Protester holding a flag seen on top of a statue during the demonstration. Palestinian Citizens are being subject to violent armed mobs, attempting to drive them from their homes. The violence is part of Israelís regime of institutionalised racist discrimination against the Palestinian people, amounting to the crime of apartheid. The UK Government is expected to take action, which includes implementing sanctions, military embargo to cut the supply of deadly weapons to Israel, and banning the import of goods from Israelís illegal settlements. (Photo by Loredana Sangiuliano / SOPA Images/Sipa USA)No Use Germany.

Palestine: CIHRS Welcomes Adoption of Historic Resolution Establishing a CoI Addressing the Palestinian People on Both Sides of the Green Line During 30th HRC Special Session

In Arab Countries, International Advocacy Program, United Nations Human Rights Council by CIHRS

Yesterday, the United Nations Human Rights Council (HRC) adopted[1] a historic resolution[2] establishing a standing Commission of Inquiry to address Israel’s latest and ongoing violations against the Palestinian people on both sides of the Green Line while also addressing the root causes of Israel’s settler colonialism and apartheid. This resolution was adopted during a Special Session requested by Pakistan, on behalf of the state members of the Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) and other UN members and observers.[3]

“We welcome the passage of this historic resolution. Yet once again, EU countries failed to uphold international law and accountability when it comes to potential crimes committed by Israel, including the crime against humanity of apartheid. Such blatant double-standards are shameful and deeply undermine any possibility for justice,” said Nada Awad, UN Advocacy Rep. of the Cairo Institute for Human Rights Studies (CIHRS). Awad underscored the important role played by Palestinian human rights defenders and global civil society in spurring action at the HRC:

“This historic resolution comes following years of work by courageous Palestinians and human rights defenders around the world, who have urged the international community to address the root causes of the human rights crises faced by the Palestinian people, one defined by a long-term project of settler colonialism and apartheid.”

Speaking before the HRC, Maisaa Abo El-Ouf, a Palestinian of Gaza spoke of her experience being trapped under the rubble when her home was bombed by Israel. The destruction of the building killed 43 Palestinians, including her two sisters, and injured 120 others. She called for action by the HRC: “My sisters were not numbers, we are not political pawns – we are people trying to survive and live decent lives. Human beings, women and children, with hopes and dreams. I plead with you to push for justice, and to hold the perpetrators accountable and stop Israel’s crime of apartheid against the Palestinian people.”

Following a call for action by civil society, more than 3000 individuals and organizations from over 77 countries signed a petition calling on UN member states to vote in favor of the resolution establishing an ongoing UN Commission of Inquiry into systemic violations targeting the Palestinian people on both sides of the Green Line. Individuals and organizations also wrote to their Ministries of Foreign Affairs and missions in Geneva to urge them to support the resolution.

For the first time in its history, the HRC addressed human rights violations and discriminatory policies committed and enacted by Israel against the Palestinian people in both the OPT and Israel. The resolution acknowledged the grave human rights situation faced by Palestinians on both sides of the Green Line, an approach adopted in order to respond to Israel’s policies and practices aimed at fragmenting the Palestinian population, one of the main tools used to implement its apartheid regime. During the session, a panel consisting of Palestinians in Jerusalem, Gaza and Israel addressed the latest Israeli attacks within the context of institutionalized racial domination and oppression.

Muna el Kurd testified to the apartheid policies targeting Palestinians in Sheikh Jarrah where her family, along with seven others, are at imminent risk of forced eviction. She spoke of Israel’s repression of the demonstrations against their displacement, the Israeli closure of her neighborhood as well as settler attacks against the Palestinian residents of Sheikh Jarrah. These policies and tactics of intimidation occur in the context of Israel’s demographic policies and practices designed to favor settler colonialism in Jerusalem. She insisted that the role of the HRC should not be limited to “expressing concern” but must also ensure effective measures are taken to end impunity and ensure accountability for crimes committed by Israel.

Mohammad Barakeh, chairman of the High Follow-Up Committee for Arab Citizens of Israel, spoke of the unified Palestinian stance against Israel’s policies targeting Palestinians, met by Israel’s collective punishment of the indigenous Palestinian population, with more than 1700 Palestinians arrested and Palestinian homes raided, amongst the arbitrary practices aimed at intimidating Palestinians. He further addressed the institutionalized nature of Israel’s domination, citing Israel’s Nation-State Law from 2018, which inscribed in the fundamental law of Israel that the right to self-determination is unique to the “Jewish people. ”

Speaking from Gaza, Issam Younis, Commissioner General of The Palestinian Independent Commission for Human Rights (ICHR), noted that “recent events are only a symptom. The problem is that for 73 years, the Palestinian people have endured systematic, institutionalized, and long-established laws, policies, and practices that aim to impose and maintain a settler-colonial regime of racial domination and oppression over Palestinians on both sides of the Green Line.” He addressed member states saying: “You have a choice to make because of the systemic impunity your governments grant to Israel.”

