New report exposes billions in European financial support to companies in illegal Israeli settlements

In Arab Countries, International Advocacy Program by CIHRS

672 European financial institutions have financial relationships with 50 businesses that are actively involved with illegal Israeli settlements. These financial institutions provided US$ 114 billion in the form of loans and underwritings and held investments to the amount of US$ 141 billion in shares and bonds of these companies. This is the key finding of a new research report published today by a cross-regional coalition of Palestinian and European NGOs, which looked at financial flows between January 2018 and May 2021.

The “Don’t Buy into Occupation” (DBIO) coalition is a joint project between 25 Palestinian, regional and European organisations based in Belgium, France, Ireland, the Netherlands, Norway, Spain, the United Kingdom (UK) and Tunisia. The coalition investigates the financial relationships between businesses involved in the illegal Israeli settlement enterprise in the Occupied Palestinian Territory (OPT) and European Financial Institutions (FIs).[1]

Providing economic oxygen

Israeli settlements are illegal under international law and constitute acts which incur individual criminal liability as war crimes and crimes against humanity under the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court (ICC). Yet European financial institutions continue to invest billions into companies that are actively involved with the Israeli settlement enterprise.

Research by the DBIO coalition shows that between 2018 and May 2021, 672 European financial institutions, including banks, asset managers, insurance companies, and pension funds, had financial relationships with 50 businesses that are actively involved with Israeli settlements.[2] US$ 114 billion was provided in the form of loans and underwritings. As of May 2021, European investors also held US$ 141 billion in shares and bonds of these companies.

These businesses and financial institutions play a critical role in facilitating the economic viability growth of the Israeli settlement enterprise. As the UN Special Rapporteur on the situation of  human rights in the Palestinian Territory occupied since 1967, Michael Lynk, writes in a foreword to the DBIO report: “The involvement of these corporations with the settlements – through investments, banking loans, resource extraction, infrastructure contracts and equipment and product supply agreements – provides them with the indispensable economic oxygen they require to grow and thrive.”

Corporate responsibility

These businesses, creditors and investors have a responsibility to ensure that they are not involved in violations of international law and are not complicit in international crimes, and to address any adverse human rights impacts arising from their business activities and financial relationships.

Companies are expected to have a rapid response and to consider responsible disengagement. International financial institutions, including banks and pension funds, have a responsibility to use their leverage to ensure their investee companies act responsibly and in line with international law standards, and to divest from those who are unable or unwilling to do so.

Recently, several financial institutions and companies have taken up their responsibility by divesting from business enterprises linked to Israeli settlements. The two most recent and important examples are those of Kommunal Landspensjonskasse (KLP) and the Norwegian Government Pension Fund Global (GPFG). KLP is Norway’s largest pensions company, who in July 2021, divested from 16 companies linked to Israel’s settlement enterprise. In a similar vein, GPFG announced in September 2021 that it will exclude three companies that are actively involved with Israeli settlements. The 19 companies excluded by KLP and GPFG were listed in the UN database of businesses involved in certain activities relating to Israeli settlements in the OPT, mandated by the Human Rights Council in 2016, and published in February 2020.

“Despite the illegal nature of Israeli settlements under international law, European financial institutions continue to throw a financial lifeline to companies operating in the settlements. European financial institutions should take up their responsibility and follow the example of KLP and GPFG. They should end all investments and financial flows into Israeli settlements, and not buy into the Israeli occupation”, concludes Willem Staes, coordinator of the DBIO coalition.

