Salon Ibn Rushd: The Present and Future of Political Islam

In Human Rights Dissemination Program, Salon Ibn Rushd by CIHRS

“The Present and Future of Political Islam” was the topic of the latest Salon Ibn Rushd seminar held on 28 October 2021 by the Cairo Institute for Human Rights Studies (CIHRS).  The recent failures of the Ennahda Party in Tunisia in parallel with the electoral defeat of the Justice and Development Party in Morocco were discussed at the session amid a wider dialogue upon obstacles that have accompanied attempts at democratic transition since the Arab Spring – a process in which political Islam has played a vital role in an array of contexts and experiences.

The salon, which is held by CIHRS every month, hosted Salah Al-Din Al-Jourshi, a Tunisian writer and political analyst; Lucia Ardovini, a researcher specialized in political Islam in Egypt and a fellow of the Swedish Institute for International Affairs; and Ali Anouzla, a Moroccan journalist and editor-in-chief of the “Lakome” news website. Egyptian politician Islam Lotfi moderated the discussion.

The dialogue began with an attempt to interpret the causes and implications of current obstacles to democratic transition in the region. Lucia Ardovini with Al-Jourshi agreed on the failure of Islamic political movements in the test of power, despite their previous success as opposition movements and their ability to cope under pressure. However, the uprisings of the Arab Spring have been a key element in changes in regards to the social circumstances and contexts in which these movements used to operate. Ardovini addressed the inability of Islamic movements to keep pace with rapid changes amid the impact of external pressures and accusations of terrorism and anti-democratic politics, together with the impact of the alliance of regional and international powers against the Muslim Brotherhood, especially the United Arab Emirates and France.

Al-Jourshi assigned greater culpability to the Ennahda Party for the situation in Tunisia, where the party combined weak programs and the absence of cadres, along with ignorance of the rules of the international political science. Collectively, Al-Jourshi noted, these matters exceeded the threshold for failure, creating a crisis of popular confidence in the political class and the entire democratic process in the country, which allowed Tunisian president Kais Saied to undermine the current system undergoing democratic transition in favour of building another political system. Al-Jourshi excluded the Muslim Brotherhood in Egypt from the failures of political Islam in Tunisia, arguing that the party did not have adequate  time to rule.

Moroccan journalist Ali Anouzla agreed with Al-Jourshi in holding the Justice and Development Party fully responsible for the situation in Morocco, as the party has held power for nearly a decade, a rare opportunity that no other party has had in the country’s recent political history. Moreover, Anouzla emphasized the difficulty of evaluating the experience of political Islam as a whole, or making any final judgments, due to varying experiences and contexts, and the continuation of these experiences in many countries amid unprecedented transition in the region.

According to Anouzla, political Islam was not the instigator of change but was instead the biggest beneficiary of it; he pointed  to the element of surprise that  was evident in Islamists’ reluctance to participate or compete for power. Anouzla added that many factors were unconducive to the democratic transition process, in which these movements found themselves in a position of leadership during the difficulties surrounding the transition. The international context was also unfavorable; the wave of movements for democratic change was contained within international context, and coincided with the rise of the right and nationalism.

Moderator Islam Lotfi pointed out that the Muslim Brotherhood in Egypt was subjected to an unprecedented state of fragmentation, while Justice and Development party in Morocco experienced a major loss in popularity , and the Ennahda party faced a critical situation in Tunisia. Meanwhile, many young people departed from the founding ideas of political Islam, instead resorting to violence or aligning their sympathies or loyalties with the Islamic State. Many other young people left the religion entirely, in a mass exodus of atheism. Lotfi contemplated whether all of these developments were just a setback or a stumbling block in the usual path of trials and tribulations, according to the literature of the Islamic movement itself, or if they constitute a decisive historical moment in the history of political Islam.

