Palestine: Israeli Apartheid Must be Rejected by African States

In Arab Countries, International Advocacy Program by CIHRS

24 September 2021 – Amid growing international recognition that Israel is committing the crime of apartheid, 21 Palestinian, African, and regional human rights organizations, including the Cairo Institute for Human Rights Studies (CIHRS), sent a letter to African missions during the 48th regular session of the United Nations Human Rights Council (HRC). The organizations expressed their deepest concern regarding the recent accreditation of Israel as an observer state to the African Union (AU) and called on states to recognize the reality of Israeli apartheid and continue to lead the struggle against institutionalized racial discrimination by taking effective measures to address Israel’s apartheid regime and protect the rights of the Palestinian people.

The African Union should reject the adoption of Israel as an observer state and condemn the Israeli apartheid

Your Excellency,

The undersigned organizations wish to express their deepest concern regarding the recent accreditation of Israel as an observer state to the African Union (AU). At the UN Human Rights Council (the Council), the leadership of the African Group has been at the forefront of the fight against institutionalized racism and enabled the adoption of HRC resolution 47/21, a historic resolution which established an independent international expert mechanism to address systemic racism and to promote racial justice and equality for Africans and people of African descent. Given the history of struggle against colonialism across the African continent and against apartheid in South Africa and Namibia and the AU’s longstanding principled position of solidarity with the Palestinian people, the AU should be leading the fight against institutionalized racial domination and oppression and not reward Israel, an apartheid state, with a privileged status.

For decades, Israel has entrenched its institutionalized oppression of the Palestinian people and the colonization of Palestine, facilitated by the prolonged occupation of Palestinian territory, illegal annexation of Palestinian land, and the unlawful transfer and erasure of the Palestinian people. Israel has failed to respect, protect, and fulfill the basic rights of Palestinians on both sides of the Green Line and as refugees and exiles abroad denied the right of return.

Following more than a decade of work by Palestinian, regional, and international civil society on the question of apartheid, there has been increasing international recognition that Israel has established and continues to maintain an apartheid regime over the Palestinian people as a whole by UN bodies, UN Special Procedures and states. On 12 December 2019, the UN Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination (CERD) recognized the continuity of Israeli policies and practices that violate article 3 of the International Convention on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination(ICERD) which pertains to racial segregation and apartheid, as disproportionately impacting Palestinians on both sides of the Green Line.[1] On 16 June 2020, in an unprecedented move, 47 UN Special Procedures mandates warned that Israel’s plans for annexation of the West Bank “would be the crystallization of an already unjust reality: two peoples living in the same space, ruled by the same state, but with profoundly unequal rights. This is a vision of a 21st century apartheid.”[2]

Since the 43rd Human Rights Council session, at least 9 states have addressed Israeli apartheid during discussions taking place at the Council, including Palestine, South Africa, Namibia, Tunisia, Iran, Lebanon, Malaysia, Pakistan, and Qatar. Moreover, the Organization of the Islamic Conference (OIC), made up of 57 member states with 28 from Africa, has also addressed Israeli apartheid in its statements at the Council.

Most recently, the Council recognized the need to address root causes of the situation in Palestine by passing an historic resolution establishing a standing Commission of Inquiry tasked with investigating on both sides of the Green Line “all alleged violations and abuses of international human rights law leading up to and since 13 April 2021, and all underlying root causes of recurrent tensions, instability and protraction of conflict, including systematic discrimination and repression based on national, ethnic, racial, or religious identity.”

Considering this mounting international recognition and Israel’s continued entrenchment of apartheid, our organizations call on you to:

  1. Object to the accreditation and push for a rejection without a vote of Israel’s observer status in the AU;
  2. Support the work of the newly established Commission of Inquiry as it begins its investigations into violations on both sides of the Green Line and the root causes of the situation in Palestine, including systematic racial discrimination and repression;
  3. Recognize and condemn Israel’s apartheid regime, including in statements to the Council and other fora;
  4. Adhere to your obligations under the International Convention on the Suppression and Punishment of the Crime of Apartheid and ratify the Convention if you have not done so;
  5. Call for and support the reconstitution of the UN Special Committee against Apartheid and the UN Centre against Apartheid to address Israel’s commission of the crime of apartheid.