Read the full report here


[1] DBIO member organisations are : 11.11.11- Koepel van de Internationale Solidariteit; Al-Haq; Association France Palestine Solidarité (AFPS); Banktrack; Cairo Institute for Human Rights Studies (CIHRS); Centrale nationale des employés (CNE); Centre National de Coopération au Développement (CNCD-11.11.11); European Coordination of Committees and Associations for Palestine (ECCP); European Legal Support Center (ELSC); European Trade Union Network for Justice in Palestine (ETUN); Fagforbundet- Norwegian Union of Municipal and General Employees; Fairfin; Handel og Kontor i Norge (HK Norway); Intersindical Alternativa de Catalunya (IAC); Intal; International Federation for Human Rights (FIDH); Landsorganisasjonen i Norge (LO Norway); Norwegian People’s Aid (NPA); NOVACT – Institut Internacional per l’Acció Noviolenta; Palestinian Institute for Public Diplomacy (PIPD); Palestine Solidarity Campaign; PAX; SUDS; The Rights Forum; and Trócaire.

[2] The 50 companies for which this research found financial relationships with European financial institutions, are: ACS Group, Airbnb, Alstom, Altice Europe, Ashtrom Group, Atlas Copco, Bank Hapoalim, Bank Leumi, Bezeq Group, Booking Holdings, Construcciones y Auxiliar de Ferrocarriles (CAF), Caterpillar, Cellcom Israel, Cemex, CETCO Mineral Technology Group, Cisco Systems, CNH Industrial, Delek Group, Delta Galil Industries, DXC Technology, eDreams ODIGEO, Elbit Systems, Electra Group, Energix Renewable Energies, Expedia Group, First International Bank of Israel (FIBI), General Mills, HeidelbergCement, Hewlett Packard Enterprise (HPE), Israel Discount Bank, Magal Security Systems, MAN Group, Manitou Group, Matrix IT, Mivne Group, Mizrahi Tefahot Bank, Motorola Solutions, Partner Communications Company, Paz Oil Company, Rami Levy Chain Stores Hashikma Marketing 2006, RE/MAX Holdings, Shapir Engineering and Industry, Shikun & Binui, Shufersal, Siemens, Solvay, Terex Corporation, Tripadvisor, Volvo Group, and WSP Global.
The report shows investments in a company at the group level, regardless of other activities or the percentage of turnover it derives from settlement-related activities. It is impossible for a financial institution to be sure that the financial services it provides to a company will not be used for activities linked to the settlement enterprise.

This post is also available in: العربية

Share this Post

تقرير جديد يكشف عن مليارات الدولارات من الدعم المالي الأوروبي للشركات العاملة مع المستوطنات الإسرائيلية غير القانونية

In البرنامج الدولي لحماية حقوق الإنسان, دول عربية by CIHRS

«تملك 672 مؤسسة مالية أوروبية علاقات مالية مع 50 شركة ضالعة بالعمل مع المستوطنات الإسرائيلية غير القانونية، تم منحها 114 مليار دولار أمريكي في شكل قروض واكتتابات. واعتبارًا من مايو 2021، يصبح إجمالي قيمة الأسهم والسندات التي يمتلكها المستثمرون الأوروبيون في هذه الشركات 141 مليار دولار» كان هذا هو الاستنتاج الرئيسي لتقرير بحثي جديد نشره في 29 سبتمبر 2021 ائتلاف (لا تساهم في تمويل الاحتلال) والذي يعد تحالف عبر إقليمي يضم 25 منظمة حقوقية فلسطينية وإقليمية وأوروبية، مقرها بلجيكا وفرنسا وإيرلندا وهولندا والنرويج وإسبانيا والمملكة المتحدة وتونس.

التقرير الذي جاء بعنوان (فضح التدفقات المالية للمستوطنات الإسرائيلية) ركز على التحقيق في العلاقات المالية بين الشركات الضالعة في مشروع الاستيطان الإسرائيلي غير القانوني في الأرض الفلسطينية المحتلّة، وبين المؤسسات المالية الأوروبية، معتمدًا على المراجعة والتدقيق لمصادر التدفّقات المالية لهذه الشركات، في الفترة بين يناير 2018 ومايو 2021.

