Reuters Marketplace – Hans Lucas Pictures

Algeria: Human Rights Briefing (March – May 2021)

In Arab Countries, International Advocacy Program by Tarek

New assault on independent and civil society forces since resumption of Hirak protests

Since Hirak protests resumed on 26 February 2021, Algerian authorities have clearly escalated repression against peaceful opposition and independent forces, including protesters, human rights defenders, and journalists. At least 5,300 arrests of peaceful protesters have been documented since 22 February 2021. On 14 May, at least 1,000 arrests including 18 journalists were reported - a record number of arrests in one day since February 2019. 

0
Peaceful protesters arrests
0
Arrests in one day

Since February 2021, at least 36 journalists have been arrested and/or prosecuted in relation to their work and 15 reported assaults or violent arrests while covering protests. At least 16 online news websites remain inaccessible in Algeria; 6 of them were blocked in the past year. At least 7 human rights defenders have been arbitrarily prosecuted; 4 of them reporting violent arrests or physical assaults. 6 allegations of physical or sexual abuse in detention were made public since February; none of them investigated. 

0
Journalists arrested or prosecuted
0
Inaccessible news website

According to the National Committee for the Liberation of Detainees (CNLD), as of 26 May, there are at least 183 prisoners of opinion currently detained - the highest number since the beginning of the Hirak movement. 86 of them were sentenced to prison terms between 16 and 24 May.

Protesters have reported unnecessary and excessive use of force, including beatings and violent arrests, most recently on 14 May. Authorities have repeatedly obstructed protests. To allow their release, the police have demanded that protesters sign a formal written pledge that they will not participate in other protests. 

0
Prisoners of opinion currently detained
0
Prisoners of opinion sentenced to prison

On 9 May, signalling a further increase in the criminalisation of peaceful protests, the Ministry of Interior released a statement for the first time requiring "prior notification" for the holding of weekly Hirak marches, requesting organisers to provide their names, itinerary and slogans. Reportedly, protesters have had to change their itinerary (most recently on 7 May in Algiers) to avoid police violence and obstruction.


The legal framework for freedom of assembly remains very restrictive in Algeria. What is called a "prior declaration" in the Constitution and in the law is in practice a prior authorisation, in violation of international standards, and must be submitted by an organisation at least eight days prior to a protest. Illustrating this confusion, on 20 May, the Ministry of Interior denied having received “authorisation requests” for the organisation of protests on 21 May, following reports on social media announcing that authorisations had been requested.



REUTERS/Ramzi Boudina

Most significant human rights violations in Algeria

from March to May 2021

Targeting of prominent civil society organisation

On 26 May, Rally Youth Action (Rassemblement Action Jeunesse – RAJ), a youth and citizenship organisation created in 1993 that was very active in the Hirak protest movement, was notified that the Ministry of the Interior requested its dissolution before the administrative court of Algiers, on the basis that the activities of the organisation are in violation of Law 12/06 governing civil society organisations and contradict the objectives listed in the statutes of the organisation. Its president Abdelouahab Fersaoui on the same day was summoned to report to the central police station in Bejaïa without any reasons specified.

Since the start of the Hirak movement, RAJ has been particularly targeted by authorities. The president of the organisation, Abdelouahab Fersaoui, was sentenced on appeal on 17 May 2020 to six months of prison for "undermining national unity" (Article 79 of the Penal Code) and "inciting to violence" (Art. 74). He was arrested in October 2019 for participating in a gathering in support of Hirak detainees in front of the Sidi M’hamed court (Algiers).

At least eleven other members of the organisation have been prosecuted in 2020 in connection with their civil society work, including Hakim Addad, founding member of RAJ, currently prosecuted in two different cases in relation to peaceful protests and publications in support of the Hirak.

Image
Hakim Addad
Image
Abdelouahab Fersaoui

Members of cultural organisation prosecuted for foreign funding and "subversive" activities

On 20 April 2021, authorities announced the arrest of members of SOS Culture Bab El Oued, a well-known youth and cultural organisation in Algiers, on charges of "foreign funding" and "subversion". According to the authorities, the organisation – identified as a "criminal gang" – received funding "from a great foreign power", and used it "to produce provocative films and documents as well as promotional publications and posters during the Hirak popular marches". According to the CNLD, the president of the organisation is in pre-trial detention since 20 April, while other members are under judicial supervision pending trial. Pursuant to the April 2020 amendments of the Penal Code, the law now provides for a prison sentence of 5 to 24 years for the receipt of foreign funding. 

Journalists assaulted and prosecuted for their work

On 14 May, journalist Djaafer Kheloufi was severely beaten by police while trying to intervene during the brutal arrest of journalist Kenza Khattou. The latter is prosecuted for "undermining national unity", "offence to public bodies" and "inciting an unarmed gathering". On 7 May 2021, in Algiers, journalists Bouzid Ichalalene and Meriem Nait Lounis were reportedly arrested and verbally assaulted by the police. On 30 April 2021, Reporters without Borders condemned a physical assault against journalist Anis Chellouche and an escalation of violence against journalists. On 12 March 2021, 8 journalists were physically assaulted during a protest; that assault has yet to be investigated.