Signatories:

  1. Cairo Institute for Human Rights Studies (CIHRS) –
  2. Addameer Prisoner Support and Human Rights Association – Palestine
  3. Al-Haq – Palestine
  4. Al Mezan Centre for Human Rights – Palestine
  5. Center for Defense of Liberties & Civil Rights – Palestine
  6. Civic Coalition for Palestinian Rights in Jerusalem
  7. Housing and Land Rights Network – Habitat International Coalition
  8. Human Rights & Democracy Media Center (SHAMS) – Palestine
  9. International Service for Human Rights (ISHR)
  10. Kenya Human Rights Commission
  11. Kenya Palestine Solidarity Network
  12. Palestinian Centre for Human Rights (PCHR) – Palestine
  13. Palestinian Human Rights Organizations Council (PHROC)
  14. Palestinian Solidarity Alliance – South Africa
  15. Palestine Solidarity Campaign – South Africa
  16. South African BDS Coalition
  17. South African Jews for a Free Palestine
  18. The Community Action Center/Al-Quds – Palestine
  19. The Palestinian Initiative for the Promotion of Global Dialogue and Democracy (MIFTAH) – Palestine
  20. Women’s Centre for Legal Aid and Counseling – Palestine
  21. West African Human Rights Defenders’ Network (ROADDH/WAHRDN) – Togo

[1] Al-Haq, “Human rights organizations welcome Concluding Observations of the UN Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination on racial segregation and apartheid on both sides of the Green Line,” 21 December 2019: http://www.alhaq.org/advocacy/16324.html.

[2] OHCHR, “Israeli annexation of parts of the Palestinian West Bank would break international law – UN experts call on the international community to ensure accountability,” 16 June 2020:  https://www.ohchr.org/EN/NewsEvents/Pages/DisplayNews.aspx?NewsID=25960&LangID=E.

This post is also available in: العربية

Share this Post

فلسطين: يجب على الاتحاد الإفريقي عدم مكافأة إسرائيل بمنحها مكانة مميزة

In البرنامج الدولي لحماية حقوق الإنسان, دول عربية by CIHRS

وسط تنامي الاعتراف الدولي بارتكاب إسرائيل لجريمة الفصل العنصري، أرسلت 21 منظمة حقوقية إقليمية وفلسطينية وإفريقية خطابًا إلى البعثات الأفريقية على هامش الجلسة الـ48 لمجلس حقوق الإنسان بالأمم المتحدة. وأعربت المنظمات في الخطاب عن قلقها العميق بشأن اعتماد إسرائيل كدولة مراقبة لدى الاتحاد الأفريقي، داعيةً الدول الأفريقية للاعتراف بواقع الفصل العنصري الإسرائيلي، ومواصلة قيادة الكفاح ضد التمييز العنصري المؤسسي باتخاذ تدابير فعالة للتصدي لنظام الفصل العنصري الإسرائيلي، وحماية حقوق الشعب الفلسطيني.

على الاتحاد الإفريقي رفض اعتماد إسرائيل كدولة مراقبة وإدانة نظام الفصل العنصري الإسرائيلي

 