Both Al-Jourshi and Anouzla opposed the concept of ​​ the ‘end of political Islam.’  Al-Jourshi considered this concept to be detached from reality, given that political Islam has exceptional resiliency despite its shortcomings, pointing to its ability to protect itself and its success in justifying its failures, and invoking external factors and disruptions. He also pointed to political Islam’s ability to return by changing its discourses or leaders; nevertheless, its survival depends structural factors, including the social and religious needs of society. Anouzla agreed with this vision, considering that the Justice and Development Party’s loss in the past elections represents a punitive vote, noting the party’s ability to restore the voting bloc if its leaders were self-critical and corrected their mistakes.

Ardovini considered both contentions to have validity: the current juncture may simply represent a stumbling block for political Islam movements but at the same time may also represent a historical moment of transformation. Ardovini added that political Islam should not be regarded as a solid entity but rather as a heterogeneous one, with diverging directions and diverse dynamics within a large entity that includes the reality that many ideas of Islamist movements converge today in exile, including dialogues on mistakes and shortcomings and how to remedy them. Furthermore, many of these movements were formed and activate under oppression, and have a long history of turbulent relations with political regimes. Thus the current moment can  be considered another stage for political Islam that does not as of yet represent a turning point.

Al-Jourshi posed an important question on potential effects and repercussions if the project of political Islam ends, and the impact of this on change and democratic transformation in the region. Al-Jourshi assumed that the end of political Islam would lead to a political vacuum or void in the region, and questioned if there are  political forces, parties and movements capable of filling this void. At the same time, he noted the lack of structure in political parties in the Arab region, whether old or new.

On the other hand, Ardovini affirmed that political Islam movements may restore confidence and create a popular base and incubator, especially during the escalating crises in the region, including a crisis in confidence in the frayed social fabric between rulers and the ruled. Ardovini speculated upon the international dimension: who are the international players and what is the nature of their role? She noted the known campaigns against Islamic movements, and the fact many global powers do not want these movements to have any role in politics, evidencing the substantial role of  geopolitical power.

Anouzla believes that the demand for democratic transformation will remain regardless of whether Islamic parties remain as a presence or disappear, because democracy is a popular demand. It is also a historical inevitability,  and thus, he stressed that political Islam can only remain effective if movements benefit from their own mistakes, practice self-criticism, reconcile with society, and build consensus with other movements. Anouzla added that Islamic movements must first restructure internally, and separate the political from religious preaching. Anouzla concluded by saying that the future will belong to those who have the political will to change, achieve social justice, and respect human rights.

Watch the webinar in english here.

This post is also available in: العربية

Share this Post

في جلسة أكتوبر لصالون ابن رشد: كيف يمكن قراءة حاضر الإسلام السياسي وآفاق مستقبله؟

In برنامج نشر ثقافة حقوق الإنسان, صالون بن رشد by CIHRS

في 28 أكتوبر، عقد مركز القاهرة لدراسات حقوق الإنسان الجلسة الشهرية لـ «صالون ابن رشد»، تحت عنوان: «حاضر الإسلام السياسي، ومستقبله»، وذلك على خلفية الإخفاق الذي تعرض له حزب النهضة التونسي مؤخرًا، بالموازاة مع خسارة العدالة والتنمية المغربي الانتخابات، وما صاحبهما من تعثر لتجربة التحول الديمقراطي، والتي مارست فيها حركات الإسلام السياسي دورًا حيويًا، منذ انطلاق الربيع العربي، وعلى اختلاف السياقات والتجارب.

استضاف الصالون صلاح الدين الجورشي، الكاتب والمحلل السياسي التونسي، ولوشيا أردوفيني، الباحثة المختصة بجماعة الإخوان المسلمين في مصر وزميلة المعهد السويدي للشئون الدولية، وعلي أنوزلا، الصحفي المغربي ومدير موقع «لكم». وأدار الحوار السياسي المصري، إسلام لطفي.