On 10 May 2021, journalist Khellaf Benhedda learned that he had been sentenced in absentia to a fine of 100 000 dinars for "offence to the President".

Image
Kenza Khattou
Image
Djaafer Kheloufi
Image
Anis Chellouche
Image
Khellaf Benhedda

On 21 April 2021, Noureddine Tounsi was sentenced on appeal to one year in prison in connection with his investigative work with the Platform for the Protection of Whistleblowers in Africa (PPLAAF). Journalist Rabah Kareche was arrested on 18 April 2021 following the publication of an article he wrote covering peaceful protests. He is prosecuted for inciting discrimination and hatred, voluntary dissemination of false information susceptible to endanger public order and undermining security and national unity.

Journalist Mustapha Bendjama, who has been repeatedly summoned, arrested and prosecuted in at least six different cases for charges such as “offence to public bodies” and “undermining national unity”, was summoned again on 7 April and on 25 May 2021 by an investigating judge.

On the prosecution and reported violence against journalists Said Boudour and Jamila Loukil – see section above on terrorism charges brought against human rights defenders.

Image
Noureddine Tounsi
Image
Rabah Kareche
Image
Mustapha Bendjama
Image
Said Boudour

Opposition party and leaders arbitrarily targeted ahead of legislative elections

Tahar Missoum, former member of the National Popular Assembly and candidate to the April 2019 presidential election, was sentenced on 6 May to two years in prison and a fine of 300,000 dinars, in an expedited trial, for offence to the President and inciting to an unarmed gathering, based on critical public declarations and videos. Political opponent Karim Tabbou was also arrested again on 28 April and is now under judicial supervision. 

On 17 May, political activist Ouahid Benhalla, member of the leadership of the Democratic and Social Movement (MDS), was sentenced to one year in prison by the Bainem court (Algiers) after his arrest on 14 May while he was joining a demonstration (he was arrested while getting off a bus on his way to a protest). Fellow party members Fethi Ghares, Messaouda Cheballah and Hassan Mebtouche were also arrested but released on the same day. 


REUTERS/Ramzi Boudina

On 22 April 2021, the Ministry of the Interior announced legal action against opposition party Union for Change and Progress (UCP), headed by lawyer and political activist Zoubida Assoul, for "illegal activity" due to a lack of legal status and non-compliance with the legislation. The UCP denied these accusations, declaring that they have respected all the provisions of law 12-04 on political parties. On 2 May, the Interior Ministry announced they had requested that the Council of State temporarily suspend the UCP, pending a legal ruling on its outright dissolution.

On 22 May, the Socialist Workers' Party (PST) announced that authorities had launched summary proceedings to suspend the party temporarily and to close its offices. On 23 April, they denounced "legal and administrative pressures" in the run-up to elections. 

The MDS, UCP and PST, among other parties, announced their boycott of the June parliamentary elections. 

Human rights defenders arbitrarily prosecuted, including for terrorism

On 29 April, human rights defender and trade unionist Kaddour Chouicha, and human rights defenders and journalists Jamila Loukil and Said Boudour were prosecuted in a new criminal case, for charges which included “enrolment in a terrorist or subversive organisation active abroad or in Algeria”. The case also includes at least 12 other peaceful protesters and activists. If convicted, they may be sentenced to the death penalty.

This new terrorism related case constitutes a dangerous escalation in attacks against journalists, human rights defenders and the Hirak protest movement itself, and appears to be related to the individuals’ peaceful and legitimate human rights work.

On 8 May, the father of one of the protesters prosecuted in the case, Yasser Rouibah, declared in a video that his son was tortured, beaten, stripped and urinated on in detention.

Prior to this case, Said Boudour, Jamila Loukil and Kaddour Chouicha had been repeatedly subjected to arbitrary detention and prosecution, amounting to judicial harassment. On 12 March, Chouicha and his son were beaten during a protest, and one police officer tried to strangle the former. Chouicha and Loukil also claim they were violently arrested on 4 April. Boudour claims he was physically assaulted during his arrest on 23 April. 

Image
Kaddour Chouicha
Image
Jamila Loukil
Image
Dalila Touat
Image
Djamal Lalileche

Other cases of prosecuted human rights defenders:

  • Workers' rights defender and trade unionist Dalila Touat, recently sentenced, was summoned and interrogated by police on 4 May 2021, and was among those arrested on 14 May. 
  • Following his arrest on 3 May 2021, human rights defender Djamal Lalileche is currently being prosecuted for offence to public bodies, publication of information to endanger security and public order, incitation to unarmed gathering, undermining national unity, and displaying publications that undermine national interest. He was not given access to a lawyer during his first hearing before the public prosecutor. 

Lack of investigation and arbitrary targeting of activists for abuse and sexual assault in detention

On 30 March 2021, the Algerian League for the Defence of Human Rights (LADDH) reiterated its call for independent investigations into several allegations of torture, sexual abuse and ill-treatment against Hirak protesters that have surfaced in the last couple of months; for instance, against student Walid Nekkiche, and activists Sami Dernouni, Nabil Bousekkine, Ayoub Chahetou and Saïd Chetouane (15 years old).

