Palestinian Return Centre

Over 70 organizations welcome and advocate for the recommendations of the META Content Management Policies Examination for Palestine and Israel

In Arab Countries, International Advocacy Program by CIHRS

We, the undersigned human rights organizations, commend the publication of Business for Social Responsibility’s (BSR) Human Rights Due Diligence Report of Arabic and Hebrew content on Meta’s platforms in the Israel/Palestine context in May 2021. For years, digital and human rights organizations have been calling for an independent review of Meta’s content moderation policies. These calls came as a result of Meta’s constant and deliberate actions to censor the voices and narrative of Palestinians and those in solidarity with them. Thus, denying Palestinians their right to freedom of expression, affecting their freedom of assembly and freedom to political participation and non-discrimination and further distorting the international community’s understanding of what is happening in Palestine.

We appreciate and value BSR’s efforts and professionalism through their assessment and independent review. We especially acknowledge their engagement with local, regional and international stakeholders and right-holders throughout the process. Launching this due diligence report is a step in the right direction. importantly, we look forward to Meta’s unequivocal commitment to implementing the recommendations of this report. More generally, we urge Meta to take decisive action to protect the voices of Palestinians among other oppressed peoples and groups around the world.

BSR’s findings provide further evidence of the over-enforcement of Arabic content compared to Hebrew content, and under-enforcement of content moderation policies on Hebrew language content. The latter was, according to BSR, “largely due to the lack of a Hebrew classifier,” some of these problems have been documented for years by 7amleh, The Arab Center for the Advancement of Social Media. Furthermore, the report cites adverse human rights implications to Palestinians’ right to freedom of expression, freedom of assembly, freedom to political participation, and non-discrimination. BSR also found evidence of Meta’s policies and practices leading to biased outcomes, which negatively impact Palestinian and Arabic speaking users.

Notwithstanding our support for much of BSR’s work, we must provide some important caveats that would help Meta address these problems more systemically. First, BSR distinguishes between intentional and unintentional bias, and states that it only found evidence of unintentional bias in Meta’s policies and practices. However, we have been calling Meta’s attention to the disproportionately negative impact of its content moderation on Palestinians for years. Therefore, even if the bias started out as unintentional, after knowing about the issues for years and not taking appropriate action, the unintentional became intentional.

Furthermore, though BSR accurately identified many root causes of the over-enforcement of content moderation on Palestinian and Arabic content, they have underestimated the role of the Israeli government. The Israeli cyber unit sends tens of thousands of voluntary content takedown requests annually to Meta, and the company has historically complied around 90% of the time. This is only one example of many that highlights Israel’s special relationship with Meta, despite the extensive documentation and evidence by international, Palestinian and Israeli human rights groups, of Israel’s systematic, multidimensional violation of Palestinian human rights. Israel leverages this relationship to pressure Meta to take down Palestinian content, as Defense Minister Benny Gantz publicly did during the May 2021 uprisings.

In an effort to ensure Meta fulfills its human rights obligations, BSR recommends a series of steps that also align with civil society’s repeated demands on Meta over the years. BSR stated that Meta should reevaluate certain content moderation policies, take substantial action to increase transparency around their content moderation practices and policies, invest in more precise Hebrew and Arabic language content moderation resources, and establish greater clarification around its legal obligations with regards to Foreign Terrorist Organizations and State Designated Global Terrorists. These recommendations are a step in the right direction, and need to be taken seriously by Meta. We call on Meta to provide complete transparency on voluntary content removal requests from the Israeli government, including its Cyber Unit, as well as where and how automated decision making are being used for content moderation, and about content policies related to the classification and moderation of “terrorism” and “extremism”.

In addition to the report’s recommendations, 7amleh’s racism and hate speech index between 6th to the 21st May 2021 showed a 15-fold increase in violent speech compared to the same time period of the previous year. Thus, Meta must improve their Hebrew language content moderation by creating a Hebrew hate speech lexicon.

Finally, these recommendations will only be successfully implemented if Meta truly commits to a co-design process with civil society, as well as if it provides a detailed timeline for exactly how they will commit to, and implement these recommendations in full transparency and in line with the United Nations Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights. Meta has stated that it is committed to co-design, therefore, we stand ready to work with them and we urge Meta to start the process as early as possible.

