Joint NGO Letter to the Chairperson of the African Commission, H.E. Moussa Faki Mahamat on the situation in Ethiopia

In Arab Countries, International Advocacy Program by CIHRS

Today 17 March 2021 the Cairo Institute for Human Rights Studies (CIHRS) joined 56 African and international organizations calling for the African Union Commission to urgently address the deteriorating humanitarian and human rights situation in Ethiopia’s Tigray region, as well as in other parts of the country. The dire situation in Ethiopia has been marked by widespread violations of international humanitarian and human rights law, including crimes that may amount to war crimes and crimes against humanity. This includes indiscriminate attacks on civilians and civilian infrastructure, extrajudicial executions, widespread pillaging and destruction of crops, rape and sexual violence, and attacks in and on refugee camps.

H.E Moussa Faki, Chairperson of the African Union Commission
African Union Headquarters
P.O. Box 3243,
Roosevelt Street W21K19
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

CC:
H.E. Felix Tshisekedi, Chairman of the African Union
H.E. Smail Chergui, (Outgoing African Union Peace and Security Commissioner)
H.E Adeoye Bankole, African Union Commissioner for Political Affairs, Peace and Security Hon. Solomon Dersso, Chairperson of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights

Your Excellency,

We – the co-signatories of this letter, including prominent African leaders, activists, youth movements, the African diaspora and civil society organizations – write to you in your capacity as the Chairperson of the African Union Commission, to encourage you to urgently address the deteriorating humanitarian and human rights situation in Ethiopia’s Tigray region, as well as in other parts of the country. We cannot afford to remain silent when so many of our brothers and sisters are in dire need of Africa’s action and solidarity.

Since November 4, 2020, the armed conflict between the federal government of Ethiopia and allied forces, including Eritrean troops, against forces affiliated with the Tigray region’s former ruling party, the Tigray People’s Liberation Front (TPLF), has been marked by widespread violations of international humanitarian and human rights law, including crimes that may amount to war crimes and crimes against humanity. This includes indiscriminate attacks on civilians and civilian

infrastructure, extrajudicial executions, widespread pillaging and destruction of crops, rape and sexual violence, and attacks in and on refugee camps. The conflict and abuses have led to massive displacement both internally and into Sudan and other neighboring countries. The government has heavily restricted access to the region for the media and aid agencies. Over two million are estimated to be currently in need of humanitarian assistance.

Despite initial diplomatic efforts by AU former Chair President Ramaphosa of South Africa, the Commission, and its organs to prevent, manage, and resolve conflicts on the continent, have remained silent as violence and human rights abuses in the Tigray region continue unabated.

Given the presence of multiple armed forces and groups and the poor track record of the warring parties in investigating grave abuses, the United Nations Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR) should conduct an urgent, independent inquiry focused on establishing the facts, collecting forensic and other criminal evidence, and investigating war crimes and possible crimes against humanity.

Considering your recent meeting with Ethiopia’s Deputy Prime Minister and Foreign Minister to discuss the modalities of an investigation led by the African Commission on Human and Peoples Rights (ACHPR) of alleged human rights violations in the Tigray region of Ethiopia, we would like to reinforce the important recommendations made by the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights in its December 2020 statement, which notably urged Ethiopia’s Federal Government to:

  • Ensure that humanitarian aid is swiftly provided to the displaced persons and civilians in the conflict areas.
  • Conduct prompt, impartial, and effective investigations into the loss of life of civilians and other human rights violations committed during the armed conflict, hold the perpetrators accountable and provide appropriate and adequate reparations to the victims and their families.

Despite the calls made by the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights, Ethiopia’s National Human Rights Commission and other human rights organisations, restrictions on humanitarian access, abuses, and the suffering of civilians continue.

As concerned African leaders and members of civil society organisations, we are deeply worried about the absence, since the start of the crisis, of an official meeting by the African Union Peace and Security Council on Ethiopia. We are writing to request the following action:

  • For the African Union to hold, in accordance with article 9 and 10 of the Protocol Relating to the Establishment of the Peace and Security Council of the African Union, an Emergency Peace and Security Council (PSC) meeting to discuss Ethiopia’s crisis and take the necessary steps to ensure the protection of civilians, unfettered humanitarian access and an international investigation to document the conduct of all parties, ensure that evidence of abuses is preserved, and help determine the full impact of the conflict on civilians.