On 4 and 5 April 2021, five peaceful Hirak activists were arbitrarily arrested and prosecuted – for charges such as “criminal conspiracy”, “dissemination of false information” and “incitement to debauchery” – after they relayed videos of protester Said Chetouane, 15 years old, in which he claims to have been sexually assaulted in detention. A public prosecutor publicly launched baseless and homophobic accusations against them (accusing them of being paedophiles, homosexuals, and consumers of drugs and pornography) and discredited Chetouane's allegations. On 27 April, reportedly on the day that Chetouane was going to submit a complaint for sexual assault, he was arrested for his participation in a protest, and was subsequently placed in a child protection centre without informing his mother. He was hospitalised as his health severely deteriorated after he carried out a hunger strike in protest. 


Ayoub Chahetou, arrested on 26 March 2021 during a demonstration, was prosecuted for "destruction of state public property". During his trial, he stated that he was raped inside a police station. He was sentenced to six months of prison on 18 May. Although the prosecution announced a preliminary investigation, as of 25 May, his lawyers had not yet been informed of any steps taken in that investigation. 

Sami Dernouni’s lawyers claimed on 2 March 2021 that he had been victim of torture while detained by the Directorate-General for Internal Security (DGSI). On 3 May 2021, Dernouni was sentenced to one year of prison and a one-year suspended sentence in relation to his peaceful activism, for charges including “incitement to gathering”, “undermining the integrity of the national territory” and “undermining national security”.

Student and peaceful demonstrator Walid Nekkiche declared during trial on 1 February 2021 that he had been subjected to physical, sexual and psychological abuse in detention. Nekkiche was sentenced to six months in prison, following his participation in a student march in November 2019, after fourteen months in pre-trial detention. His lawyers lodged a complaint for torture on 23 July 2020. Media reported that a military tribunal will be in charge of the investigation, raising concerns as to its impartiality; while neither Nekkiche nor his lawyers have been informed of any investigation.

Criminalisation of free ideas and debate, including on religion

On 23 April, renowned academic and expert in Sufi Islam Saïd Djabelkhir was sentenced to three years of prison and a fine of 50,000 Algerian dinars for "offence to the precepts of Islam" (Article 144bis 2 of the Penal Code), based on online publications about Islamic rituals and theology. He remains free until the appeal verdict. On 6 May, he learned through the press that his appeal trial had been postponed from 5 May to 2 June; neither him nor his lawyers were ever informed of the proceedings of the case, and he claims he was never heard or summoned by the prosecution.

On 4 May 2021, activist and gynaecologist Amira Bouraoui was sentenced on appeal to four years of prison in two cases. She remains free pending a verdict in cassation. In a first case, she was convicted of ‘offence to a civil servant’, ‘offence to the President’, and ‘sharing false information susceptible to undermining public order’ for publications in which she criticised the way authorities handled the pandemic. In a second case, she was convicted of undermining the precepts of Islam, for online posts in which she criticised a religious figure. 

Image
Saïd Djabelkhir
Image
Amira Bouraoui

On 22 March 2021, a five-year prison sentence against Hamid Soudad was confirmed in Oran, for relaying a caricature of the Prophet of Islam on social media in 2018.

On 27 February, Rachid Seghir, pastor in charge of the Protestant church in Oran, and one of his associates, Nouh Hamimi, were sentenced in absentia to two years in prison and a fine of 500,000 dinars for “proselytism” and “undermining the faith of a Muslim” (ordinance 06-03) following the discovery of Christian religious books in their bookstore, back in September 2017, which was subsequently closed by authorities. 

Calling into question the right to defence

On 28 March 2021, the Supreme Court accepted an appeal on the unconstitutionality of Article 24 of the Statute of Lawyers. According to Article 24, "a lawyer in the exercise of their profession cannot be prosecuted for their actions, declarations and writings in the context of the debates or pleadings in court. They shall enjoy absolute protection and confidentiality of relations between themselves and their clients, the guarantee of the secrecy of their files and correspondence, and the right to accept or refuse a client". 

Article 24, in line with international conventions such as the UN Basic Principles on the Role of Lawyers (Art.20), ensures the immunity of lawyers during the exercise of their function and is fundamental to protecting them from all forms of pressure and guaranteeing the right to defence. A review of Article 24 would clearly threaten the right to defence, despite it being enshrined in the Constitution (Art. 175). 

Arbitrary sanctioning or prosecution of members of the judiciary

On 30 May, judge Saad Eddine Merzouk, president of the Club of Free Magistrates (an unregistered union), was disbarred following a disciplinary hearing before the Superior Judicial Council. He was accused of inciting a strike in October 2019 and of "obstructing legal proceedings and violating the obligation of reserve", based on social media publications in support of judicial independence.

Deputy Prosecutor Mohamed Belhadi is also subject to the same disciplinary procedure for posting a picture of himself with Judge Merzouk, considered a violation of the obligation of reserve and a serious professional misconduct. Prior to this, in February 2020, prosecutor Belhadi was arbitrarily transferred 600km south of Algiers, after he requested the acquittal of sixteen protesters.