In his intervention, Professor Michael Lynk, Special Rapporteur on the situation of human rights in the Palestinian territories occupied since 1967, spoke on behalf of the coordination committee of special procedures, reiterating that “The simple reality is that the occupation has become as entrenched and as sustainable as it has because the international community has never imposed a meaningful cost on Israel for acting as an acquisitive and defiant occupying power.” He highlighted that “respected human rights organizations are now calling this apartheid”. In her address to the Council, the High Commissioner for Human Rights also insisted “[…] it is clear that unless the root causes of this violence are addressed, it will sadly be a matter of time until the next round of violence commences [..]”.

During the debate, UN member states addressed Israel’s institutionalized regime of racial domination and oppression over the Palestinian people and the need to address the root causes. For the first time, a resolution adopted by the HRC on Palestine calls on third states to refrain from transferring arms when assessed that these arms would be used to commit serious violations of international law.


[1] 24 in favor, 9 against and 14 abstentions
[2] Ensuring respect for international human rights law and international humanitarian law   in the Occupied Palestinian Territory, including East Jerusalem, and in Israel.
[3] Member States: Bahrain, Bangladesh, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Burkina Faso, China, Côte d’Ivoire, Cuba, Eritrea, Gabon, Indonesia, Libya, Mauritania, Mexico, Namibia, Pakistan, Senegal, Somalia, Sudan, Uzbekistan and Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)
Observer States: Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Azerbaijan, Benin, Brunei Darussalam, Chad, Comoros, Djibouti, Egypt, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Morocco, Mozambique, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Suriname, Syrian Arab Republic, Tajikistan, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, Yemen and the State of Palestine
The holding of the session was later also supported by Peru, Chile, Philippines, Luxembourg, Ireland and the Netherlands.


Photo: National Demonstration For Palestine in London, UK – 22 May 2021 – by Loredana Sangiuliano / SOPA Images/Sipa USA

This post is also available in: العربية

Share this Post

نرحب بالقرار التاريخي بتشكيل لجنة تحقيق أممية حول الانتهاكات المرتكبة بحق الشعب الفلسطيني على جانبي الخط الأخضر

In البرنامج الدولي لحماية حقوق الإنسان, دول عربية, مجلس حقوق الإنسان في الأمم المتحدة by CIHRS

اعتمد[1] مجلس حقوق الإنسان بالأمم المتحدة أمس 27 مايو 2021  قرارًا تاريخيًا[2] بتشكيل لجنة تحقيق دائمة؛ لمعالجة الانتهاكات الإسرائيلية الأخيرة والجارية بحق الشعب الفلسطيني على جانبي الخط الأخضر، ومعالجة الأسباب الجذرية للاستعمار الاستيطاني وجريمة الفصل العنصري الإسرائيلي. تم اعتماد القرار خلال جلسة خاصة انعقدت بناء على طلب من دولة باكستان، نيابة عن الدول الأعضاء في منظمة التعاون الإسلامي، فضلاً عن أعضاء ومراقبين أخرين بالأمم المتحدة.[3]

تقول ندى عوض مسئولة المناصرة الدولية بمركز القاهرة لدراسات حقوق الإنسان: «نرحب باعتماد هذا القرار التاريخي. ولكن هذا لا ينفي فشل دول الاتحاد الأوروبي في دعم القانون الدولي والمحاسبة فيما يتعلق بالجرائم المحتمل ارتكابها من قِبَل إسرائيل، بما في ذلك جريمة الفصل العنصري التي تُعد جريمة ضد الإنسانية. فما زالت المعايير المزدوجة تقوض بشكل مخزي أي إمكانية لتحقيق العدالة.»

شددت عوض أيضًا على أهمية دور المدافعين الفلسطينيين عن حقوق الإنسان والمجتمع المدني العالمي في الدفع باتخاذ هذه الإجراءات داخل مجلس حقوق الإنسان، مشيرة إلى أن «هذا القرار التاريخي نتاج سنوات من عمل الفلسطينيين الشجعان والمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان حول العالم، هؤلاء حثوا المجتمع الدولي على معالجة الأسباب الجذرية لأزمة حقوق الإنسان التي يواجها الشعب الفلسطيني، وخاصة مشروع الاستعمار الاستيطاني والفصل العنصري طويل الأمد.»

