Migrants in Libya between the Libyan hammer and the EU’s anvil

In Arab Countries, International Advocacy Program by CIHRS

Violence on land, violence at sea

In Libya, the already dire situation for migrants, asylum-seekers and refugees has been escalating to an unprecedented level of violence. Not only do migrants face widespread documented abuse from Libyan authorities on land, they are also violently intercepted at sea and forcibly returned (pulled back) to the country by Libya’s violent “Coast Guard” crews – who, despite their involvement in horrific violations – continue to be financially supported by the European Union and its Member States. EuroMed Rights, the Cairo Institute for Human Rights Studies, the Libya Platform[1] and the Association for Juridical Studies on Immigration (ASGI) call on the EU to cease all support to Libya’s Coast Guards, to provide safe pathways for migrants and to re-establish an EU-coordinated Search and Rescue mechanism.

Violence on land: Latest updates

On 1 October 2021, Libyan security authorities carried out raids against thousands of migrants in the town of Gargaresh, in Tripoli, and detained 4,000 of them, most of them refugees and asylum-seekers registered with the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR). In the following days, the number of detainees exceeded 5,000. They are kept in extremely overcrowded cells with little access to food or water. According to UNICEF, at least 1,000 captured women and children are in “immediate danger“. During the operations, one migrant was killed, and 15 others injured. According to the United Nations, unarmed migrants were harassed in their homes, beaten and shot. A Libyan government official said the authorities would “deport as many as possible” of the migrants to their home countries.

On 6 October 2021, according to the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights, Libyan Coast Guards opened fire on approximately 500 migrants who were trying to escape from a detention centre in Gheriyan. At least four people died and many others were severely injured. The same happened on 8 October 2021, when migrants tried to escape from the Al-Mabani Collection and Return centre (Ghout al-Sha’al, Tripoli) and security officers killed six people according to the International Organisation for Migration and injured a yet-to-be determined number.

On 14 October, the Public Prosecution announced that they had carried out an investigation into the killing of only one unidentified migrant in the Al-Mabani centre on 8 October, ordered the arrest of the suspected murderer and three of the centre’s officials, and started procedures to submit the head of the centre for investigation.

Unprecedented levels of violence perpetrated in complete impunity

These latest attacks are not isolated incidents but are part of a larger inhumane system of unlawful detention, exploitation and abuse supported by Libyan authorities and enabled by European externalisation policies. In their semi-annual update on the human rights situation in Libya, the Cairo Institute for Human Rights Studies and the Libya Platform found evidence of continued systemic and grave human rights violations taking place in the country in complete impunity, most notably against migrants, asylum-seekers and refugees. This violence illustrated the continued involvement of armed groups affiliated with Libyan state and security institutions and the urgent need for security sector reform.

Additionally, in a recent report, the UN Independent Fact-Finding Mission on Libya found evidence of war crimes committed since 2016 and stated that the abuses and inhumane acts committed against migrants, which are described as part of a systematic and widespread attack in furtherance of a State policy, may also amount to crimes against humanity. The Mission called on the international community to ensure that all agreements with Libya, particularly on migration, comply with International Human Rights Law and domestic humanitarian law.

A spiral of violence for which the EU shares responsibility

The International Organisation for Migration, estimates at 1,178 the number of people who died trying to  cross the Central Mediterranean so far in 2021. But the real number is likely to be much higher. Delays and failures to launch search and rescue operations have led to a 249% increase in the number of deaths at sea in the first half of 2021, compared to the same period in 2020.

So far in 2021, 26,000 migrants have managed to escape their Libyan prisons only to be intercepted at sea and returned to Libyan detention centres in operations coordinated by the Libyan Coast Guards, who are supported, equipped, and trained by EU budget and Member States support.

Despite the fact that this tragic increase in deaths and illegal pushbacks in the central Mediterranean is a direct result of both Libyan and European authorities’ failure to uphold their obligations, the European Commission recently announced its aim to deliver new ‘P150’ class patrol boats to the Libyan Coast Guard that will be used to intercept and forcibly return migrants, asylum-seekers and refugees to the horrors of Libya.

The EU must stop supporting the Libyan Coast Guards

EuroMed Rights, the Cairo Institute for Human Rights Studies, the Libya Platform and the Association for Juridical Studies on Immigration (ASGI) call on the EU and its Member States to:

  1. Immediately halt the provision of funding, equipment and training to the Libyan Coast Guard until it stops carrying out illegal pushbacks and other grave human rights violations;
  2. Re-establish an EU-coordinated Search and Rescue mechanism to prevent the tragic loss of lives in the Mediterranean Sea, and
  3. Provide immediate evacuation, regulated legal pathways and resettlement opportunities to migrants, asylum-seekers and refugees held in detention centres in inhumane conditions and subject to the most serious human rights violations, abuses and torture.