On 5 April 2021, Mourad Ghedia, court clerk and trade unionist currently suspended, and president of the National Federation of Justice Sector Workers, was placed in detention pending trial on 1 June. He is prosecuted for "continuing to exercise a job after dismissal and arrest", "interfering in public and civil functions", "using a legally regulated professional title without fulfilling its conditions", “displaying pamphlets that would undermine national interest” and “incitement to unarmed gathering”. Ghedia was previously suspended for nearly three years for his participation in a strike, then reinstated and suspended again in 2018.

On 11 April 2021, Belkacem Maza, court clerk and human rights defender, suspended since 17 September 2020, was sentenced to a six-month suspended prison sentence and a fine of 100,000 dinars for offending public bodies (Art.144 of the Penal Code) and discrediting court decisions (Art. 147), based on his participation in Hirak demonstrations. 

Image
Saad Eddine Merzouk
Image
Mourad Ghedia

Repression has increased drastically and a more assertive public position from states is crucial to protecting Algerians peacefully exercising their rights to freedom of expression, association and assembly. We believe this intensifying crackdown meets the criteria for the UN HRC to take urgent action, as set forth by Ireland in 2016. The time is now for UN member states to address the increasing criminalisation of freedom of association, peaceful assembly and expression in Algeria.

This post is also available in: العربية

Share this Post

Reuters Marketplace – Hans Lucas Pictures

الجزائر: تحديث موجز لأبرز الانتهاكات الحقوقية «مارس – مايو 2021»

In البرنامج الدولي لحماية حقوق الإنسان, دول عربية by CIHRS

بعد تجدد احتجاجات الحراك، موجة اعتداءات جديدة على قوى المجتمع المدني المستقلة

منذ استئناف احتجاجات الحراك في 26 فبراير 2021، صعّدت السلطات الجزائرية قمعها بشكل ملحوظ بحق المعارضة السلمية والقوى المستقلة، بما في ذلك المحتجين والمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان والصحفيين. ومنذ 22 فبراير 2021، تم توثيق ما لا يقل عن 5300 حالة اعتقال لمحتجين سلميين. وفي 14 مايو، وردت أنباء عن اعتقال ما لا يقل عن 1000 شخصًا، من بينهم 18 صحفيًا – فيما يعد رقمًا قياسيًا لعدد المعتقلين في يوم واحد منذ اندلاع احتجاجات الحراك في فبراير 2019.
0
اعتقال لمحتجين سلميين
0
اعتقال في يوم واحد
منذ فبراير 2021، تعرض 36 صحفيًا للاعتقال و/أو المحاكمة نتيجة لممارسة عملهم، فضلًا عن 15 اعتداء أو اعتقال عنيف أثناء تغطيتهم للاحتجاجات. وحتى الآن تم حجب ما يزيد عن 16 موقعًا إلكترونيًا إخباريًا في الجزائر؛ من بينها 6 تم حظرها خلال العام الماضي. كما تعرض ما لا يقل عن 7 مدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان لمحاكمات تعسفية؛ بينهم 4 أبلغوا عن تعرضهم لاعتقال عنيف أو اعتداء بدني. كما وردت 6 ادعاءات بالتعرض لاعتداء بدني أو جنسي في الاحتجاز؛ لم يُحقق في أي منها.
0
صحفي تعرض للإعتقال أو المحاكمة
0
موقع إلكتروني إخباري محجوب
ووفقًا للجنة الوطنية لتحرير المعتقلين، تواجد ما لا يقل عن 183 سجين رأي قيد الاحتجاز حتى 26 مايو، وهو أعلى رقم منذ اندلاع احتجاجات الحراك، وحُكم على 86 منهم بالسجن خلال الفترة من 16 إلى 24 مايو. كما أبلغ المحتجون عن استخدام مفرط وغير ضروري للقوة، بما يتضمن الضرب والاعتقال العنيف، كان آخرها في 14 مايو. كما دأبت السلطات على عرقلة الاحتجاجات بشكل متكرر. وفي سبيل السماح بإطلاق سراح المحتجين المعتقلين؛ طالبتهم الشرطة بتوقيع تعهدات رسمية مكتوبة بعدم مشاركتهم في أية احتجاجات مستقبلية.
0
سجين رأي قيد الاحتجاز
0
سجين رأي حُكم بالسجن
في 9 مايو، وفيما يعد إشارة لمزيد من تجريم الاحتجاجات السلمية، أصدرت وزارة الداخلية بيانًا تطلب فيه للمرة الأولى «تصريحات مسبقة» لتنظيم مسيرات الحراك، وطلبت من المنظمين تقديم أسمائهم، ومسار المسيرات، وشعاراتها. ووفقًا لما ورد، غيّر المنظمون مسار مسيراتهم (خرجت آخر المسيرات في 7 مايو في الجزائر العاصمة)؛ لتجنب عنف وعرقلة الشرطة.

لا يزال الإطار القانوني لحرية التجمع خاضعًا لقيود شديدة في الجزائر؛ فما اعتبره الدستور والقانون «تصريحات مسبقة»، هو في واقع الممارسة العملية «بترخيص مسبق»، بما ينتهك المعايير الدولية، إذ يتوجب على المنظمين تقديمه قبل 8 أيام على الأقل من المسيرة. وفي سبيل توضيح هذا الالتباس، نفت وزارة الداخلية في 20 مايو استلامها «طلبات ترخيص» بشأن تنظيم احتجاج في 21 مايو، وذلك في أعقاب تقارير على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي تعلن طلب التراخيص.