Signatures

  1. 7amleh- The Arab Center for the Advancement of Social Media
  2. Access Now
  3. Mnemonic
  4. Makan
  5. SMEX
  6. Fight for the Future
  7. Kandoo
  8. American Muslims for Palestine (AMP)
  9. Platform of French NGOs for Palestine
  10. IFEX
  11. Ranking Digital Rights
  12. Visualizing Palestine
  13. The Palestinian Initiative for the Promotion of Global Dialogue and Democracy – MIFTAH
  14. Kayan Feminist organization
  15. Women Against Violence
  16. Council for Arab-British Understanding
  17. Nederlands Palestina Komitee (NPK)
  18. National Students for Justice in Palestine (NSJP)
  19. Vigilance for Democracy and the Civic State, Tunisia
  20. Institute for Middle East Understanding
  21. The Palestinian NGOs Network (PNGO)
  22. The Jerusalem Legal Aid and Human Rights Center-
  23. Women Media and Development
  24. Al-Haq
  25. Palestinian vision
  26. The Arab Culture Association
  27. Arab Resource & Organizing Center (AROC)
  28. NOVACT
  29. Palestinian Youth Association for Leadership & Rights Activation- PYALARA
  30. Community Media Centre
  31. U.S. Palestinian Community Network (USPCN)
  32. Electronic Frontier Foundation
  33. Defence for Children International
  34. Palestinian Center for policy research and strategic studies-MASARATtegic
  35. Association Belgo-Palestinienne WB
  36. Agriculture development association
  37. Association France Palestine Solidarité (AFPS)
  38. Cairo Institute for Human Rights Studies
  39. The International Centre of Justice for Palestinians (ICJP)
  40. SOCIAL AND ECONOMIC POLICIES MONITOR (AL-MARSAD)
  41. H&R Legal Office
  42. The East Jerusalem YMCA
  43. Media Matters for Democracy
  44. The Palestinian Coalition for the Economic, social, and cultural rights – Adala
  45. YWCA-Palestine
  46. Nisaa Broadcasting Radio Company
  47. Pcs
  48. Arab American University
  49. May First Movement Technology
  50. Kairos Palestine
  51. Burj Alluqluq Social Center Society
  52. Jordan Open Source Association
  53. Palestinian Counseling Center (PCC)
  54. The Community Action Center / Al-Quds University
  55. SumOfUs
  56. Center for Constitutional Rights
  57. Eyewitness Palestine
  58. CODEPINK
  59. Red en Defensa de los Derechos Digitales (R3D)
  60. MediaJustice
  61. Union juive française pour la paix
  62. Adalah Justice Project
  63. Action Center on Race & the Economy
  64. Human Rights Watch
  65. Palestinian Observatory for Fact-Checking and Media Literacy “Tahaqaq”
  66. Addameer Prisoner Support and Human Rights Association
  67. Association “Pour Jérusalem”
  68. The Right to Education Campaign – Birzeit University
  69. ECCP – European Coordination of Committees and Associations for Palestine
  70. Comité pour une Paix Juste au Proche-Orient, Luxembourg
  71. Ireland-Palestine Solidarity Campaign
  72. Association for Progressive Communications – APC

This post is also available in: العربية

Share this Post

Palestinian Return Centre

أكثر من 70 منظمة ترحب بتوصيات الفحص الخاص بسياسات إدارة المحتوى لشركة META المتعلقة  بفلسطين وإسرائيل وتطالب بتبنيها

In البرنامج الدولي لحماية حقوق الإنسان, دول عربية by CIHRS

نحن، منظمات حقوق الإنسان والمجتمع المدني الموقعة أدناه، نرحب بنشر تقرير العناية الواجبة  ذات الصلة بحقوق الإنسان حول آثار ميتا في إسرائيل وفلسطين في مايو 2021، من قبل شبكة “أعمال من أجل مسؤولية مجتمعية” العالمية والمعروفة بـ BSR. لسنوات، طالبت منظمات الحقوق الرقمية وحقوق الإنسان، بمراجعة مستقلة لسياسات إدارة المحتوى لمنصات شركة “ميتا” (Meta)، حيث جاءت هذه الدعوات نتيجة ممارسات “ميتا” (Meta) المستمرة والمتعمدة لفرض رقابة على أصوات وروايات الفلسطينيين/ات والمتضامنين/ات معهم. وبالتالي، حرمان الفلسطينيين/ات من حقهم في حرية التعبير، وحقهم في التجمع والتنظيم والمشاركة السياسية وعدم التمييز، مما يساهم في زيادة تشويه فهم المجتمع الدولي لما يحدث في فلسطين.

نقدر جهود ومهنية شبكة “أعمال من أجل مسؤولية مجتمعية” (BSR) من خلال التقييم والمراجعة المستقلة خصوصاً فيما يتعلق بإشراك أصحاب المصلحة المحليين والإقليميين والدوليين وأصحاب الحقوق خلال عملية المراجعة. ونرى أن إطلاق تقرير العناية الواجبة يعد خطوة في الاتجاه الصحيح. والأهم من ذلك، أننا نتطلع إلى التزام “ميتا” بتنفيذ توصيات هذا التقرير. وبشكل عام، فإننا ندعو “ميتا” إلى اتخاذ إجراءات حاسمة لحماية أصوات الفلسطينيين/ات ضمن الشعوب والمجموعات المضطهدة الأخرى حول العالم.