بدأ الحوار بمحاولة لقراءة التعثر الحالي، وماهية أسبابه ودلالاته؛ واتفقت لوشيا أردوفيني مع الجورشي في فشل الحركات الإسلامية في اختبار السلطة، رغم سابق نجاحها كحركات معارضة، وقدرتها على التعامل تحت الضغوط؛ لكنها شددت على الثورات، كعامل مهم أحدث تغييرات في الأوضاع والسياقات الاجتماعية، التي اعتادت هذه الحركات على العمل فيها. كما أشارت أردوفيني إلى عجز الحركات الإسلامية عن مواكبة إيقاع التغييرات المتسارعة، منوهةً لأثر الضغوط الخارجية، ومن ضمنها الاتهامات بالإرهاب ومعاداة الديمقراطية، فضلاً عن تحالف القوى الإقليمية والدولية ضد جماعة الإخوان، لا سيما الإمارات وفرنسا.

من جانبه، حمّل الجورشي حزب النهضة التونسي الجانب الأكبر من المسئولية عما آلت إليه الأوضاع في تونس، إذ جمع الحزب بين ضعف البرامج، وغياب الكوادر، بالإضافة لجهله بقواعد اللعبة الدولية. وبحسب الجورشي تخطت هذه الأمور مجتمعة حد الإخفاق، وصولًا لخلق أزمة ثقة شعبية في الطبقة السياسية، وفي العملية الديمقراطية برمتها، وبالتالي سمحت للرئيس التونسي بالسعي لنسف المنظومة، وبناء نظام سياسي آخر. واستثنى الجورشي جماعة الإخوان المسلمين في مصر، معللًا ذلك بأن الوقت لم يسعفها بما يكفي للحكم.

الصحفي المغربي علي أنوزلا اتفق مع الجورشي، في تحميله حزب العدالة والتنمية المغربي المسئولية الكاملة عما آلت إليه الأوضاع في البلاد، رغم استمراره في الحكم نحو عشر سنوات، معتبرًا أن هذه فرصة لم يحصل عليها حزب آخر. وفي الوقت نفسه، أكد أنوزلا على صعوبة تقييم تجربة الإسلام السياسي ككل، أو الخروج بأحكام نهائية؛ نظرًا لتباين التجارب والسياقات من جهة، واستمرار هذه التجارب في التفاعل في العديد من البلدان، من جهة أخرى، في ظل سياق غير مسبوق للانتقال الديمقراطي في المنطقة.

وبحسب أنوزلا لم يكن الإسلام السياسي صانعًا التغيير، وإنما المستفيد الأكبر منه، مشيرًا لعنصر المفاجأة، الذي ظهر جليًا في تردد الإسلاميين في نسب المشاركة أو المنافسة على الحكم. مضيفًا أن صعوبة المرحلة الانتقالية، التي وجدت فيها هذه الحركات نفسها في موقع القيادة، بالإضافة إلى أن السياق الدولي الذي انحسرت فيه موجة الديمقراطية، وتزامن مع صعود اليمين والقوميات، لم يكن مساعدًا لعملية الانتقال.

وبدوره، أشار إسلام لطفي لتعرض جماعة الإخوان في مصر لحالة تشظي غير مسبوقة، وكذا خسارة العدالة والتنمية في المغرب لقطاع كبير من شعبيته، وتلك الحالة الحرجة التي وجد النهضة التونسي نفسه فيها، في سياق انصراف الكثير من الشباب عن الأفكار المؤسسة للإسلام السياسي، وجنوح بعضهم إلى العنف، أو تعاطفهم مع تنظيم الدولة، أو حتى خروج بعض آخر من الدين برمته، في موجة إلحاد عارمة. متسائلًا عما إذا كان كل ذلك مجرد كبوة أو عثرة، في طريق معتاد للمحن والابتلاءات، بحسب أدبيات الحركة الإسلامية نفسها، أم أنها بالفعل لحظة تاريخية نهائية، في تاريخ الإسلام السياسي؟