صاحب السعادة،

تعرب المنظمات الحقوقية الموقعة أدناه عن قلقها البالغ إزاء اعتماد إسرائيل مؤخرًا كدولة مراقبة في الاتحاد الأفريقي. وتشير في الوقت ذاته، للدور التاريخي والمؤثر الذي مارسته قيادة المجموعة الأفريقية في طليعة الكفاح ضد العنصرية المؤسسية بمجلس حقوق الإنسان في الأمم المتحدة؛ إذ مكّنت هذه القيادة من اعتماد قرار مجلس حقوق الإنسان رقم 47/21، والذي يقضي بتشكيل آلية خبراء دولية مستقلة للتصدي للعنصرية المنهجية وتعزيز العدالة العرقية والمساواة للمواطنين الأفارقة والمنحدرين من أصل أفريقي. ونظرًا لتاريخ النضال ضد الاستعمار في جميع أنحاء القارة الأفريقية، وكذلك ضد الفصل العنصري في جنوب إفريقيا وناميبيا، والموقف المبدئي الراسخ للاتحاد الأفريقي للتضامن مع الشعب الفلسطيني؛ يتعين على الاتحاد الأفريقي مواصلة ريادته في الوقوف ضد الهيمنة العنصرية المؤسسية والقمع، وعدم مكافأة إسرائيل، دولة الفصل العنصري، بمنحها مكانة مميزة.

فعلى مدى عقود، رسخت إسرائيل قمعها المؤسسي للشعب الفلسطيني، عبر الاحتلال المطول والضم غير القانوني للأراضي الفلسطينية، والنقل غير القانوني للشعب الفلسطيني ومحاولات تقسيمه. كما أثبتت فشلها في احترام وحماية وإعمال الحقوق الأساسية للفلسطينيين على جانبي الخط الأخضر، فضلًا عن حرمان لللاجئين والمنفيين في الخارج من حقهم الأصيل في العودة.

وبعد مرور أكثر من عقد على مساعي المجتمع المدني الفلسطيني والإقليمي والدولي لمواجهة الفصل العنصري الإسرائيلي، تنامى الاعتراف الدولي بأن إسرائيل قد أسست ولا تزال تحافظ على نظام فصل عنصري بحق كامل الشعب الفلسطيني. ويشمل هذا الاعتراف الدولي هيئات الأمم المتحدة والإجراءات الخاصة للأمم المتحدة والدول الأعضاء.

ففي 12 ديسمبر 2019، أقرت لجنة الأمم المتحدة للقضاء على التمييز العنصري باستمرار السياسات والممارسات الإسرائيلية التي تنتهك المادة 3 من الاتفاقية الدولية للقضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز العنصري، والتي تتعلق بالتمييز والفصل العنصريين، إذ تؤثر بشكل غير متناسب على الفلسطينيين على جانبي الخط الأخضر.[1] وفي 16 يونيو 2020، في خطوة غير مسبوقة، حذر 47 من أصحاب الولايات من الإجراءات الخاصة للأمم المتحدة من أن خطط إسرائيل لضم الضفة الغربية «ستكون بلورة لواقع ظالم بالفعل: شعبان يعيشان على الأرض نفسها، وتحكمهما الدولة نفسها، ولكن مع حقوق غير متساوية على الإطلاق. وهذا هو جوهر الفصل العنصري في القرن الحادي والعشرين».[2]

ومنذ الجلسة الـ43 لمجلس حقوق الإنسان، ناقشت 9 دول على الأقل الفصل العنصري الإسرائيلي خلال المداولات في المجلس، ومن بينها فلسطين وجنوب إفريقيا وناميبيا وتونس وإيران ولبنان وماليزيا وباكستان وقطر. وعلاوة على ذلك، تناولت منظمة المؤتمر الإسلامي التي تضم 57 دولة عضوا منها 28 دولة أفريقية، الفصل العنصري الإسرائيلي في بياناتها أمام المجلس.

ومؤخرًا، أقر مجلس حقوق الإنسان بضرورة معالجة الأسباب الجذرية للوضع في فلسطين عن طريق تمرير قرار تاريخي بتشكيل لجنة دائمة مكلفة بالتحقيق في «جميع الانتهاكات والتجاوزات المزعومة للقانون الدولي لحقوق الإنسان التي سبقت ومن 13 أبريل 2021، وجميع الأسباب الجذرية الكامنة وراء التوترات المتكررة وعدم الاستقرار وإطالة أمد النزاع، بما في ذلك التمييز والقمع المنهجي على أساس الهوية القومية أو الإثنية أو العرقية أو الدينية».