وعن تجربتها، تحدثت ميساء أبو العوف، مواطنة فلسطينية من غزة، أمام مجلس حقوق الإنسان، عن القصف الإسرائيلي العشوائي لمنزلها، والذي أسفر عن تدمير البناية ومقتل 43 فلسطينيًا، بينهم شقيقتيها، وإصابة 120 آخرين. ميساء طالبت  المجلس باتخاذ إجراءات عاجلة قائلة: «لم تكن أختاي مجرد رقمين، إننا لسنا قطع شطرنج في لعبة السياسة، نحن أرواح تسعى للبقاء والعيش الكريم، بشر، نساء وأطفال، لدينا آمالنا وأحلامنا، نناشدكم مواصلة الضغط من أجل العدالة ومحاسبة الجناة، أوقفوا جريمة الفصل العنصري الإسرائيلية بحق الشعب الفلسطيني.»

في أعقاب دعوة المجتمع المدني للتحرك العاجل، أنضم أكثر من 3000 فردًا ومنظمة من أكثر من 77 دولة بالتوقيع على عريضة تُطالب الدول أعضاء الأمم المتحدة، بالتصويت لصالح قرار بتشكيل لجنة تحقيق أممية دائمة حول الانتهاكات المنهجية التي تستهدف الشعب الفلسطيني على جانبي الخط الأخضر. كما خاطب أفراد ومنظمات وزراء خارجيتهم وبعثات دولهم في جنيف؛ لحثهم على دعم القرار.

لأول مرة في تاريخه، يتطرق مجلس حقوق الإنسان بالأمم المتحدة لانتهاكات حقوق الإنسان والسياسات التمييزية التي ترتكبها إسرائيل بحق الشعب الفلسطيني في الأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة وفي إسرائيل. وبهذا القرار، اعترف المجلس بحالة حقوق الإنسان الخطيرة التي يواجهها الفلسطينيون على جانبي الخط الأخضر، ضمن نهج إسرائيلي أوسع قائم على السياسات والممارسات التمييزية التي تستهدف تفتيت الشعب الفلسطيني، كجزء من أدوات فرض نظام الفصل العنصري الإسرائيلي وتنفيذه. إذ تناولت الدول الأعضاء في هذه الجلسة هذا النظام الإسرائيلي المؤسسي للقمع والهيمنة العنصرية بحق الشعب الفلسطيني، والحاجة لمعالجة الأسباب الجذرية بما في ذلك الاستعمار الاستيطاني والفصل العنصري الإسرائيليين. وللمرة الأولى، يدعو قرار اعتمده مجلس حقوق الإنسان بشأن فلسطين الدول الأعضاء إلى الامتناع عن نقل الأسلحة في حالة احتمالية استخدام هذه الأسلحة لارتكاب انتهاكات جسيمة للقانون الدولي.

في هذه الجلسة أيضًا، استعرض فريق يضم فلسطينيين من القدس وغزة وإسرائيل، الهجمات الإسرائيلية الأخيرة في سياق القمع والهيمنة العنصرية المؤسسية. قدمت منى الكرد شهادتها بشأن سياسات الفصل العنصري التي تستهدف الفلسطينيين في حي الشيخ جراح، حيث تواجه عائلتها مع سبع عائلات أخرى، خطرًا وشيكًا بالإخلاء القسري. كما تطرقت الكرد أيضًا لمحاولات إسرائيل قمع الاحتجاجات ضد قرار الإخلاء والإغلاق للحي الذي تقطن فيه، بالإضافة إلى اعتداءات المستوطنين الإسرائيليين على السكان الفلسطينيين في حي الشيخ جراح. مثل هذه السياسات والممارسات تستهدف ترهيب الفلسطينيين ووأد محاولاتهم مواجهة  في سياق السياسات الديموغرافية الإسرائيلية التي تم تصميمها لخدمة الاستعمار الاستيطاني في القدس. وأصرّت الكرد على أن دور مجلس حقوق الإنسان لا ينبغي أن يقتصر على «الإعراب عن القلق»، وإنما يجب أن يضمن اتخاذ فعّالة لإنهاء إفلات إسرائيل من العقاب، وضمان المحاسبة على جرائمها المرتكبة بحق الشعب الفلسطيني.