We also call upon you and the Commission to urge the Ethiopian government to:

  • Ensure forces operating alongside the federal government abide by international humanitarian law applicable in the conflict in the Tigray region and respect basic human rights
  • Ensure unhindered access to aid agencies to all of Tigray, and facilitate access in areas under TPLF and presumed Eritrean control
  • Ensure the resumption of the population’s access to essential services, such as banking, electricity, and water
  • Restore communication access to all of Tigray so that families can communicate, but to also ensure that reporting on serious abuses can come to light.
  • Fully commit to an independent, international, UN-led investigations into war crimes and possible crimes against humanity in the Tigray region.
  • Independent, inquiry into the region to document the conduct of all parties, to ensure that evidence of abuses is preserved, and help determine the full impact of this conflict on civilians.

The African Union has recently extended the ‘Silencing the Guns’ initiative for an additional ten years. As the search for a long-lasting solution to the crisis in Ethiopia continues, the AU Commission should make accountability for serious human rights abuses a priority of its strategy and intervention. This would be an important signal of the Commission’s commitment to lasting peace, security and stability through justice and accountability for violations of international human rights norms.

Yours sincerely,

The undersigned:

African Csos and nonprofit organisations

  1. Action Chrétienne pour l’Abolition de la Torture (Burundi)
  2. African Council for Religious Leaders
  3. AfricanDefenders (Pan African Human Rights Defenders Network) (Uganda)
  4. African Youth Networks Movement (AYNM)
  5. Agir pour des Election Transparentes et Apaisées (AETA).
  6. Amis de Nelson Mandela pour les Droits de l’homme (ANMDH).
  7. Africa Center for Democracy and Human Rights Studies
  8. African Youth Networks Movement (AYNM)
  9. Article 19 Eastern Africa
  10. Association Africaine de Défense des Droits de l’Homme (ASADHO)
  11. Association for Human Rights in Ethiopia (AHRE)
  12. Cairo Institute for Human Rights Studies
  13. Centre for Memory and Development
  14. Centre for Multiparty Democracy (CMD)
  15. Centre for Strategic Litigation (CSL-Tanzania)
  16. Centre for Constitutional Governance-Uganda
  17. Chapter Four Uganda
  18. Coalition Ivoirienne des Défenseurs des Droits de l’Homme
  19. Community Advocacy and Awareness Trust (CRAWN Trust)
  20. Community Voices for Peace and Pluralism (CVPP)
  21. Constitution Education Reform Consortium (CRECO)
  22. DefendDefenders (East and Horn of Africa Human Rights Defenders Project)
  23. Econews Africa
  24. Egyptian Initiative for Personal Rights
  25. Gays and Lesbian Coalition of Kenya (GALCK)
  26. Great Lakes Institute for Strategic Studies (GLISS)-Uganda
  27. Haki Africa
  28. Human Rights Defenders Center (Ethiopia)
  29. International Centre for Transitional Justice (ICTJ)
  30. International Commission of Jurists (Kenya)
  31. Kenya Defenders Coalition- The National Coalition of Human Rights Defenders
  32. Kenya Land Alliance (KLA)
  33. Kenyan Human Rights Commission
  34. Kenya Transitional Justice Network (KTJN)
  35. Kisumu CSO Network
  36. Kituo cha Katiba (KCK-Uganda)
  37. Kituo cha Sheria
  38. International Center for Policy and Conflict
  39. La Voix des sans Voix (VSV)
  40. Legal Human Rights Centre-Tanzania
  41. Legal Resource Centre-South Africa
  42. Ligue Tunisienne des Droits de l’Homme
  43. Mouvement des Femmes et des Filles pour la Paix et la Sécurité au Burundi
  44. Muslims for Human Rights (MUHURI)
  45. National Victims and Survivor Network
  46. North Africa-The network of the independent Commission for Human rights
  47. Nigeria, Open Bar Initiative (OBI)
  48. People for Peace
  49. Uganda Human Rights Defenders Solidarity Network
  50. Réseau pour la Réforme du Secteur de Sécurité et de Justice (RRSSJ)
  51. Réseau des Défenseurs des Droits Humains en Afrique centrale
  52. Réseau Ouest Africain des Défenseurs des Droits de l’Homme
  53. Sierra Leone- Human Rights Defenders Network
  54. South Sudan Human Rights Defenders Network (SSHRDN)
  55. Youth Forum for Social Justice
  56. Zimbabwe Lawyers for Human Rights (ZLHR)