 الأكسجين الاقتصادي

تعدّ المستوطنات الإسرائيلية غير قانونية بموجب القانون الدولي، وتشكل أفعالاً ذات مسئولية جنائية فردية كجرائم الحرب والجرائم ضد الإنسانية، بموجب نظام روما الأساسي للمحكمة الجنائية الدولية. ورغم ثبوت عدم شرعيتها، إلّا أن المؤسسات المالية الأوروبية مستمرّة في استثمار المليارات مع الشركات المنخرطة بالعمل في مشروع الاستيطان الإسرائيلي.

فبحسب التقرير الذي أعده ائتلاف (لا تساهم في تمويل الاحتلال)، تبين أنه بين عامي 2018 و2021، كان لـ 672 مؤسسة مالية أوروبية، بما في ذلك البنوك ومديري الأصول وشركات التأمين وصناديق التقاعد، علاقات مالية مع 50 شركة تعمل مع المستوطنات الإسرائيلية. وقد حصلت هذه الشركات على 114 مليار دولار أمريكي في شكل قروض واكتتابات. واعتبارًا من مايو 2021، يصبح إجمالي قيمة الأسهم والسندات التي يمتلكها المستثمرون الأوروبيون في هذه الشركات 141 مليار دولار.”

لهذه الشركات والمؤسسات المالية دور مهم في تسهيل النمو الاقتصادي المستدام لمشروع الاستيطان الإسرائيلي. إذ أشار المقرر الأممي الخاص المعني بحالة حقوق الإنسان في الأراضي الفلسطينية المحتلة منذ عام 1967، مايكل لينك، في مقدمة التقرير: “إنّ مشاركة هذه الشركات في المستوطنات – من خلال الاستثمارات والقروض المصرفية واستخراج الموارد، وعقود البنية التحتية واتفاقيات توريد المعدات والمنتجات – تزودهم بالأكسجين الاقتصادي الذي لا غنى عنه، والذي يحتاجونه للنمو والازدهار.

مسئولية الشركات

تقع على عاتق هذه الشركات والدائنين والمستثمرين مسئولية ضمان عدم التورط في انتهاكات القانون الدولي وعدم التواطؤ في الجرائم الدولية، ومعالجة أي آثار سلبية على حقوق الإنسان تنشأ نتيجة أنشطتهم التجارية وعلاقاتهم المالية. ومن المتوقع أن يكون لدى هذه الشركات استجابة سريعة وأن تنظر في فك هذا الارتباط مع المشروع الاستيطاني.

إذ تتحمّل المؤسسات المالية الدولية، بما في ذلك البنوك وصناديق المعاشات التقاعدية، مسئولية استخدام نفوذها لضمان أن تتصرف الشركات محل استثمارها بمسئولية، وبما يتماشى مع معايير القانون الدولي، وأن تفكّ الارتباط مع هذه الشركات طالما لم تستطع أو لم ترغب في ذلك.

ففي الآونة الأخيرة، تحمّلت العديد من المؤسسات والشركات المالية مسئوليتها وسحبت استثماراتها من الشركات التجارية المرتبطة بالمستوطنات الإسرائيلية. ويعدّ المثالان الأحدث والأكثر أهمية هما شركة Kommunal Landspensjonskasse (KLP) والصندوق العالمي للمعاشات التقاعدية للحكومة النرويجية (GPFG).

شركة KLP، هي أكبر شركة معاشات تقاعدية في النرويج، والتي تخلت في يوليو 2021 عن 16 شركة بمشروع الاستيطان الإسرائيلي. وفي سياق مماثل، أعلنت مجموعة GPFG في سبتمبر 2021 أنها ستستبعد 3 شركات منخرطة بالعمل مع المستوطنات الإسرائيلية، بعد ادراجهم في قاعدة بيانات الأمم المتحدة بشأن الشركات العاملة في المستوطنات، والتي ضمت أسماء الشركات الـ 19 المستبعدة من قبل KLP وGPFG. قاعدة البيانات أعدها مكتب المفوضية السامية بتفويض من مجلس حقوق الإنسان في 2016، وتم نشرها في فبراير 2020.

