Civil Society Organizations support submission by HRD Salah Hammouri urging ICC to Investigate Israel’s Ongoing War Crimes and Crimes Against Humanity in Jerusalem

In Arab Countries, International Advocacy Program by CIHRS

National, regional, and international civil society organizations* welcome today’s communication submitted to the Office of the Prosecutor (OTP) of the International Criminal Court (ICC) on behalf of 37-year-old, Palestinian-French Jerusalemite, long-time human rights defender, and colleague lawyer, Salah Hammouri, which details years of persecution and new tactics to forcibly transfer Palestinians from occupied Jerusalem. The Center for Constitutional Rights and the International Federation for Human Rights (FIDH) submitted the communication on Mr. Hammouri’s behalf in the context of the OTP’s ongoing investigation into the Situation in the State of Palestine.

The communication, addressed to ICC prosecutor Karim A. A. Khan, sets out the prolonged persecution campaign perpetrated by the Israeli authorities targeting Mr. Hammouri since he was 15 years old, including intense harassment, repeated arbitrary detention, and the denial of his fundamental rights, including the right to family and family unity; freedom of movement; the freedom of association, assembly, expression and the right to protest; the right to pursue a livelihood; and the right to citizenship. The latest in this series of attacks was the revocation of his Jerusalem residency and placing him under administrative detention subject to indefinite renewals.

On 3 September 2020, Mr. Hammouri was notified of the Israeli Minister of Interior’s decision to revoke his permanent Jerusalem residency because of a “breach of allegiance” to the State of Israel, the Occupying Power, as stipulated under the amendment to the Entry into Israel Law. A year later, on 18 October 2021, his residency was indeed revoked, the basis of which is based on secret “information” undermining and fundamentally violating his right to due process and a fair trial. On 7 March 2022, about 25 Israeli Occupying Forces (IOF), arrested Mr. Hammouri from his apartment in Kufr Aqab north of Jerusalem. Two days later, he was placed under a three-month administrative detention on the basis of “secret information.”

The revocation of Mr. Hammouri’s residency and the denial of his fundamental rights because he is Palestinian constitutes a direct act of forcible transfer, which is a grave breach of the Fourth Geneva Convention and amounts to a war crime, as well as crimes against humanity of persecution and apartheid under the Rome Statute of the ICC.

“Salah’s case establishes a dangerous precedent for the Israeli Occupation’s escalation of residency revocation and administrative detention. The prolonged persecution Salah faces is a war crime and a crime against humanity under the Rome statute of the ICC,” said Sahar Francis, the General Director of Addameer Prisoner Support and Human Rights Association.

The communication explains that Israel’s attacks on Mr. Hammouri are part of a larger attack on Palestinian residents of Jerusalem in particular, and Palestinians living in occupied Palestine at large, including with regard to Israel’s policy of forcible transfer and persecution. The communication urges Prosecutor Khan to follow in the footsteps of his predecessor, Fatou Bensouda, who had formally issued statements in response to the two forcible transfer cases of Sheikh Jarrah and Khan al-Ahmar, as, since then, there has been no public statements from the OTP on the status of the investigation in the Situation in Palestine – or on the continued commission of crimes in the territory of Palestine, including in East Jerusalem. It further urges Prosecutor Khan to prioritize the Palestine investigation and proceed to the issuance of arrest warrants.

“Today, I stand at the most difficult crossroads of my life, from injury to detention, exile, detention without charge and more. The occupation doesn’t stop at killing, detaining, and displacing us,” said Salah Hammouri “I am with you today, and with your efforts, I hope my dream of continued living in my homeland won’t be killed” added Salah Hammouri.