Individuals, leaders

  1. Betty Kaari Murungi
  2. Emmanuel KABENGELE, Natioal Coordinator (RRSSJ)
  3. Chidi Anselm Odinkalu
  4. Dr Willy Mutunga
  5. Gerard Bisambu, Executive Secretary (AETA)
  6. Jean Claude Katende, President (ASADHO)
  7. Maina Kiai
  8. Muluka Miti-Drummond, UK/Zambia
  9. Robert ILUNGA, Executive director (ANMDH)
  10. Rostin Manketa, Executive Director (VSV)
  11. Haben Girma

This post is also available in: العربية

رسالة مشتركة من المنظمات غير الحكومية إلى رئيس مفوضية الاتحاد الأفريقي حول الوضع في إثيوبيا

In البرنامج الدولى لحماية حقوق الانسان, دول عربية by CIHRS

انضم مركز القاهرة اليوم 17 مارس إلى 56 منظمة أفريقية ودولية تدعو مفوضية الاتحاد الأفريقي إلى معالجة الوضع الإنساني المتدهور في منطقة تيغراي الإثيوبية، وأجزاء أخرى من البلاد.

اتسم الوضع المزري في إثيوبيا بانتهاكات واسعة النطاق للقانون الإنساني الدولي وقانون حقوق الإنسان، وجرائم قد تصل حد جرائم الحرب والجرائم ضد الإنسانية. بما في ذلك الهجمات العشوائية على المدنيين والبنية التحتية المدنية، وعمليات القتل خارج نطاق القانون، ونهب المحاصيل وتدميرها، والاغتصاب والعنف الجنسي، والهجمات في مخيمات اللاجئين وعليها.

رئيس مفوضية الاتحاد الأفريقي: موسى فقي
مقر الاتحاد الأفريقي
صندوق بريد 3243
شارع روزفلت W21K19
أديس أبابا، إثيوبيا

نسخة إضافية إلى كل من؛
رئيس الاتحاد الأفريقي: فيليكس تشيسكيدي
مفوض السلم والأمن (المنتهية ولايته) بالاتحاد الأفريقي: إسماعيل شرقي
مفوض الشئون السياسية والسلم والأمن بالاتحاد الإفريقي: أديوي بانكولي
رئيس اللجنة الأفريقية لحقوق الإنسان والشعوب: سولومون ديرسو

صاحب السعادة،

نكتب إليكم نحن –الموقّعون على هذه الرسالة– بصفتكم رئيسًا لمفوضية الاتحاد الأفريقي، لتشجيعكم على التصدي الفوري لتدهور الوضع الإنساني وحالة حقوق الإنسان في منطقة تيغراي الإثيوبية، ومناطق أخرى من البلاد. لم يعد ممكنًا التزام الصمت بينما إخواننا وأخواتنا في حاجة ماسّة إلى العمل والتضامن الإفريقي.

منذ 4 نوفمبر 2020، تسبب النزاع المسلّح بين الحكومة الاثيوبية الاتحادية والقوات الموالية لها –بما في ذلك الإريترية– من جهة، والقوّات التابعة للحزب الحاكم السابق بمنطقة تيغراي –جبهة تحرير شعب تيغراي– من جهة أخرى، في انتهاكات واسعة للقانون الدولي الإنساني والقانون الدولي لحقوق الإنسان، بما في ذلك جرائم الحرب والجرائم ضد الإنسانية. وتتضمن هذه الانتهاكات؛ الهجمات العشوائية على المدنيين والبنية التحتية المدنية، والقتل خارج نطاق القانون، نهب وتدمير المحاصيل على نطاق واسع، الاغتصاب والعنف الجنسي، والهجمات في وعلى مخيمات اللاجئين.

في المقابل أسفر الصراع والانتهاكات الدائرة عن موجات نزوح داخلية هائلة،  إلى السودان وإلى دول الجوار الأخرى. كما فرضت الحكومة قيودًا شديدة على وصول وسائل الإعلام ووكالات الإغاثة لمناطق النزاع. وتشير تقديرات إلى حاجة أكثر من مليوني شخص للمساعدة الإنسانية في هذه المناطق، في الوقت الراهن.

نظرًا لوجود العديد من القوات والجماعات المسلحة وتقاعس جميع الأطراف   عن التحقيق في الانتهاكات الجسيمة، يجب على مكتب المفوض السامي لحقوق الإنسان بالأمم المتحدة إجراء تحقيق عاجل ومستقل يركز على توثيق  الحقائق وجمع الأدلة الجنائية وغيرها من الأدلة ، والتحقيق في جرائم الحرب والجرائم المحتملة ضد الإنسانية.