[1] The Libya Platform is a Libyan human rights coalition established in 2016 currently comprised of 16 human rights organisations.

This post is also available in: العربية

Share this Post

المهاجرون في ليبيا بين مطرقة ليبيا وسندان الاتحاد الأوروبي

In البرنامج الدولي لحماية حقوق الإنسان, دول عربية by CIHRS

 

العنف برًا وبحرًا

في ليبيا، وصل وضع المهاجرين واللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء السيئ بطبعه لمستوى غير مسبوق من العنف؛ فبالإضافة للانتهاكات الموثقة واسعة النطاق بحقهم من جانب السلطات الليبية، يواجهون اعتراضًا عنيفًا ويتم إعادتهم قسرًا إلى البلاد من جانب قوات «خفر السواحل» أثناء محاولتهم الفرار في البحر. ورغم ثبوت تورط هذه القوات في ارتكاب انتهاكات مروعة، يواصل الاتحاد الأوربي والدول الأعضاء منحهم الدعم المالي.

في هذا السياق، تدعو الشبكة الأورو-متوسطية لحقوق الإنسان، ومركز القاهرة لدراسات حقوق الإنسان، ومنظمات ائتلاف المنصة الليبية[1] وجمعية الدراسات القانونية حول الهجرة، الاتحاد الأوروبي لوقف أشكال الدعم لـقوات «خفر السواحل» الليبية لحين توفير مسارات آمنة للمهاجرين، وإعادة تشكيل آلية بحث وإنقاذ بتنسيق من الاتحاد الأوروبي.

العنف بحق المهاجرين: آخر التحديثات

في 1 أكتوبر 2021، نفذت السلطات الأمنية الليبية مداهمات بحق آلاف المهاجرين في بلدة قرقارش (بلدية في طرابلس الكبرى) أسفرت عن مقتل مهاجر وإصابة 15 آخرين، واعتقال 4000 شخصًا، معظمهم من اللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء المسجلين لدى مفوضية الأمم المتحدة لشئون اللاجئين. وعلى مدار الأيام التالية، تجاوز عدد المعتقلين 5000 شخصًا، تم احتجازهم في زنازين شديدة التكدس، حيث لا يحصلون سوى على القليل من الطعام أو الماء، بينهم ما لا يقل عن 1000 امرأة وطفل معرّضون «لخطر داهم» بحسب اليونيسف.

وبحسب الأمم المتحدة، تعرّض مهاجرون عزّل في منازلهم للمضايقة والضرب وإطلاق النار. وقال مسئول بالحكومة الليبية أن السلطات «سترحل أكبر عدد ممكن» من المهاجرين إلى بلدانهم الأصلية.

وفي 6 أكتوبر 2021، وفقًا لمفوضة الأمم المتحدة السامية لحقوق الإنسان، أطلقت قوات الأمن الليبية النيران على حوالي 500 مهاجرًا أثناء محاولتهم الفرار من مركز احتجاز في غريان، الأمر الذي أسفر عن مقتل 4 أشخاص منهم على الأقل، وإصابة العديد بجروح خطيرة. الأمر نفسه تكرر في 8 أكتوبر 2021، وقتما حاول مهاجرون الفرار من مركز التجميع والعودة والمباني في غوط الشعال طرابلس)، إذ قتلت قوات الأمن 6 أشخاص وتسببت في إصابة عددًا لم يتم تحديده بعد، وفقًا للمنظمة الدولية للهجرة.

وفي 14 أكتوبر، أصدر النائب العام بيانًا أعلن فيه عن فتح تحقيق في واقعة مقتل مهاجر مجهول الهوية في مركز المباني في 8 أكتوبر، وتم احتجاز المسئولين الثلاثة عن المركز، وضبط واحضار المتهم بالقتل ومباشر الإجراءات تمهيدًا لتقديم رئيس المركز للتحقيق.

مستويات غير مسبوقة من العنف في ظل إفلات كامل من العقاب

لا تعد هذه الهجمات الأخيرة حوادث منفردة، ولكنها جزء من نظام أكبر غير إنساني للاحتجاز غير القانوني والاستغلال وسوء المعاملة بحق المهاجرين، بدعم من السلطات الليبية وتمكين عبر السياسات الأوروبية لتصدير الحدود.

