Egypt: Ten Nubian Egyptians arrested in Saudi Arabia one year ago must be released

In Egypt /Road Map Program, Statements and Position Papers by CIHRS

The undersigned rights organizations condemn the ongoing detention of ten Egyptian citizens belonging to Nubian civic associations in Saudi Arabia. They have been held in Saudi Arabia since July 2020 without investigation, trial, or access to lawyers for exercising their legitimate right to free association and assembly. We further condemn the position of the Embassy of Egypt in Saudi Arabia, which issued an oblique statement essentially absolving itself of any responsibility for the arrested citizens. The embassy has failed to take any direct, clear action securing their release, nor has it even offered legal assistance. We call on the Egyptian government to intervene immediately and press for the unconditional release of the ten detained Egyptian citizens a year after their arrest.

The arrest last July was the second time the ten Egyptian expatriate citizens were arbitrarily detained; Saudi authorities first arrested them on 25 October 2019, the morning of an event organized by a group of Nubian organizations in Saudi Arabia to commemorate Nubian heroes in the 1973 October War. At that time, the detainees were interrogated about why a photo of current Egyptian president Abdel Fattah al-Sisi was not displayed at the event. The president did not take part in the 1973 war and the photos displayed at the event were limited to soldiers from Nubian regions who had been involved in the war.

Invitation to an event organized by a group of Nubian organizations in Saudi Arabia to commemorate Nubian heroes in the 1973 October War.

After the first arrest, the Egyptian embassy issued a statement absolving itself of responsibility for the arbitrarily imprisoned citizens and their organizations, stating that ‘regulations and statutes in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia bar the establishment of associations or entities by resident expatriate communities or any activities by them.’ Claiming that the case was security-related rather than criminal, the embassy refused to take any action. The objective of those Nubian associations—active in Saudi Arabia for many years—is to promote communal ties and social solidarity among Nubians abroad; they are not involved in any political or partisan activity, much like the many other similar associations operating in the Kingdom for years.

Although the detainees were initially released ten months later, on 25 December 2019, the General Directorate for Investigations, which is part of the Saudi state security apparatus, arrested them again on 14 July 2020. Since that time, they have neither been questioned nor allowed to meet with their lawyers; they have also been denied family visits and are permitted only one phone call per week. Four months after their arrest, they were moved from the Ha’ir Prison in Riyadh to the Asir Prison in Abha. Their families have contacted Egyptian government officials, among them the minister of immigration and the deputy minister of foreign affairs, both of whom affirmed that they were following the case, although no concrete intervention has been forthcoming. The families further filed complaints with the Cabinet, also to no avail.

The undersigned rights organizations reaffirm the right of these ten Egyptian citizens to a fair trial and condemn their continued imprisonment without due process. We call on the Egyptian government to take immediate action securing their release while holding the authorities of Saudi Arabia responsible for their safety and lives.

Signatory organizations

  • Cairo Institute for Human Rights Studies
  • Nadeem Center
  • Freedom Initiative
  • Egyptian Front for Human Rights
  • Egyptian Initiative for Personal Rights
  • Association for Freedom of Thought and Expression

This post is also available in: العربية

Share this Post

بعد مرور عام على اعتقال 10 مصريين نوبيين بالسعودية: منظمات حقوقية تطالب الحكومة المصرية بالتدخل الفوري للإفراج عنهم

In برنامج مصر ..خارطة الطريق, مواقف وبيانات by CIHRS

تستنكر المنظمات الحقوقية الموقعة أدناه استمرار احتجاز السلطات السعودية لـ 10 مواطنين مصريين نوبيين من أعضاء الجمعيات النوبية بالسعودية منذ يوليو 2020، دون تحقيق أو محاكمة أو حضور محامي عقابًا على ممارسة حقهم المشروع في حرية التنظيم وتكوين الجمعيات. كما تدين المنظمات موقف القنصلية المصرية بالسعودية والتي أصدرت بيان تنصلت فيه بشكل غير مباشر من مسئوليتها عن المقبوض عليهم، وتقاعسها عن التدخل بشكل مباشر وواضح للإفراج عنهم أو حتى تقديم الدعم القانوني لهم. وتطالب المنظمات السلطات المصرية بالتدخل الفوري من أجل إطلاق سراحهم دون قيد بعد مرور عام على اعتقالهم.