تقدم النتائج التي توصلت إليها (BSR) دليلًا إضافيًا على ممارسة ميتا الرقابة والإدارة المفرطة على المحتوى العربي مقارنة بالمحتوى العبري، حيث لا تمارس الرقابة المطلوبة على المحتوى المنشور باللغة العبرية. بحسب (BSR) فإن سبب عدم ممارسة الرقابة المطلوبة على المحتوى العبري يعود إلى “عدم وجود مصنف للمحتوى العبري”، وقد وثق مركز حملة هذه المشاكل على مدار سنوات. علاوة على ذلك، يشير التقرير إلى الأثر السلبي على حقوق الإنسان وعلى حق الفلسطينيين/ات في حرية الرأي والتعبير، وحقهم في التجمع والتنظيم والمشاركة السياسية وعدم التمييز. حيث وجدت (BSR) أيضًا دليلًا على سياسات وممارسات ميتا التي تؤدي إلى نتائج متحيزة، مما يؤثر سلبًا على المستخدمين/ات الفلسطينيين/ات والناطقين/ات بالعربية.

على الرغم من دعمنا للعمل الذي قامت به (BSR)، إلا أن هناك بعض المحاذير التي من شأنها أن تساعد ميتا في معالجة هذه المشكلات بشكل أكثر منهجية. أولاً، يميز (BSR) بين التحيز المتعمد وغير المتعمد، ويذكر أنه وجد فقط دليلًا على التحيز غير المقصود في سياسات وممارسات ميتا. ومع ذلك، فإننا حاولنا مراراً لفت انتباه ميتا إلى التأثير السلبي لسياسات إدارة المحتوى غير المتناسبة على الفلسطينيين/ات. لذلك، حتى لو لم يكن التحيز مقصوداً في البداية، إلا أنه على الرغم من معرفة ميتا للإشكاليات منذ سنوات، إلا أنها لم تتخذ إجراءات مناسبة حيال ذلك، وعليه أصبح الغير مقصود مقصودًا.

بالرغم من أن (BSR) حددت بدقة العديد من الأسباب الجذرية للإفراط في إنفاذ سياسات إدارة المحتوى على المحتوى الفلسطيني والعربي، إلا أنها قللت من أهمية الدور الذي تمارسه الحكومة الإسرائيلية، حيث ترسل وحد السايبر الإسرائيلية عشرات آلاف طلبات إزالة المحتوى الطوعية سنويًا إلى ميتا، حيث استجابت الشركة إلى حوالي 90٪ من هذه الطلبات. يعدّ هذا مجرد مثال واحد من أمثلة عديدة تسلط الضوء على علاقة إسرائيل الخاصة مع ميتا، وعلى الرغم من التوثيق والأدلة المكثفة من قبل مجموعات حقوق الإنسان الدولية والفلسطينية والإسرائيلية، على انتهاك إسرائيل الممنهج والمتعدد الأبعاد لحقوق الإنسان الفلسطيني، إلا أن إسرائيل تستفيد من هذه العلاقة للضغط على ميتا لإزالة المحتوى الفلسطيني، كما فعل وزير الجيش بيني غانتس علنًا خلال هبة أيار/مايو 2021.

في محاولة لضمان وفاء “ميتا” بالتزاماتها في مجال حقوق الإنسان، توصي (BSR) بسلسلة من الخطوات التي تتوافق أيضًا مع مطالب المجتمع المدني المتكررة منذ سنوات. ذكرت (BSR) أنه يجب على ميتا إعادة تقييم بعض سياسات إدارة المحتوى، واتخاذ إجراءات جوهرية لزيادة الشفافية حول ممارسات وسياسات إدارة المحتوى، والاستثمار في موارد أكثر دقة للإشراف على المحتوى باللغتين العبرية والعربية، وتقديم توضيح أكبر حول التزاماتها القانونية فيما يتعلق بالمنظمات الأجنبية الإرهابية والأفراد الخطيرون. نعتبر هذه التوصيات خطوة في الاتجاه الصحيح، والتي يجب على ميتا أن تأخذها بشكل جدّي. ندعو ميتا إلى الالتزام بالشفافية الكاملة بشأن طلبات إزالة المحتوى الطوعية من الحكومة الإسرائيلية، بما في ذلك وحدة السايبر التابعة لها، بالإضافة إلى آلية وكيفية توظيف صنع القرار الآلي لإدارة المحتوى، إضافة لسياسات المحتوى المتعلقة بتصنيف وإدارة المحتوى “الإرهابي” و “المتطرف”.