رويترز / رمزي بودينة

أبرز الانتهاكات الحقوقية التي شهدتها الجزائر

خلال الفترة من مارس حتى مايو 2021

استهداف منظمات المجتمع المدني البارزة

في 26 مايو، تم إخطار الجمعية الوطنية للشباب (راج)، وهي منظمة للمواطنة والشباب تأسست في 1993، والمعروفة بانخراطها في الحراك، أن وزارة الداخلية طلبت حلها أمام المحكمة الإدارية في الجزائر العاصمة، بدعوى مخالفة أنشطة المنظمة للقانون 12/06 الخاص بتنظيم عمل المجتمع المدني، وتعارض أنشطتها مع الأهداف الواردة في النظام الأساسي للجمعية. وفي اليوم نفسه، تلقى رئيس الجمعية عبد الوهاب فرساوي استدعاءً للحضور أمام مركز الشرطة الرئيسي في بجاية، دون توضيح الأسباب.

منذ بداية الحراك، استهدفت السلطات الجمعية الوطنية للشباب بشكل خاص. وحُكم على رئيسها عبد الوهاب فرساوي بالسجن 6 أشهر، أثناء نظر الاستئناف في 17 مايو 2020، على خلفية اتهامات بــ «تقويض الوحدة الوطنية» (المادة 79 من قانون العقوبات) و«التحريض على العنف» (المادة 74). يُذكر أن فرساوي قد اعتقل في أكتوبر 2019؛ بسبب مشاركته في تجمع لدعم معتقلي الحراك أمام محكمة سيدي محمد بالجزائر العاصمة. كما تمت محاكمة ما لا يقل عن 11 آخرين من أعضاء الجمعية في 2020، بسبب عملهم في المجتمع المدني، ومن بينهم حكيم عداد، العضو المؤسس لراج، والذي يُحاكَم حاليًا في قضيتين مختلفتين، تتعلقان بالاحتجاجات السلمية والمنشورات الداعمة للحراك.

Image
حكيم عداد
Image
عبد الوهاب فرساوي

محاكمة أعضاء في منظمة ثقافية لتلقيهم تمويلًا أجنبيًا والقيام بأنشطة «تخريبية»

في 20 أبريل 2021، أعلنت السلطات القبض على أعضاء جمعية (أس أو أس/باب الواد) الثقافية، وهي جمعية شبابية وثقافية معروفة في الجزائر العاصمة، على خلفية تهم تتعلق بـتلقي «تمويلًا أجنبيًا» و«التخريب». ووفقًا للسلطات، تلقت الجمعية –التي صُنفت كـ «عصابة إجرامية»– أموالًا من«قوة أجنبية كبرى»، واستخدمتها في «إنتاج أفلام ووثائق استفزازية بالإضافة إلى منشورات وملصقات دعائية خلال مسيرات الحراك الشعبية».

وفقًا للجنة الوطنية لتحرير المعتقلين، يخضع رئيس الجمعية للحبس الاحتياطي منذ 20 أبريل، بينما لا يزال الأعضاء الآخرون قيد الإشراف القضائي في انتظار المحاكمة. وفي أعقاب التعديلات على قانون العقوبات خلال أبريل 2020؛ ينص القانون على عقوبة السجن من 5 سنوات إلى 24 سنة كعقوبة تلقي أموالًا أجنبية.

الاعتداء على صحفيين ومحاكمتهم بسبب القيام بعملهم

في 14 مايو، تعرض الصحفي جعفر خلوفي للضرب المبرح من الشرطة، أثناء محاولته التدخل لوقف الاعتقال الوحشي للصحفية كنزة خاطو، والتي تُحاكم بتهم «تقويض الوحدة الوطنية» و«الإساءة إلى هيئات عامة» و«التحريض على التجمع غير المسلح». في 7 مايو 2021، وردت أنباء عن اعتقال الصحفيين بوزيد شلالين ومريم نايت لونيس وتعرضهما لاعتداءات لفظية من الشرطة. وفي 30 أبريل 2021، أدانت منظمة مراسلون بلا حدود الاعتداء الجسدي بحق الصحفي أنيس شلوش وتصعيد قوات الأمن للعنف بحق الصحفيين. وفي 12 مارس 2021، تعرض 8 صحفيين للاعتداء البدني أثناء احتجاج؛ ولم يتم التحقيق حتى الآن في هذا الاعتداء. وفي 10 مايو 2021، علم الصحفي خلاف بن حدة تلقيه حكمًا غيابيًا بغرامة قدرها 100 ألف دينار بتهمة «الإساءة إلى رئيس الجمهورية».

Image
كنزة خاطو
Image
جعفر خلوفي
Image
أنيس شلوش
Image
خلاف بن حدة

في 21 أبريل 2021، حُكم على نور الدين تونسي أثناء نظر الاستئناف بالسجن لمدة عام، بسبب عمله الاستقصائي مع منصة حماية المُبلغين في أفريقيا. كما أُلقي القبض على الصحفي رابح كراش في 18 أبريل 2021، عقب نشره مقالًا يتناول الاحتجاجات السلمية. وتمت محاكمته بتهم التحريض على التمييز والكراهية، ونشره طواعية لمعلومات كاذبة من شأنها تعريض النظام العام للخطر وتقويض الأمن والوحدة الوطنية.