وتؤكد المنظمات أن القبض على المواطنين المصريين في يوليو الماضي، يحمل طابعًا تعسفيًا ليس فقط لما شهده من خروقات واضحة من احتجاز دون تحقيق ودون تواصل مع محامين، ولكن لأنه يأتي للمرة الثانية للمجموعة نفسها. إذ سبق وألقت السلطات السعودية القبض عليهم في 25 أكتوبر 2019، صبيحة احتفالية نظمتها مجموعة من الجمعيات النوبية في السعودية تخليدًا لأبطال النوبة في حرب أكتوبر 73. وقد أنصب التحقيق مع المحتجزين المصرين وقتها على عدم وضع صورة الرئيس الحالي عبد الفتاح السيسي في الصور المرفوعة خلال الاحتفال، وذلك رغم أن الرئيس الحالي لم يشارك في حرب 73، وقد اقتصرت الصور على أبطال الحرب من مناطق النوبة كنوع من الاحتفاء بهم.

دعوة إلى احتفالية نظمتها مجموعة من الجمعيات النوبية في السعودية تخليدًا لأبطال النوبة في حرب أكتوبر 73.

وكانت القنصلية المصرية بالسعودية قد أصدرت وقتها بيانًا  تنصلت فيه من مسئوليتها عن المقبوض عليهم وعن الجمعية، بحجة أن “القواعد والأنظمة بالمملكة العربية السعودية تحظر انشاء جمعيات أو كيانات لجاليات الدول المقيمة بأراضيها أو إقامة أي أنشطة لها” ورفضت القنصلية التدخل بأي شكل في القضية لكونها قضية “أمنية” وليست “جنائية”. وذلك رغم أن هدف هذه الجمعيات النوبية (العاملة في السعودية منذ سنوات طويلة) هو التكافل والترابط بين النوبيين في الخارج، ولا تهدف لأي نشاط سياسي أو حزبي، شأنها شأن العديد من الجمعيات والكيانات المشابهة والعاملة في السعودية منذ سنين.

ورغم الافراج عن المحتجزين الـ 10 بعد شهرين (تحديدًا في 25 ديسمبر 2019) قررت السلطات السعودية القبض عليهم مرة أخرى في 14 يوليو 2020. إذ ألقت المديرية العامة للمباحث في السعودية والتي تتبع رئاسة أمن الدولة؛ القبض عليهم وتم احتجازهم دون تحقيق ومنعهم من الوصول لمحامِ أو حتى السماح لذويهم بالزيارات والاكتفاء بمكالمة أسبوعية عبر الهاتف. وبعد 4 شهور من القبض عليهم، تم نقلهم من سجن الحائر بمدينة الرياض إلى سجن عسير بمدينة أبهى السعودية. وقد اتخذ ذويهم عدة اجراءات منها التواصل مع مسئولين حكوميين مصريين بما في ذلك وزيرة الهجرة ومساعد وزير الخارجية الذين أكدوا معرفتهم بالأمر ومتابعتهم، لكن دون تدخل ملموس. كما تقدم الأهالي بشكاوى لمجلس الوزراء دون جدوى.

المنظمات الحقوقية الموقعة أدناه تستنكر عدم حصول هؤلاء المواطنين المصريين على الحق في محاكمة عادلة، وتدين استمرار حبسهم تعسفيًا دون تحقيق، وتطالب السلطات المصرية بالتدخل الفوري من أجل إطلاق سراحهم، وتحمل مسئولية سلامتهم وحياتهم للسلطات السعودية.

المنظمات الموقعة:

  • مركز القاهرة لدراسات حقوق الإنسان
  • مركز النديم
  • مبادرة الحرية
  • الجبهة المصرية لحقوق الإنسان
  • المبادرة المصرية للحقوق الشخصية
  • مؤسسة حرية الفكر والتعبير

This post is also available in: English

Share this Post