من جانبه، تطرق محمد بركة، رئيس لجنة المتابعة العليا للمواطنين العرب في إسرائيل، إلى الموقف الفلسطيني الموحد ضد السياسات الإسرائيلية التي تستهدف الفلسطينيين، والذي ردت عليه إسرائيل بالعقاب الجماعي لسكان فلسطين الأصليين، واعتقال أكثر من 1700 فلسطينيًا ومداهمة منازل الفلسطينيين، من بين ممارسات تعسفية أخرى لترهيب الفلسطينيين. كما تناول في كلمته الطبيعة المؤسسية للهيمنة الإسرائيلية، مستشهدًا بقانون الدولة القومية لإسرائيل منذ 2018، والذي نص في القانون الأساسي لإسرائيل على أن الحق في تقرير المصير هو حق خاص «للشعب اليهودي».

أما عصام يونس، المفوض العام للهيئة المستقلة لحقوق الإنسان، من غزة، فأشار في كلمته إلى أن «الأحداث الأخيرة لم تكن سوى عَرَض لمشكلة ممتدة من 73 عامًا، واجه فيها الشعب الفلسطيني قوانين وسياسات وممارسات مؤسسية وممنهجة راسخة تهدف لفرض نظام الاستعمار الاستيطاني والقمع والهيمنة العنصرية بحق الفلسطينيين على جانبي الخط الأخضر.» وخاطب يونس الدول الأعضاء بالأمم المتحدة قائلاً: «أمامكم فرصه لتصويب الوضع بسبب الإفلات المنهجي من العقاب الذي تضمنه حكوماتكم لإسرائيل».

ختامًا أكد مايكل لينك، المقرر الخاص المعني بحالة حقوق الإنسان في الأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة منذ عام 1967، نيابة عن لجنة تنسيق الإجراءات الخاصة: «أن الواقع ببساطة يقول أن الاحتلال بات راسخًا ومتأصلاً بهذا الشكل؛ لأن المجتمع الدولي لم يفرض أبدًا تكلفة جدية على إسرائيل مقابل تصرفها كقوة احتلال تستحوذ وتتحدي الجميع». كما سلط لينك الضوء على أن «منظمات حقوق الإنسان ذات المصداقية تطلق الآن على هذا الوضع اسم الفصل العنصري». بينما أصرت المفوضة السامية لحقوق الإنسان في كلمتها أمام المجلس على أنه: «[…] من الجليّ أنه ما لم تتم معالجة الأسباب الجذرية لهذا العنف؛ فستغدو مسألة وقت حتى تبدأ دورة العنف التالية […]».


[1] 24 صوت لصالح القرار، و9 ضده، وامتناع 14 عن التصويت.
[2] لضمان احترام القانون الدولي لحقوق الإنسان والقانون الدولي الإنساني في الأرض الفلسطينية المحتلة، بما في ذلك القدس الشرقية، وفي إسرائيل.
[3] الدول الأعضاء: البحرين، بنغلاديش، دولة بوليفيا متعددة القوميات، بوركينا فاسو، الصين، كوت ديفوار، كوبا، إريتريا، إندونيسيا، غابون، ليبيا، موريتانيا، المكسيك، ناميبيا، باكستان، السنغال، الصومال، السودان، أوزبكستان، جمهورية فنزويلا البوليفارية. الدول المراقبة: أذربيجان، أفغانستان، ألبانيا، الجزائر، بنين، بروناي دار السلام، تشاد، جزر القمر، جيبوتي، مصر، غامبيا، غينيا، غينيا – بيساو، غيانا، إيران، العراق، الأردن، كازاخستان، الكويت، قيرغيزستان، لبنان، ماليزيا، جزر المالديف، مالي، المغرب، موزمبيق، النيجر، نيجيريا، عمان، قطر، المملكة العربية السعودية، سيراليون، جنوب أفريقيا، سورينام، الجمهورية العربية السورية، طاجيكستان، تونس، تركيا، تركمانستان، أوغندا، الإمارات العربية المتحدة، اليمن، ودولة فلسطين. وفي وقت لاحق، دعمت الدول التالية انعقاد الجلسة: بيرو، تشيلي، الفلبين، لوكسمبورج، إيرلندا وهولندا.


الصورة: مظاهرة وطنية للتضامن مع فلسطين في لندن، المملكة المتحدة – 22 مايو 2021 – لوريدانا سانغيوليانو / صور SOPA / Sipa USA

This post is also available in: English

Share this Post