مؤخرًا اعتُقل الصحفي مصطفى بن جمعة، والذي دأبت السلطات على استدعائه بشكل متكرر، وحوكم في ستة قضايا على الأقل، بتهم «الإساءة إلى الهيئات العامة» و«تقويض الوحدة الوطنية»، كما تلقي استدعاءات من قاضي التحقيق في 7 أبريل و25 مايو 2021 على التوالي.

وفيما يتعلق بالإفادات حول المحاكمات والعنف بحق الصحفيين سعيد بودور وجميلة الوكيل – نستعرض في القسم أدناه تهم الإرهاب الموجهة بحق المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان.

Image
نور الدين تونسي
Image
رابح كراش
Image
مصطفى بن جمعة
Image
سعيد بودور

الاستهداف التعسفي لقادة وأحزاب المعارضة قبل الانتخابات التشريعية

في 6 مايو، حُكم على طاهر ميسوم، العضو السابق بالتجمع الشعبي الوطني والمرشح للانتخابات الرئاسية في أبريل 2019، بالسجن لسنتين وغرامة 300 ألف دينار، وذلك أعقاب محاكمة عاجلة بتهم الإساءة لرئيس الجمهورية والتحريض على تجمع غير مسلح، استنادًا إلى تصريحات ومقاطع فيديو ناقدة علنية. كما اعتُقل المعارض السياسي كريم طابو مجددًا في 28 أبريل، والذي يخضع حاليًا للإشراف القضائي.

في 17 مايو، أصدرت محكمة بنيام بالجزائر العاصمة حكمًا بالسجن لمدة سنة على الناشط السياسي وحيد بن هلا، العضو في قيادة الحركة الديمقراطية والاجتماعية، عقب اعتقاله في 14 مايو بينما كان في طريقة للمشاركة في مظاهرة –تم اعتقاله خلال نزوله من حافلة في طريقه للمظاهرة. كما اعتُقل أعضاء أخرين بالحزب، وهم فتحي غراس ومسعودة شبالة وحسن مبطوش، وأطلق سراحهم لاحقًا في اليوم نفسه.


رويترز / رمزي بودينة

في 22 أبريل 2021، أعلنت وزارة الداخلية اتخاذها إجراءات قانونية ضد حزب الاتحاد من أجل التغيير والتقدم المعارض، برئاسة المحامية والناشطة السياسية زبيدة عسول؛ بسبب «نشاط غير قانوني» يتمثل في الافتقار لوضعية قانونية وعدم الامتثال للقانون. وقد أنكر الحزب هذه الاتهامات، معلنًا احترامه لأحكام القانون 12-04 الخاص بالأحزاب السياسية. وفي 4 مايو، أعلنت وزارة الداخلية مطالبتها مجلس الدولة بتجميد نشاط الحزب، ولا يزال الحزب في انتظار الحكم القانوني لحله بشكل نهائي.

وفي 22 مايو، أعلن حزب العمال الاشتراكي شروع السلطات في اتخاذ إجراءات لتجميد أنشطته مؤقتًا، وإغلاق مكاتبه. يُذكر أن الحزب قد أدان في 23 أبريل «التدابير الإدارية والقانونية» في الفترة السابقة للانتخابات. وفي سياق متصل أعلنت قيادة الحركة الديمقراطية والاجتماعية وحزب الاتحاد من أجل التغيير والتقدم المعارض وحزب العمال الاشتراكي، من بين أحزاب أخرى، عن مقاطعة الانتخابات البرلمانية المقرر عقدها في يونيو الجاري.

محاكمات تعسفية للمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان، تتضمن تهمًا تتعلق بالإرهاب

في 29 أبريل، تمت محاكمة كل من المدافع عن حقوق الإنسان والناشط النقابي قدور شويشة، والمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان والصحفيين جميلة الوكيل وسعيد بودور، في قضية جنائية جديدة، بتهم تتضمن «الانضمام لمنظمة إرهابية أو تخريبية نشطة في الخارج أو في الجزائر». وتضم القضية أيضًا 12 متظاهرًا وناشطًا سلميًا آخرين. ويواجه المتهمون خطر الحكم بالإعدام إذا ما تمت إدانتهم. هذه القضية الجديدة المتعلقة بالإرهاب تُمثّل تصعيدًا خطيرًا في الهجوم على الصحفيين والمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان والحراك ذاته، وتبدو أنها متعلقة بعمل الأشخاص السلمي والشرعي في مجال حقوق الإنسان.

في 8 مايو، أعلن والد ياسر رويبة، أحد المحتجين الذين تمت محاكمتهم في هذه القضية، في مقطع فيديو عن تعرض ابنه للتعذيب والضرب والتجريد من ملابسه والتبول في الحجز.