The civil society coalition working for the “Justice for Salah” international campaign –that aims to end the Israeli settler-colonial regime’s persecution of Palestinian lawyer and human rights defender Salah Hammouri and raise awareness about the systematic and brutal policies against the Palestinian people– supports the demands presented in the communication to:

  • Expedite the investigation in the Situation in Palestine and move swiftly towards bringing arrest warrants for concrete cases, amongst which must be one related to the crimes being committed against Palestinians in occupied and annexed East Jerusalem, including the violations against Mr. Hammouri.
  • Warn the OTP of the cost of delay, silence and lack of any outward signs of progress in the OTP’s investigation, and continued impunity being paid daily – in the loss of Palestinian lives, and the denial of Palestinian safety and freedom.
  • Call on the OTP to investigate the ongoing – and escalating – attacks on and forced displacement of Palestinians from East Jerusalem alongside the continued transfer of Israeli citizens into the Occupied Palestinian Territory (OPT), and focus on Israel’s coercive environment imposed to drive Palestinians out of Jerusalem, including through house demolitions, discriminatory planning and zoning policies, forced evictions, arbitrary detention, an elaborate permit system and residency revocation, of which Mr. Hammouri’s case is both a stark example and a warning of new tactics.

This communication was submitted in the context of the OTP’s investigation regarding the Situation in Palestine, initiated on 3 March 2021 after five years of preliminary examination. The investigation covers crimes within the jurisdiction of the Court that are alleged to have been committed in the Situation since 13 June 2014, the date to which reference is made in the Referral of the Situation to the OTP, extending to Gaza and the West Bank, including East Jerusalem.

Signatory organizations:

  1. Addameer Prisoner Support and Human Rights Association
  2. Al Mezan Centre for Human Rights
  3. Aldameer Association for Human Rights
  4. Al-Haq
  5. Bisan Center for Research and Development
  6. Cairo Institute for Human Rights Studies
  7. Center for Defense of Liberties and Civil Rights “Hurryyat”
  8. Community Action Center/Al-Quds University
  9. Defense for Children International – Palestine
  10. Forensic Architecture
  11. Front Line Defenders
  12. Human Rights & Democratic participation Center “SHAMS”
  13. Jerusalem Legal Aid and Human Rights Center
  14. Muwatin Institute for Democracy and Human Rights (Observer Member)
  15. Palestine Solidarity Campaign (UK)
  16. Palestinian Centre for Human Rights
  17. Ramallah Center for Human Rights Studies
  18. The Independent Commission for Human Rights (Ombudsman Office) (Observer Member)
  19. The Palestinian Institute of Public Diplomacy-PIPD
  20. The Palestinian Non-Governmental Organizations Network
  21. Women’s Centre for Legal Aid and Counseling

This post is also available in: العربية

Share this Post

منظمات حقوقية تدعم بلاغ الحقوقي الفلسطيني صلاح حموري للمحكمة الجنائية الدولية بشأن التحقيق في جرائم إسرائيل في القدس

In البرنامج الدولي لحماية حقوق الإنسان, دول عربية by CIHRS

ترحب منظمات المجتمع المدني الوطنية والإقليمية والدولية الموقعة أدناه بالبلاغ المُقدَّم اليوم 16مايو 2021 إلى مكتب المدعي العام للمحكمة الجنائية الدولية، والذي يفند الممارسات التعسفية والتكتيكات الجديدة التي ينتهجها النظام الإسرائيلي في ترحيل الفلسطينيين قسرًا عن القدس المحتلة.

قدم البلاغ، مركز الحقوق الدستورية والفيدرالية الدولية لحقوق الإنسان نيابةً عن المحامي والمدافع عن حقوق الإنسان الفلسطيني صلاح حموري، في سياق التحقيق المتواصل الذي يُجريه مكتب المدعي العام بشأن الوضع في دولة فلسطين.

ويستعرض  البلاغ حملة الانتقام المتواصلة التي تشنّها السلطات الإسرائيلية بحق حموري على مدى أكثر من 20 سنة، بما تتضمنه من تعرضه لمضايقات شديدة، واعتقاله التعسفي المتكرر، وحرمانه من حقوقه الأساسية، بما فيها حقه في حياة أسرية ولم شمله بأسرته، وحريته في التنقل وحريته في تكوين الجمعيات وفي التجمع وفي التعبير عن رأيه، وفي الاحتجاج، وحقه في كسب قوته وحقه في الحصول على جنسية. وأخيرًا سحب وضع إقامته في القدس ووضعه رهن الاعتقال الإداري لفترات ممتدة يتم تجديدها بلا نهاية.