ففي التحديث نصف السنوي حول حالة حقوق الإنسان في ليبيا، أشار مركز القاهرة لدراسات حقوق الإنسان وائتلاف المنصة لأدلة حول استمرار الانتهاكات المنهجية والخطيرة لحقوق الإنسان في البلاد في ظل إفلات كامل من العقاب، لا سيما بحق المهاجرين وطالبي اللجوء واللاجئين، بما في ذلك الجرائم المرتكبة من الجماعات المسلحة التابعة للدولة الليبية والمؤسسات الأمنية، مؤكدًا على الحاجة الملحة لإصلاح قطاع الأمن.

في سياق متصل، نشرت بعثة الأمم المتحدة المستقلّة لتقصي الحقائق بشأن ليبيا في تقرير صدر مؤخرًا، أدلة على ارتكاب جرائم حرب منذ 2016، وذكرت أن الانتهاكات والأفعال غير الإنسانية المرتكبة بحق المهاجرين، والتي وُصفت بأنها جزء من هجوم ممنهج واسع النطاق لتعزيز سياسة الدولة، تصل حد الجرائم ضد الإنسانية. ودعت البعثة المجتمع الدولي للتأكد من امتثال كافة الاتفاقيات مع ليبيا، خاصة المتعلقة بالهجرة، للقانون الدولي لحقوق الإنسان والقانون الإنساني الداخلي.

دوامة عنف يتواطأ فيها الاتحاد الأوروبي

وبحسب المنظمة الدولية للهجرة، يقدر عدد الأشخاص الذين لقوا حتفهم أثناء محاولتهم عبور البحر الأبيض المتوسط على مدار 2021 بنحو 1178 شخصًا. ومن المرجح أن يكون العدد الحقيقي أكبر بكثير. وأدت التأخيرات والإخفاقات في إطلاق عمليات البحث والإنقاذ لزيادة عدد الوفيات في البحر بنسبة 249٪ في النصف الأول من 2021، مقارنةً بالفترة نفسها من 2020.

وعلى مدار العام الجاري، تمكن 26.000 مهاجر من الهروب من السجون الليبية، ليتم اعتراضهم في البحر فيما بعد وإعادتهم لمراكز الاحتجاز الليبية في عمليات منسقة من جانب قوات «خفر السواحل» الليبية، المدعومة والمجهزة بميزانية الاتحاد الأوروبي، ودعم الدول الأعضاء.

ورغم حقيقة أن هذه الزيادة المأساوية في الوفيات وعمليات الإعادة غير القانونية في وسط البحر الأبيض المتوسط هي نتيجة مباشرة لفشل السلطات الليبية والأوروبية في الوفاء بالتزاماتها، فقد أعلنت المفوضية الأوروبية مؤخرًا عن اعتزامها تسليم زوارق دورية جديدة من فئة «P150» إلى قوات خفر السواحل الليبية سيتم استخدامها لاعتراض المهاجرين وطالبي اللجوء واللاجئين وإعادتهم قسرًا إلى ليبيا.

وعليه، تدعو الشبكة الأورو-متوسطية لحقوق الإنسان، ومركز القاهرة لدراسات حقوق الإنسان، وائتلاف المنصة وجمعية الدراسات القانونية حول الهجرة، الاتحاد الأوروبي والدول الأعضاء إلى التوقف عن دعم قوات «خفر السواحل» الليبية. وتطالب بـ:

  1. التوقف فورًا عن توفير التمويل والمعدات والتدريب لـقوات «خفر السواحل» الليبية، لحين توقفها عن تنفيذ عمليات الصد غير القانونية وغيرها من الانتهاكات الجسيمة لحقوق الإنسان.
  2. إعادة تشكيل آلية البحث والإنقاذ بتنسيق من جانب الاتحاد الأوروبي؛ لوقف الخسائر المأساوية في الأرواح في البحر الأبيض المتوسط.
  3. ضمان الإجلاء الفوري والمسارات القانونية المنظمة وفرص إعادة التوطين للمهاجرين واللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء المحتجزين في مراكز الاحتجاز في ظروف غير إنسانية، والمعرضين لأخطر انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان والتجاوزات والتعذيب.

[1] ائتلاف منظمات المنصة الليبية، هو تحالف حقوقي ليبي، تأسس في 2016 بمبادرة من مركز القاهرة لدراسات حقوق الإنسان، ويضم حاليًا 16 منظمة حقوقية.

This post is also available in: English

Share this Post