Egypt: Sexual assault of detainee Omar Ali in Badr Prison denounced by human rights organizations

In Egypt /Road Map Program, Statements and Position Papers by CIHRS

The undersigned human rights organizations condemn the sexual assault of Omar Mohamed Ali inside his place of detention on 2 October 2022, by members of the police and in the presence of the prison investigations inspector. The organizations call on the Public Prosecution to open a serious and transparent investigation into the incident, to seize the camera recordings inside the prison, and to bring those responsible to trial.

The Association for Freedom of Thought and Expression submitted a report to the General Attorney about the incident, no. 237018, which is under examination at New Cairo Administrative Prosecution Authority. Omar Ali was transported from Tora Farms Prison and transferred to Badr Prison; the incident took place immediately after Ali’s arrival to Badr Prison. The police officers started searching Ali, and before he was asked to undress, three security personnel stripped him of his clothes by force while he was handcuffed, and repeatedly harassed him in the presence of a detective inspector and in a place where there are many surveillance cameras.

The sexual assault of Omar Ali is a serious indicator of the severity of the violations to which detainees are subjected inside prisons throughout Egypt. The escalation of violations inside Badr Prison, the subject of complaints and allegations from many political prisoners, indicates that there have been no changes in the policy of the security services inside prisons. This continued political inaction undermines the credibility of proposals by the Egyptian government to bring about genuine changes in the country’s human rights situation. The government did not offer Omar Ali a pardon, in line with the President’s decision to activate the pardon committee and release some prisoners of conscience. Instead, Ali remains unjustly detained in Badr Prison, where the violations against him have escalated to sexual assault.

The incidents targeting Omar Ali date back to 2015, after he was arrested with two of his friends in front of a restaurant in Maadi on 2 June 2015. He was then disappeared for nearly two weeks, during which he was tortured inside the headquarters of the National Security Agency. Ali was brought before the Military Prosecution on 16 June 2015, accused pending investigations in Case no. 174 of 2015, for revealing a military defense secret. Ali was alleged to have provided one of the defendants with information that the court deemed incorrect about a security officers in the military factory where he works. Despite the apparent triviality of this ‘defense secret’, the military court sentenced him to 25 years in prison.

Omar Ali continues to suffer from poor detention conditions and repeated violations of the right to due process. He has been tortured to coerce false confessions and was refused access to forensic medicine to prove his allegations of torture. He is being tried before a military court, not his natural civilian judge.

The undersigned organizations condemn the sexual assault of detainee Omar Ali in front of a prison security official. We demand the opening of a serious and transparent investigation into the incident and the processing of all prison cameras. We call on the Amnesty Committee to include Omar Ali on the amnesty lists.

Signatories:

  1. Aassociation for Freedom of Thought and Expression
  2. Cairo Institute for Human Rights Studies
  3. Nadim Center
  4. Egyptian Front for Human Rights
  5. Committee for Justice
  6. Egyptian Commission for Rights and Freedoms

This post is also available in: العربية

Share this Post

منظمات حقوقية تدين التحرش الجنسي بالسجين عمر علي بعد نقله إلى سجن بدر

In برنامج مصر ..خارطة الطريق, مواقف وبيانات by CIHRS

تعرب المنظمات الموقعة أدناه عن إدانتها لتعرض السجين «عمر محمد علي» للتحرش الجنسي داخل مكان احتجازه، من جانب أفراد شرطة وفي وجود مفتش مباحث السجن. وتطالب المنظمات النيابة العامة بفتح تحقيق جاد وشفاف حول الواقعة، والتحفظ على تسجيلات الكاميرات داخل السجن، وتقديم المسئولين للمحاكمة. فيما تقدمت مؤسسة حرية الفكر والتعبير ببلاغ للنائب العام حول الواقعة، برقم 237018 قيد الفحص بالقاهرة الجديدة الكلية.

وتعود الواقعة ليوم 2 أكتوبر 2022، أثناء تفتيش أفراد الشرطة لـ«عمر» في أعقاب وصوله لسجن بدر مرحلًا من سجن مزرعة طرة. إذ نزع ثلاثة أفراد من الأمن ملابسه بقوة، بينما هو مكبل اليدين، وتحرشوا به بشكل متكرر، في حضور أحد مفتشي المباحث، وفي مكان يتواجد فيه عدد من كاميرات المراقبة.

تمثل هذه الواقعة مؤشرًا خطيرًا على حجم الانتهاكات التي يواجهها المحبوسون داخل السجون بشكل عام، وسجن بدر الجديد بشكل خاص. وتشير الانتهاكات المتزايدة داخل سجن بدر، بحسب شكاوى العديد من المحبوسين السياسيين، لعدم وجود أية تغيرات في سياسة الأجهزة الأمنية داخل السجون، إلى جانب التناقض الواضح مع ما تطرحه السلطات المصرية من إجراءات تقول أنها تستهدف إحداث تغييرات حقيقة بملفات حقوق الإنسان. فبدلًا من ضم «عمر» لقوائم العفو، تماشيًا مع قرار رئيس الجمهورية بتفعيل لجنة العفو والإفراج عن بعض سجناء الرأي، تتصاعد الانتهاكات بحقه، وصولًا للتحرش الجنسي به.

وترجع وقائع احتجاز «عمر علي» لعام 2015، بعدما ألقي القبض عليه برفقة اثنين من أصدقائه، من أمام أحد المطاعم بمنطقة المعادي في 2 يونيو، وتعرض لاختفاء قسري لقرابة الأسبوعين، تعرض خلاله للتعذيب داخل مقرات تابعة لجهاز الأمن الوطني. وفي 16 يونيو، عُرض عمر علي على النيابة العسكرية، في القضية رقم 174 لسنة 2015 جنايات عسكرية غرب القاهرة. ووجهت النيابة إليه اتهامات بــــ «إفشاء سر من أسرار الدفاع» عبارة عن إمداد أحد المتهمين بمعلومات بشأن أحد ضباط أمن المصنع الحربي الذي يعمل فيه. ورغم تأكيد المحكمة بأن المعلومات كانت خاطئة؛ إلا أن المحكمة العسكرية قضت بسجنه 25 عامًا.

وعلى مدار فترة حبسه، يعاني «عمر» من ظروف احتجاز سيئة. إلى جانب تعذيبه؛ لإجباره على الاعتراف بأفعال لم يرتكبها، ورفض عرضه على الطب الشرعي لإثبات هذا التعذيب، فضلًا عن محاكمته أمام قضاء عسكري وليس قاضيه الطبيعي.

إن المنظمات الموقعة أدناه بينما تدين تعرض السجين «عمر علي» للتحرش على مرأى من مسئول أمني عن السجن؛ فإنها تطالب بفتح تحقيق جاد وشفاف بشأن الواقعة، وتفريغ كامل كاميرات السجن. كما تطالب المنظمات لجنة العفو بإدراج «عمر علي» ضمن قوائم العفو.

المنظمات الموقعة:

  1. مؤسسة حرية الفكر والتعبير
  2. مركز القاهرة لدراسات حقوق الإنسان
  3. مركز النديم
  4. الجبهة المصرية لحقوق الإنسان
  5. كوميتي فور جستس
  6. المفوضية المصرية للحقوق والحريات

هذه المقالة متاحة أيضًا بـ: English

Share this Post