبات غير متناسبة على الأفعال التي لا ينبغي أن تعالجها تشريعات مكافحة الإرهاب.[1] وأفادت بأن إجراءات ادراج أسماء الكيانات والأفراد في القائمة الوطنية للإرهابيين لا تمتثل للمعايير الدولية لحقوق الإنسان، معربة عن قلقها من أن يؤدي هذا الإطار التشريعي إلى إساءة الاستخدام ويسمح باتخاذ قرارات تعسفية.

وعلى مدار الفترة بين أبريل وأكتوبر 2021، وثق مركز القاهرة لدراسات حقوق الإنسان مقاضاة ما لا يقل عن 59 شخصًا بتهم إرهابية لا أساس لها، لا يزال معظمهم رهن الحبس الاحتياطي التعسفي حتى الآن،[2] نذكر منهم على سبيل المثال لا الحصر؛

  1. محاكمة المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان قدور شويشة، وجميلة الوكيل، وسعيد بدور، و12 ناشطًا سلميًا آخرين، بتهم تتعلق بالإرهاب، في 29 أبريل 2021.[3]
  2. القبض على المتظاهرة حكيمة بهري في 21 مايو 2021 بتهمة «المشاركة في منظمة إرهابية».
  3. القبض على المحامي الحقوقي عبد الرؤوف أرسلان، في 26 مايو 2021، ومحاكمته بتهمة المشاركة في منظمة إرهابية بموجب المادتين 87 مكررا 2 و87 مكررا 3 من قانون العقوبات.[4]
  4. احتجاز الناشطتين فاطمة بودودة ومفيدة خرشي رهن المحاكمة منذ 21 مايو 2021 بتهم تتعلق بالإرهاب.
  5. اعتقال النقابي رمزي دردر وثلاثة نشطاء آخرين[5] في باتنا، بين 27-30 يونيو 2021، بتهم تتعلق بالإرهاب.
  6. الإخفاء القسري للمدافعة عن حقوق الأقليات كاميرا نايت، في 24 أغسطس 2021، ثم اتهامها لاحقًا بالعديد من الاتهامات المتعلقة بالإرهاب.[6]
  7. الإعادة القسرية للناشط المسيحي الأمازيغي سليمان بوحفص، اللاجئ الجزائري في تونس، في 25 أغسطس 2021 لمحاكمته بتهمة «المشاركة في منظمة إرهابية».[7]
  8. اعتقال 15 ناشطًا أمازيغيًا مع الصحفي محمد مولودج بين 2-14 سبتمبر 2021 ومحاكمتهم بتهم تتعلق بالإرهاب.
  9. احتجاز الشرطي السابق ظاهر ملاوي في 5 أكتوبر 2021 واتهامه بـ «المشاركة في منظمة إرهابية» و«الثناء على الإرهاب».
  10. الحكم على محمد قاسمي بالسجن 3 سنوات في 9 يونيو 2022 بتهمة «الثناء على الإرهاب».[8] إضافة إلى حكم أخر بالسجن 3 سنوات، في 15 يونيو 2022، بتهمة «الكشف عن معلومات سرية دون نية الخيانة أو التجسس» بسبب مشاركته في مؤتمرات دولية بيئية، وتبادل رسائل عبر البريد الإلكتروني حول استغلال الغاز الصخري في جنوب الجزائر.[9]
  11. احتجاز الصحفي حسن بوراس، في 12 سبتمبر 2021، بتهمة ارتكاب 8 جنح واتهامات جنائية تتعلق بالإرهاب.[10]
  12. الحُكم على الناشط بوعبد الله بوعشرية، في 10 نوفمبر 2021، بالسجن 9 سنوات بعدة تهم منها «الإشادة بالإرهاب».
  13. القبض على زكي حناش في 18 فبراير 2022، بتهم؛ «الإشادة بالإرهاب وتقويض الوحدة الوطنية وتلقي الأموال لتقويض الوحدة الوطنية، وعرض وتوزيع المنشورات التي من المحتمل أن تضر بالمصلحة الوطنية ونشر معلومات كاذبة»؛ بسبب عمله في مجال حقوق الإنسان وتوثيق الملاحقات والاعتقالات التعسفية لنشطاء الحراك. ورغم الإفراج عنه في 30 مارس 2022؛ إلا أن الملاحقة القضائية بحقه لا تزال مستمرة. (وحاليًا يقود المقرر الخاص المعني بالمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان التواصل بشأن قضيته).

[1]انظر: OL DZ 12/2021
https://spcommreports.ohchr.org/TMResultsBase/DownLoadPublicCommunicationFile?gId=26905
[2]ا راجع: «الانحدار الملحوظ في حقوق الإنسان الذي يؤكده انتشار الملاحقات القضائية للإرهاب والتي لا أساس لها»، مركز القاهرة:
https://cihrs.org/algeria-marked-regression-in-human-rights-underscored-by-proliferation-of-baseless-terrorism-prosecutions/?lang=en
[3] راجع: «الجزائر: اتهامات الإرهاب الموجهة ضد المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان»، فرونت لاين ديفندرز:
https://www.frontlinedefenders.org/fr/statement-report/joint-statement-algeria  Terrorism-charges-brought-against-human-rights-defenders
[4] عضو في تجمع الدفاع عن محتجزين الحراك.
[5] هم؛ إيسام مسعدية وأوكبا تولميت وأسامة ميداشي.
[6] راجع: «الاعتقال والاحتجاز غير المشروعين: المدافعة عن حقوق الإنسان كاميرا نايت سعيد»، فرونت لاين ديفندرز:
https://www.frontlinedefenders.org/en/case/un illegal-arrest-and-detention-woman-human-rights-defender-kamira-nait-sid
[7] لاجئ معترف به من جانب مفوضية الأمم المتحدة لشئون اللاجئين منذ عام 2018. راجع: «تونس: يجب أن تعترف السلطات باختطاف الناشط الجزائري»، منظمة العفو الدولية:
https://www.amnesty.org.uk/press-releases/tunisia-authorities-must-come-clean-over-abduction-algerian-activist
[8]  راجع: «الحبس الوقائي للمدافع عن حقوق الإنسان مهد قاسمي»، فرونت لاين ديفندرز:
https://www.frontlinedefenders.org/en/case/human-rights-defender-mohad-gasmi-preventive-detention
[9] راجع: «الجزائر: الإفراج الفوري وإلغاء الحكم ضد المدافع عن حقوق الإنسان البيئية مهد قاسمي»، رسالة مفتوحة مشتركة:
https://cihrs.org/algeria-immediate-release-and-annul-the-sentence-of-environmental-human-rights-defender-mohad-gasmi /؟lang=en
[10] يتعرض بوراس لخطر عقوبة الإعدام بسبب منشورات على الإنترنت حول أزمة الأكسجين خلال جائحة كوفيد-19، وكذلك حول مقتل الناشط الحراكي جمال بن إسماعيل الذي لقي حتفه في 11 أغسطس 2021.

هذه المقالة متاحة أيضًا بـ: English

Share this Post