بالنظر إلى اجتماعك الأخير مع نائب رئيس الوزراء الإثيوبي ووزير الخارجية لمناقشة التحقيق الذي تقوده اللجنة الأريقية لحقوق الإنسان والشعوب حول  انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان المزعومة في منطقة تيغراي بإثيوبيا، نود تعزيز توصيات مهمة قدمتها اللجنة الأفريقية لحقوق الإنسان والشعوب في بيانها الصادر في ديسمبر 2020، والذي حث بشكل خاص حكومة أثيوبيا الاتحادية على:

  • ضمان سرعة تقديم المساعدات الإنسانية إلى النازحين والمدنيين في مناطق النزاع.
  • فتح تحقيقات فورية ومحايدة وفعّالة حول الخسائر في أرواح المدنيين وغيرها من انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان المرتكبة أثناء النزاع المسلّح، ومحاسبة الجناة وتقديم تعويضات مناسبة وكافية للضحايا وعائلاتهم.

ورغم الدعوات التي وجهتها اللجنة الأفريقية لحقوق الإنسان والشعوب وغيرها من منظمات حقوق الإنسان، إلّا أن القيود المفروضة من الحكومة الإثيوبية على وصول المساعدات الإنسانية والانتهاكات ومعاناة المدنيين ما زالت مستمرّة.

وبصفتنا قادة أفارقة مهتمّين، وأعضاء في منظمات المجتمع المدني، والشتات الأفريقي، فإننا نشعر بقلق عميق إزاء عدم عقد  اجتماع رسمي لمجلس السلام والأمن بلاتحاد الأفريقي حول إثيوبيا، منذ بداية الأزمة . ونكتب لكم لطلب الإجراء التالي:

  • يعقد الاتحاد الإفريقي –وفقًا للمادتين 9 و 10 من البروتوكول المتعلق بتشكيل مجلس السلم والأمن بالاتحاد الأفريقي– اجتماعًا طارئًا لمجلس السلم والأمن لمناقشة الوضع في إثيوبيا، واتخاذ الخطوات اللازمة لضمان حماية المدنيين، ووصول المساعدات الإنسانية دون قيود. وأيضًا فتح تحقيق دولي لتوثيق سلوك جميع الأطراف، وضمان الحفاظ على أدلة الانتهاكات، والمساعدة في تحديد التأثير الكامل للنزاع على المدنيين.

ونحن أيضًا ندعوكم وندعو اللجنة الأفريقية لحقوق الإنسان والشعوب لحثّ الحكومة الإثيوبية على:

  • ضمان التزام القوى الموالية للحكومة الاتحادية بالقانون الدولي الإنساني المنطبق على النزاع في منطقة تيغراي واحترام حقوق الإنسان الأساسية.
  • ضمان وصول وكالات الإغاثة دون موانع إلى جميع مناطق تيغراي، وتسهيل الوصول للمناطق الموجودة تحت سيطرة جبهة تحرير شعب تيغراي والسيطرة الإريترية المفترضة.
  • ضمان استئناف وصول السّكان إلى الخدمات الأساسية، مثل الكهرباء والمياه، والخدمات المصرفية.
  • استئناف وسائل الاتصالات لكافة سكان تيغراي؛ لتتمكّن العائلات من التواصل، وأيضًا لضمان سرعة الكشف عن الانتهاكات الجسيمة.
  • دعم تحقيق أممي مستقل في المنطقة لتوثيق انتهاكات جميع الأطراف، وضمان الحفاظ على أدلة الانتهاكات، والمساعدة في تحديد التأثير الكامل للصراع على المدنيين.
  • تحقيق مستقل في المنطقة لتوثيق سلوك جميع الأطراف، لضمان الحفاظ على أدلة الانتهاكات، والمساعدة في تحديد أثر هذا النزاع على المدنيين.

مدّد الاتحاد الإفريقي مؤخرًا مبادرة »إسكات البنادق« لمدّة عشر سنوات إضافيّة. ومع استمرار البحث عن حل طويل الأمد للأزمة في إثيوبيا، يجب على مفوضية الاتحاد الأفريقي أن تضع ضمن أولوياتها المساءلة عن الانتهاكات الجسيمة لحقوق الإنسان. الأمر الذي سيكون بمثابة إشارة مهمة ومباشرة لالتزام اللجنة بالسلام والأمن والاستقرار الدائمين من خلال إقرار العدالة والمساءلة عن انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان.

وتفضلوا بقبول فائق الاحترام،

للاطلاع على قائمة الموقعين هنا

This post is also available in: English