يقول ويليم ستايس، منسّق ائتلاف “لا تساهم في تمويل الاحتلال”: “رغم عدم شرعية المستوطنات الإسرائيلية بموجب القانون الدولي، إلّا أنّ المؤسسات المالية الأوروبية لا زالت تمدّ الشركات العاملة في المستوطنات بشريان الحياة المالي. لذا يجب أن تتحمّل المؤسسات المالية الأوروبية مسئوليتها وأن تحذو حذو KLP وGPFG، كما يجب عليها إنهاء جميع الاستثمارات والتدفقات المالية إلى المستوطنات الإسرائيلية، وعدم المساهمة في تمويل الاحتلال الإسرائيلي“.

للاطلاع على ملخص التقرير والتوصيات هنا

يمكن الاطلاع على التقرير كاملًا باللغة الإنجليزية هنا


[1] المنظمات الأعضاء في ائتلاف “لا تساهم في تمويل الاحتلال” هي:
11.11.11- Koepel van de Internationale Solidariteit، مؤسسة الحق، جمعية التضامن الفرنسي مع فلسطين (AFPS)، Banktrack، مركز القاهرة لدراسات حقوق الإنسان(CIHRS)، Centrale nationale des Employés (CNE)، المركز الوطني للتعاون من أجل التنمية (CNCD-11.11.11)، التنسيق الأوروبي للجان والجمعيات من أجل فلسطين (ECCP)، مركز الدعم القانوني الأوروبي (ELSC)، شبكة النقابات الأوروبية للعدالة في فلسطين (ETUN)، Fagforbundet- الاتحاد النرويجي لموظفي البلديات والعموم، Fairfin، Handel og Kontor i Norge (HK Norway)، Intersindical Alternativa de Catalunya (IAC)، Intal، الفدرالية الدولية لحقوق الإنسان (FIDH)، Landsorganisasjonen i Norge (LO Norway)، مساعدة الشعب النرويجي (NPA)، NOVACT – Institut Internacional per l’Acció Noviolenta ، معهد فلسطين للدبلوماسية العامة (PIPD)، حملة التضامن مع فلسطين، PAX، منتدى الحقوق، Trócaire،SUDS، NOVACT.
[2] الشركات الـ 50 المتورطة في العمل بالمستوطنات، والتي كشف التقرير عن علاقاتها المالية مع مؤسسات مالية أوروبية، هي:
ACS Group, Airbnb, Alstom, Altice Europe, Ashtrom Group, Atlas Copco, Bank Hapoalim, Bank Leumi, Bezeq Group, Booking Holdings, Construcciones y Auxiliar de Ferrocarriles (CAF), Caterpillar, Cellcom Israel, Cemex, CETCO Mineral Technology Group, Cisco Systems, CNH Industrial, Delek Group, Delta Galil Industries, DXC Technology, eDreams ODIGEO, Elbit Systems, Electra Group, Energix Renewable Energies, Expedia Group, First International Bank of Israel (FIBI), General Mills, HeidelbergCement, Hewlett Packard Enterprise (HPE), Israel Discount Bank, Magal Security Systems, MAN Group, Manitou Group, Matrix IT, Mivne Group, Mizrahi Tefahot Bank, Motorola Solutions, Partner Communications Company, Paz Oil Company, Rami Levy Chain Stores Hashikma Marketing 2006, RE/MAX Holdings, Shapir Engineering and Industry, Shikun & Binui, Shufersal, Siemens, Solvay, Terex Corporation, Tripadvisor, Volvo Group, and WSP Global.
[3] يوضح التقرير حجم الاستثمارات في كل شركة على مستوى المجموعة، بغض النظر عن الأنشطة الأخرى أو النسبة المئوية لدورة رأس المال المشتقة من الأنشطة المتعلقة بالمستوطنات الإسرائيلية. من المستحيل على مؤسسة مالية أن تتأكد من أن الخدمات المالية التي تقدمها لشركة ما لن تُستخدم في أنشطة مرتبطة بمشروع الاستيطان الاسرائيلي.

This post is also available in: English

Share this Post