وفي ضوء الاعتراف الدولي المتزايد بهذه الجريمة من جهة، ومواصلة إسرائيل ترسيخ الفصل العنصري من جهة أخرى، تدعوكم المنظمات الموقعة إلى:

  1. الاعتراض على اعتماد القرار الخاص لمنح إسرائيل صفة مراقب في الاتحاد الأفريقي، والضغط من أجل رفضه دون تصويت.
  2. دعم عمل لجنة التحقيق المشكلة حديثًا تزامنًا مع بدء تحقيقاتها في الانتهاكات على جانبي الخط الأخضر والأسباب الجذرية للوضع في فلسطين، بما في ذلك التمييز العنصري والقمع المنهجي.
  3. إدانة نظام الفصل العنصري الإسرائيلي، بما في ذلك من خلال البيانات الموجهة لمجلس حقوق الإنسان والهيئات الأممية الأخرى.
  4. التقيد بالتزامات الاتحاد الإفريقي، بموجب الاتفاقية الدولية لقمع جريمة الفصل العنصري والمعاقبة عليها، وتصديق دوله الأعضاء على هذه الاتفاقية إذا لم تكن قد فعلت ذلك؛
  5. دعم إعادة تشكيل لجنة الأمم المتحدة الخاصة لمناهضة الفصل العنصري، ومركز الأمم المتحدة لمناهضة الفصل العنصري، لمحاولة التصدي لجريمة الفصل العنصري التي ترتكبها إسرائيل.

المنظمات الموقعة:

  1. مركز القاهرة لدراسات حقوق الإنسان
  2. مؤسسة الضمير لرعاية الأسير وحقوق الإنسان ، فلسطين
  3. مؤسسة الحق/ فلسطين
  4. مركز الميزان لحقوق الإنسان، فلسطين
  5. مركز الدفاع عن الحريات والحقوق المدنية، فلسطين
  6. الائتلاف الأهلي لحقوق الفلسطينيين في القدس
  7. شبكة حقوق الأرض والسكن – التحالف الدولي للموئل
  8. مركز إعلام حقوق الإنسان والديمقراطية شمس، فلسطين
  9. الخدمة الدولية لحقوق الإنسان
  10. لجنة حقوق الإنسان الكينية
  11. شبكة تضامن كينيا وفلسطين
  12. المركز الفلسطيني لحقوق الإنسان‎، فلسطين
  13. مجلس منظمات حقوق الإنسان الفلسطينية
  14. تحالف التضامن الفلسطيني – جنوب إفريقيا
  15. حملة التضامن مع فلسطين – جنوب افريقيا
  16. يهود جنوب إفريقيا من أجل فلسطين حرة
  17. مركز العمل المجتمعي – جامعة القدس، فلسطين
  18. المبادرة الفلسطينية لتعميق الحوار العالمي و الديمقراطية، مفتاح، فلسطين
  19. مركز المرأة للإرشاد القانوني والاجتماعي ، فلسطين
  20. شبكة المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان في غرب إفريقيا (ROADDH / WAHRDN) – توغو
  21. South African BDS Coalition

[1] الحق، «منظمات حقوق الإنسان ترحب بالملاحظات الختامية للجنة القضاء على التمييز العنصري بشأن الفصل العنصري (الأبارتهايد) على جانبي الخط الأخضر» 21 ديسمبر 2019: https://www.alhaq.org/ar/advocacy/16324.html
[2] مكتب المفوضية السامية لحقوق الإنسان، «خبراء الأمم المتحدة يطالبون المجتمع الدولي بمساءلة إسرائيل عن ضمّها أجزاء من الضفة الغربية الفلسطينية لانتهاكها القانون الدولي»، 16 يونيو 2020: https://www.ohchr.org/AR/NewsEvents/Pages/DisplayNews.aspx?NewsID=25960&LangID=A

This post is also available in: English

Share this Post