ومن الجدير بالذكر أنه قبل هذه القضية، تعرض كل من جميلة الوكيل وسعيد بودور وقدور شويشة، وبشكل متكرر، للاعتقال والمحاكمة بشكل تعسفي. وفي 12 مارس، تعرض شويشة وابنه للضرب المبرح أثناء احتجاج، كما حاول أحد ضباط الشرطة خنق الأول. ويزعم كلا من شويشة والوكيل تعرضهما لاعتقال عنيف في 4 أبريل، بينما يزعم بودور تعرضه لاعتداء بدني أثناء اعتقاله في 23 أبريل.

Image
قدور شويشة
Image
جميلة الوكيل
Image
دليلة توات
Image
جمال ليشي

قضايا أخرى يُحاكم فيها مدافعون عن حقوق الإنسان:

  • مؤخرًا حُكم على المدافعة عن حقوق العمال والنقابية دليلة توات، وكانت الشرطة قد استدعتها وحققت معها في 4 مايو 2021، كما كانت من بين المعتقلين في 14 مايو.
  • في أعقاب اعتقاله في 3 مايو 2021، يُحاكَم حاليًا المدافع عن حقوق الإنسان جمال ليشي بتهم الإساءة إلى هيئات عامة، ونشر معلومات من شأنها تعريض الأمن والنظام العام للخطر، والتحريض على تجمع غير مسلح، وتقويض الوحدة الوطنية، وعرض منشورات من شأنها تقويض المصلحة العامة. وأثناء جلسة الاستماع الأولى أمام النائب العام، حُرم من حقه في الوصول لمحام.

تجاهل التحقيق في الاعتداءات الجنسية والانتهاكات في الاحتجاز والاستهداف التعسفي للنشطاء

في 30 مارس 2021، كررت الرابطة الجزائرية لحقوق الإنسان مطالبتها بإجراء تحقيق مستقل، في مزاعم التعذيب والاعتداء الجنسي وسوء المعاملة، بحق متظاهري الحراك، والتي ظهرت للعلن خلال الشهرين السابقين. على سبيل المثال، ضد كل من الطالب وليد نكيش والنشطاء سامي درنوني ونبيل بوسكين وأيوب شحتو والقاصر سعيد شطوان (15 عامًا).

في 4 و5 أبريل 2021، تعرض 5 من نشطاء الحراك السلميين -محمد تجاديت، مالك الرياحي، صهيب باجي، نور الدين محمود، طارق باجي، صادق لويل- للاعتقال والمحاكمة بشكل تعسفي –بتهم منها «المؤامرة الجنائية» و«نشر معلومات كاذبة» و«التحريض على الفجور»– بعدما تداولوا مقاطع فيديو للمتظاهر سعيد شطوان (15 عامًا)، يزعم فيها تعرضه للاعتداء الجنسي أثناء احتجازه. وأطلق النائب العام ضدهم اتهامات علنية لا أساس لها (بأنهم يشتهون الأطفال جنسيًا، ومثليون، بالإضافة إلى استعمال المواد المخدرة والإباحية) رافضًا مزاعم شطوان. وفي 27 أبريل، تواردت الأنباء عن اعتقال شطوان في اليوم نفسه الذي ذهب فيه لتقديم شكوى تتعلق بتعرضه للاعتداء الجنسي، بدعوى مشاركته في احتجاج، وأعقب ذلك إيداعه في مركز لحماية الطفل دون إبلاغ والدته. ولاحقًا، نُقل شطوان للمستشفى نتيجة التدهور الحاد في وضعه الصحي، بعدما أضرب عن الطعام احتجاجًا على ما يتعرض له.


في 26 مارس 2021، اعُتقل أيوب شحتو، أثناء مشاركته في مظاهرة، بتهمة «تدمير ممتلكات عامة». وأعلن شحتو أثناء محاكمته عن تعرضه للاغتصاب داخل قسم الشرطة. وفي 18 مايو، حُكم عليه بالسجن لمدة 6 أشهر. وأعلنت النيابة عن أجراءها تحقيق أولي، ولكن حتى 25 مايو، لم يُبلَّغ محاموه باتخاذ أي خطوات في ذلك التحقيق.

وفي سياق متصل، افاد محامو سامي درنوني في 2 مارس 2021، بتعرضه للتعذيب أثناء اعتقال قوات الأمن له. وفي 3 مايو 2021، حُكم على درنوني بالسجن لمدة عام وعام آخر مع إيقاف التنفيذ؛ بسبب نشاطه السلمي، وبتهم تتضمن «التحريض على التجمع» و«تقويض سلامة التراب الوطني» و«تقويض الأمن القومي».

في 1 فبراير 2021، أعلن الطالب والمتظاهر السلمي وليد نكيش أثناء محاكمته عن تعرضه لاعتداءات بدنية وجنسية ونفسية أثناء احتجازه. وحكم على نكيش بالسجن لمدة 6 أشهر، بعدما أمضى 14 شهرًا قيد الحبس الاحتياطي، عقب مشاركته في مسيرة طلابية في نوفمبر 2019. وقدم محاموه شكوى بشأن تعرضه للتعذيب في 23 يوليو 2020. وأفادت وسائل إعلامية بتولي محكمة عسكرية مسئولية التحقيق، الأمر الذي يثير المخاوف بشأن نزاهة المحاكمة؛ مع ذلك، لم يُبلَغ نكيش أو محاموه بأية تحقيقات.