بالإضافة إلى توصيات التقرير، فقد أظهر مؤشر العنصرية والتحريض الذي أصدره مركز حملة أنه في الفترة  بين 6 و 21 أيار/مايو 2021 تضاعف الخطاب العنيف ضد العرب في شبكات التواصل الاجتماعي بمقدار 15 ضعفًا مقارنة بالفترة الزمنية نفسها من العام السابق. مما يشير إلى ضرورة اتخاذ ميتا إجراءات لتحسين إدارة المحتوى باللغة العبرية من خلال إنشاء قاموس لخطاب الكراهية العبري.

أخيرًا، لضمان تنفيذ هذه التوصيات بشكل ناجح، على ميتا الالتزام بالتصميم المشترك مع المجتمع المدني، وكذلك عليها توفير إطار زمني مفصل لكيفية التزامها بتنفيذ التوصيات بشفافية كاملة وبما يتماشى مع مبادئ الأمم المتحدة التوجيهية بشأن الأعمال التجارية وحقوق الإنسان. وفي ظل ما صرحت به ميتا حول التزامها بالتصميم المشترك، فنحن على استعداد للتعاون، كما أننا ندعو ميتا إلى البدء في هذه الإجراءات في أقرب وقت ممكن.

المؤسسات الموقعة:

  1. حملة – المركز العربي لتطوير الإعلام الاجتماعي
  2. أكسس ناو
  3. نيمونيك
  4. مكان
  5. سمكس
  6. كافح من أجل المستقبل
  7. كندو
  8. مسلمون أمريكيون من أجل فلسطين
  9. منصة المنظمات الأهلية الفرنسية من أجل فلسطين
  10. آيفكس
  11. ترتيب الحقوق الرقمية
  12. تصور فلسطين
  13. المبادرة الفلسطينية لتعميق الحوار العالمي والديموقراطية – مفتاح
  14. كيان – تنظيم نسوي
  15. نساء ضد العنف
  16. مجلس التفاهم العربي – البريطاني
  17. اللجنة الهولندية الفلسطينية
  18. طلبة وطنيون من أجل العدالة في فلسطين
  19. يقظة من أجل الديمقراطية والدولة المدنية ، تونس
  20. معهد فهم الشرق الأوسط
  21. شبكة المنظمات الأهلية الفلسطينية (PNGO)
  22. مركز القدس للمساعدة القانونية وحقوق الإنسان (JLAC)
  23. تنمية وإعلام المرأة
  24. مؤسسة الحق
  25. الرؤيا الفلسطينية
  26. جمعية الثقافة العربية
  27. المركز العربي للتنظيم والموارد
  28. نوفاكت
  29. بيالارا
  30. Community Media Centre
  31. شبكة المجتمع الفلسطيني الأمريكي (USPCN)
  32. الحركة الدولية للدفاع عن الأطفال
  33. مسارات
  34. Association Belgo-Palestinienne WB
  35. الإغاثة الزراعية
  36. جمعية التضامن الفرنسي مع فلسطين (AFPS)
  37. مركز القاهرة لدراسات حقوق الإنسان
  38. The International Centre of Justice for Palestinians (ICJP)
  39. المرصد
  40. H&R Legal Office
  41. The East Jerusalem YMCA
  42. Media Matters for Democracy
  43. عدالة – المركز القانوني لحماية حقوق الأقلية العربية
  44. YWCA-Palestine
  45. شركة نساء للبث الاذاعي
  46. Pcs
  47. الجامعة العربية الأمريكية
  48. May First Movement Technology
  49. Kairos Palestine
  50. جمعية برج اللقلق المجتمعي
  51. جوسا
  52. المركز الفلسطينية للإرشاد
  53. مركز العمل المجتمعي- جامعة القدس
  54. SumOfUs
  55. Center for Constitutional Rights
  56. Eyewitness Palestine
  57. CODEPINK
  58. Red en Defensa de los Derechos Digitales (R3D)
  59. MediaJustice
  60. Union juive française pour la paix
  61. Adalah Justice Project
  62. Action Center on Race & the Economy
  63. هيومن رايتس ووتش
  64. كاشف – المرصد الفلسطيني للتحقق والتربية الاعلامية
  65. مؤسسة الضمير لرعاية الاسير وحقوق الانسان
  66. Association “Pour Jérusalem”
  67. حملة الحق في التعليم – جامعة بيرزيت
  68. ECCP – European Coordination of Committees and Associations for Palestine
  69. Comité pour une Paix Juste au Proche-Orient, Luxembourg
  70. Ireland-Palestine Solidarity Campaign
  71. Association for Progressive Communications – APC

هذه المقالة متاحة أيضًا بـ: English

Share this Post