كان حموري قد أُخطر، في 3 سبتمبر 2020، بقرار وزير الأمن الإسرائيلي بسحب وضع إقامته الدائمة في القدس بسبب «إخلاله بالولاء لدولة إسرائيل»  السلطة القائمة بالاحتلال، على الوجه الذي يشترطه التعديل الذي ورد على قانون دخول إسرائيل. وبعد ذلك بسنة، في 18 أكتوبر 2021، سُحب وضع الإقامة منه بالفعل، وهو الإجراء الذي يستند في أساسه إلى «معلومات سرية»، على نحو يقوّض حقه في محاكمة وفق الأصول القانونية وحقه في محاكمة عادلة. وفي 7 مارس 2022، اعتقل نحو 25 عنصرًا من قوات الاحتلال الإسرائيلية حموري من منزله، شمال القدس. وبعد يومين، تم احتجازه رهن الاعتقال الإداري لمدة ثلاثة أشهر استنادًا إلى «معلومات سرية».

يشكّل سحب وضع الإقامة من حموري وحرمانه من حقوق الأساسية، لمجرد كونه فلسطيني، إجراءً مباشرًا من إجراءات الترحيل القسري، الذي يُعَدّ مخالفة جسيمة لاتفاقية جنيف الرابعة، ويصل حد جريمة الحرب، والجرائم ضد الإنسانية المتمثلة في الاضطهاد والفصل العنصري؛ بموجب ميثاق روما الأساسي للمحكمة الجنائية الدولية.

وحسبما أوضحت سحر فرنسيس، المديرة العامة لمؤسسة الضمير لرعاية الأسير وحقوق الإنسان، فإن «قضية صلاح تشكل سابقة خطيرة في التصعيد الذي ينتهجه الاحتلال الإسرائيلي في سحب وضع الإقامة والاعتقال الإداري. ويشكل الاضطهاد الذي يتعرض له حموري منذ أمد طويل جريمة حرب وجريمة ضد الإنسانية بموجب ميثاق روما الأساسي للمحكمة الجنائية الدولية».

ويوضح البلاغ أن الاعتداءات التي تشنّها إسرائيل بحق صلاح حموري تأتي في سياق اعتداء أوسع، يستهدف السكان الفلسطينيين في القدس على وجه الخصوص والفلسطينيين المقيمين في فلسطين بشكل عام، ويتضمن الترحيل القسري والاضطهاد. ويحثّ البلاغ المدعي العام للمحكمة الجنائية الدولية على اتباع خطى سلفه، التي سبق وأصدرت بيانات رسمية بشأن قضيتين من قضايا الترحيل القسري لسكان حي الشيخ جراح والخان الأحمر، إذ لم تصدر منذئذٍ أي بيانات عامة عن مكتب المدعي العام بشأن حالة التحقيق في الوضع في فلسطين -أو بشأن استمرار ارتكاب الجرائم في فلسطين، بما فيها القدس الشرقية. كما يحث البلاغ المدعي العام على منح الأولوية للتحقيق بشأن فلسطين، والشروع في إصدار مذكرات الاعتقال.

قال صلاح حموري «إنني اليوم أقف على أصعب مفترق في حياتي، من الإصابة إلى الاعتقال والنفي والاحتجاز دون توجيه تهمة، وأكثر من ذلك. إن الاحتلال لا يتورع عن قتلنا واعتقالنا وتهجيرها. إنني أقف معكم اليوم ومع المساعي التي تبذلونها، ويحدوني الأمل في ألا يُوأَد حلمي في أن أواصل العيش في وطني».