وقد عارض كل من الجورشي وأنوزلا فكرة «نهاية الإسلام السياسي»، إذ رأى فيها الجورشي مصادرة على الواقع، نظرًا لتمتع الإسلام السياسي بقدرة عجيبة على الصمود، رغم الأخطاء، مشيرًا لقدرته على حماية نفسه، ونجاحه في تبرير فشله، والتذرع بالعوامل الخارجية والتعطيل. وكذا قدرته على العودة، بتغيير الخطاب أو القيادات، ولكن بقاءه مرهون بالاحتياجات الاجتماعية والدينية إليه، كعنصر من بنية المجتمع. واتفق أنوزلا مع هذه الرؤية، معتبرًا أن خسارة حزب العدالة والتنمية في الانتخابات الماضية يمثل نوعًا من التصويت العقابي، مشيرًا لقدرة الحزب على استعادة الكتلة التصويتية إذا أحسنت قياداته النقد الذاتي، وصوبت أخطاءها.

وقد اعتبرت أردوفيني، أن كلا الافتراضين صحيح، فمن ناحية قد تكون هذه مجرد عثرة لحركات الإسلام السياسي، ولكنها في الوقت ذاته لحظة تحول تاريخية، مؤكدةً على خطأ التفكير في الحركة كوحدة صلبة، وإنما هي اتجاهات مختلفة وديناميات مختلفة داخل كيان كبير، تتلاقى أفكارها اليوم في المنفى، وتتم مناقشة الأخطاء المرتكبة وكيفية معالجتها. كما أن الكثير من هذه الحركات تكونت ونشطت في ظل الاضطهاد، وتمتلك تاريخ طويل من العلاقات المضطربة مع الأنظمة السياسية، ويمكن اعتبار هذه مرحلة أخرى، لا تمثل نقطة تحول حتى الآن.

وحول الآثار والتداعيات المحتملة، حال نهاية مشروع الإسلام السياسي، وتأثير هذا على مشروع التغيير والتحول الديمقراطي في المنطقة، أكد الجورشي أهمية هذا التساؤل، لأن افتراض نهاية الإسلام السياسي يحيلنا إلى حالة فراغ! متسائلًا عن القوى والأحزاب والحركات السياسية القادرة على ملء الساحة في المنطقة العربية. ومشيرًا في الوقت نفسه إلى الأزمة البنيوية للأحزاب العربية، قديمها وحديثها.

في المقابل أكدت أردوفيني أن باستطاعة حركات الإسلام السياسي استعادة الثقة، وتكوين قاعدة وحاضنة شعبية، لا سيما في ظل الأزمات المتصاعدة في المنطقة، وانعدام الثقة في النسيج المجتمعي بين الحكام والمحكومين. متسائلةً حول البعد الدولي، وماهية اللاعبين الدوليين، وطبيعة دورهم؟ قائلةً: «نحن نعرف أن هناك حملات ضد الحركات الإسلامية، وأن الكثير لا يرغبون في أن تلعب هذه الحركات أي دور؛ إذن القوة الجيوسياسية لعبت دورًا كبيرًا».

أما أنوزلا فيرى أن مطلب التحول الديمقراطي سيظل قائمًا، سواء استمرت الأحزاب الإسلامية أو اختفت، لأنه مطلب شعبي، فضلًا عن كونه حتمية تاريخية، مؤكدًا أن الإسلام السياسي يمكن أن يظل فاعلًا، إن استفادت حركاته من أخطائها، ومارست النقد الذاتي، وتصالحت مع المجتمع، وبنت توافقات مع التيارات الأخرى. مضيفًا أنه يتعين عليها أولًا إعادة بناء بيتها الداخلي، والفصل بين السياسي والدعوي. مختتمًا الحديث بأن المستقبل سيكون لمن يملك الإرادة السياسية للتغيير، وتحقيق العدالة الاجتماعية، واحترام حقوق الإنسان.

لمشاهدة الجلسة باللغة العربية هنا

هذه المقالة متاحة أيضًا بـ: English

Share this Post