Egypt: One Year After the Launch of the National Human Rights Strategy, the Human Rights Crisis Persists

In Egypt /Road Map Program, Statements and Position Papers by CIHRS

Sunday 11 September 2022 marks the one year since the launch of Egypt’s National Human Rights Strategy. Yet over this time, the Egyptian state’s systematically authoritarian practices have not subsided. Peaceful dissidents continue to be targeted, forcibly disappeared, and imprisoned; journalists and human rights defenders remain behind bars; torture, denial of medical treatment, and death in detention are still rampant. Egyptian authorities still maintain tight control over public and political space and exercise a complete monopoly over public discourse.

The continued absence of any improvements to the dire human rights conditions in Egypt confirms the previous assessments of the Cairo Institute for Human Rights Studies (CIHRS) that the Egyptian government has no political will to address the human rights crisis. Upon the release of the National Strategy, CIHRS released an analysis in November 2021 that concluded that the strategy is simply a ruse to deflect international criticism of Egypt’s abysmal human rights record. The lack of any meaningful progress to address Egypt’s human rights crisis since the strategy’s launch serves as another testament to that conclusion.

The fundamental flaw of the  Human Rights Strategy is its identification of the Egyptian people, and not the authorities, as the source of the human rights crisis in Egypt. The strategy also makes disingenuous claims about the reality of civil and political rights in Egypt, and accordingly provides superficial solutions that are irrelevant to the nature of the crisis. The strategy pledges neither reform nor backtracking on current repressive policies, and instead proposes inconsequential technical recommendations.

CIHRS reiterates that any genuine attempt to address the human rights crisis in Egypt requires full acknowledgement of the depths of the crisis and its roots, the immediate and unconditional release of prisoners of conscience, the lifting of restrictions on public space, and the allowing of journalists, civil society, and political parties to fulfill their functions and duties.

This post is also available in: العربية

Share this Post

بعد عام على إطلاق الاستراتيجية الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان: لا تزال أزمة حقوق الإنسان في مصر مستمرة

In برنامج مصر ..خارطة الطريق, مواقف وبيانات by CIHRS

تحل اليوم، الأحد 11 سبتمبر 2022، ذكرى مرور عام على إطلاق الاستراتيجية الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان في مصر. ومنذ ذاك الحين، لم تنحسر الممارسات القمعية المنهجية للسلطات المصرية. فلا يزال المعارضون السلميون يتعرضون للاستهداف، والإخفاء القسري، والسجن. كما يتواصل احتجاز الصحفيين والمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان خلف القضبان، فضلاً عن استمرار تفشي ممارسات التعذيب والحرمان من الرعاية الصحية الواجبة وحالات الوفاة أثناء الاحتجاز. وفي الوقت نفسه، تواصل السلطات المصرية الهيمنة على الخطاب العام، في ظل سيطرة محكمة على المجالين العام والسياسي.

هذا الغياب المستمر لأي تطورات في أوضاع حقوق الإنسان المتدهورة في مصر؛ يؤكد التقييم السابق لمركز القاهرة لدراسات حقوق الإنسان حول هذه الاستراتيجية، وافتقار السلطات المصرية للإرادة السياسية الضرورية لمعالجة أزمة حقوق الإنسان. ويؤكد الوصف الذي أطلقه المركز على هذه الاستراتيجية في تحليله المنشور في نوفمبر 2021، بأنها مجرد حيلة تهدف إلى تجنب انتقادات المجتمع الدولي لسجل حقوق الإنسان في مصر. ولعل الفشل في إحراز أي تقدم حقيقي بشأن معالجة أزمة حقوق الإنسان في مصر، منذ إطلاق الاستراتيجية، بمثابة دليل أخر على صحة هذا الاستنتاج.

تكمن المعضلة الأساسية للاستراتيجية في اعتبار الشعب المصري هو السبب الرئيسي لأزمة حقوق الإنسان في مصر وليس السلطات، فضلاً عن ادعاءات الاستراتيجية المضللة بشأن واقع الحقوق المدنية والسياسية. ومن ثم لم تقترح الاستراتيجية إلا حلول واهية لا صلة لها بطبيعة المشكلة، ولم تقدم وعدًا بالإصلاح أو بالتراجع عن السياسات الجارية. وإنما اكتفت ببضعة مقترحات ذات طابع تقني لا قيمة لها.

وفي هذا الإطار، يذّكر مركز القاهرة بأن أية محاولة جادة لمعالجة أزمة حقوق الإنسان تتطلب اعترافًا كاملًا بمسببات الأزمة وجذورها، والإفراج الفوري وغير المشروط عن جميع سجناء الرأي والسجناء السياسيين، ورفع القيود المفروضة عن المجال العام، والسماح للصحفيين والمجتمع المدني والأحزاب السياسية بممارسة مهامهم وواجباتهم بحرية.

هذه المقالة متاحة أيضًا بـ: English

Share this Post