في السياق نفسه، فإن ائتلاف منظمات المجتمع المدني التي تعمل لصالح الحملة الدولية «العدالة من أجل صلاح»، والتي تستهدف إنهاء المضايقات التي تمارسها سلطات الاحتلال الإسرائيلي بحقّ صلاح حمّوري، بالإضافة إلى رفع الوعي بخصوص السياسات الممنهجة والوحشية المفروضة على الشعب الفلسطيني ككل، يساند المطالب التي يتضمنها هذا البلاغ من أجل:

  • سرعة التحقيق بشأن الوضع في فلسطين والتحرك بسرعة صوب إصدار مذكرات الاعتقال في القضايا المادية، والتي ينبغي أن تندرج ضمنها القضايا المتعلقة بالجرائم المقترفة بحق الفلسطينيين في القدس الشرقية المحتلة التي ضمتها إسرائيل إلى إقليمها، ومن بينها الانتهاكات المرتكبة بحق السيد حموري.
  • تحذير مكتب المدعي العام من التكلفة التي يستتبعها التأخير والصمت وغياب أي إشارات ظاهرة تدل على التقدم الذي يحرزه المكتب على صعيد التحقيق، واستمرار الإفلات من العقاب الذي يُدفع ثمنه في كل يوم – والذي يتجسد في صورة إزهاق أرواح الفلسطينيين وحرمانهم من الأمان والحرية.
  • دعوة مكتب المدعي العام للتحقيق في الاعتداءات المتواصلة والمتصاعدة التي تستهدف الفلسطينيين في القدس الشرقية وتهجيرهم قسرًا منها، إلى جانب العمل المتواصل على نقل المواطنين الإسرائيليين إلى الأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة، والتركيز على البيئة القسرية التي تفرضها إسرائيل بغية طرد الفلسطينيين من القدس، بعدة طرق منها هدم المنازل وسياسات التنظيم والتخطيط الحضري القائمة على التمييز والإخلاء القسري والاعتقال التعسفي والمنظومة المعقدة في استصدار التصاريح وسحب وضع الإقامة، والتي تشكل حالة السيد حموري مثالًا صارخًا عليها وتنذر بانتهاج تكتيكات جديدة كذلك.

جدير بالذكر أن هذا البلاغ قُدم في سياق التحقيق الذي يُجريه مكتب المدعي العام بشأن الوضع في فلسطين، والذي باشره في 3 مارس 2021 بعد 5 سنوات من الدارسة الأولية. ويغطي هذا التحقيق الجرائم التي تقع ضمن نطاق اختصاص المحكمة، منذ 13 يونيو 2014، وهو تاريخ الإحالة إلى مكتب المدعي العام، ويتضمن هذا الاختصاص غزة والضفة الغربية، بما فيها القدس الشرقية.

المنظمات الموقعة:

  1. الحركة العالمية للدفاع عن الأطفال- فرع فلسطين.
  2. شبكة المنظمات الأهلية الفلسطينية.
  3. مركز إعلام حقوق الإنسان والديمقراطية «شمس».
  4. مركز الدفاع عن الحريات والحقوق المدنية «حرّيّات».
  5. مركز العمل المجتمعي- جامعة القدس.
  6. المركز الفلسطيني لحقوق الإنسان.
  7. مركز القاهرة لدراسات حقوق الإنسان.
  8. مركز القدس للمساعدة القانونية وحقوق الإنسان.
  9. مركز المرأة للإرشاد القانوني والاجتماعي.
  10. مركز الميزان لحقوق الإنسان.
  11. مركز بيسان للبحوث والإنماء.
  12. مركز رام الله لدراسات حقوق الإنسان.
  13. معهد فلسطين للدبلوماسية العامة.
  14. معهد مواطن للديمقراطية وحقوق الإنسان. (بصفة عضو مراقب)
  15. منظمة حملة التضامن مع فلسطين- المملكة المتحدة.
  16. مؤسسة الحق – القانون من أجل الإنسان.
  17. مؤسسة الضمير لحقوق الإنسان.
  18. مؤسسة الضمير لرعاية الأسير وحقوق الإنسان.
  19. مؤسسة فرونت لاين ديفندرز.
  20. مؤسسة فورنزك آركتكتشر.
  21. الهيئة المستقلة لحقوق الإنسان «ديوان المظالم». (بصفة عضو مراقب)

هذه المقالة متاحة أيضًا بـ: English

Share this Post