تجريم الأفكار والنقاشات الحرة، بما في ذلك ما يتعلق بالدين

في 23 أبريل، حُكم على الأكاديمي المعروف والخبير في التصوف الإسلامي سعيد جاب الخير بالسجن 3 سنوات وغرامة 50 ألف دينار، بتهمة «الإساءة إلى تعاليم الإسلام» (المادة 144 مكرر من قانون العقوبات)، استنادًا إلى منشورات على الإنترنت حول الشعائر الإسلامية. لا يزال جاب الخير طليقًا حتى تقضي المحكمة في الاستئناف، وفي 6 مايو، نما إلى علمه من خلال الصحافة تأجيل الاستئناف من 5 مايو إلى 7 يونيو؛ ولكن لم يتم إبلاغه هو أو محاموه بإجراءات القضية، ويزعم عدم استدعاؤه أو سماع أقواله أمام النيابة.

في 4 مايو 2021، واجهت الناشطة والطبيبة المتخصصة في أمراض النساء أميرة بوراوي، في مرحلة الاستئناف، حكمًا بالسجن 4 سنوات في قضيتين مختلفتين، بينما تنتظر بوراني الحكم البات من محكمة النقض. في القضية الأولى، حُكم عليها بتهم «الإساءة لموظف عام» و«الإساءة إلى رئيس الجمهورية» و«مشاركة معلومات من شأنها تقويض النظام العام» بسبب منشورات انتقدت فيها كيفية تعامل السلطات مع الجائحة. وفي القضية الثانية، تم الحكم عليها بتهمة تقويض تعاليم الإسلام، بسبب منشورات على الإنترنت انتقدت فيها شخصية دينية.

Image
سعيد جاب الخير
Image
أميرة بوراوي

وفي 22 مايو 2021، تم تأييد الحكم على حميد سداد في وهران بالسجن لمدة 5 سنوات؛ بتهمة تداول رسم كاريكاتوري لنبي الإسلام على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي في 2018.

وفي 27 فبراير، حكم غيابيًا على رشيد الصغير، راعي الكنيسة البروتستانتية في وهران، ومساعده نوح همامي، بالسجن لعامين وغرامة 500 ألف دينار، بتهمتي «التبشير» و«تقويض عقيدة المسلمين» (المرسوم 06-03) في أعقاب اكتشاف كتب دينية مسيحية في محلهما لبيع الكتب، في سبتمبر 2017، قبلما تغلقه السلطات.

الانتقاص من الحق في الدفاع

في 28 مارس 2021، قبلت المحكمة العليا استئنافًا بشأن عدم دستورية المادة 24 من قانون تنظيم مهنة المحاماة، وتنص هذه المادة على أنه «لا يمكن مقاضاة المحامي أثناء ممارسته لمهنته على أفعاله وتصريحاته وكتاباته، سواء في سياق المداولات أو المرافعات في المحكمة. ويتمتع المحامي بالحماية المطلقة وسرية العلاقات بينه وبين موكليه، وضمان سرية ملفاتهم ومراسلاتهم، والحق في قبول أو رفض الموكلين.» وتضمن المادة 24، بما يتماشى مع المبادىء الأساسية للأمم المتحدة بشأن دور المحامين (المادة 20)، حق الحصانة للمحامين أثناء ممارسة وظيفتهم، وهي أساسية لحمايتهم من كافة أشكال الضغوط، وضمانة للحق في الدفاع. ومن الواضح أن مراجعة المادة 24 تمثّل تهديدًا للحق في الدفاع، رغم رسوخه في الدستور (المادة 175).

العقوبات أو المحاكمات التعسفية لأعضاء السلطة القضائية

في 30 مايو 2021، عُزل القاضي سعد الدين مرزوق، رئيس نادي القضاة الأحرار (اتحاد غير مسجل)، بعد خضوعه لجلسة تأديبية أمام المجلس الأعلى للقضاء. وكان مرزوق متهمًا بالتحريض على إضراب في أكتوبر 2019 و«عرقلة الإجراءات القانونية وانتهاك واجب التحفّظ»، على خلفية مشاركته منشورات على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي تدعم استقلال القضاء.

وفي السياق ذاته، يخضع نائب المدعي العام محمد بلهادي للإجراءات التأديبية نفسها أمام المجلس الأعلى للقضاء؛ على خلفية نشره صورته مع القاضي مرزوق، الأمر الذي اعتُبر انتهاكًا لواجب التحفّظ وسوء سلوك مهني جسيم. قبل ذلك، في فبراير 2019، نُقل النائب بلهادي تعسفيًا على بعد 600 كيلومترًا جنوب الجزائر العاصمة، بعدما طلب تبرئة 16 متظاهرًا.

في 5 أبريل 2021، وُضع مراد غدية، كاتب المحكمة والنقابي الموقوف حاليًا ورئيس الاتحاد الوطني لعمال قطاع العدل، قيد الاحتجاز في انتظار محاكمته في 1 يونيو. وتمت محاكمته بتهم«الاستمرار في ممارسة وظيفة بعد الفصل والاعتقال» و«التدخل في الوظائف العامة والمدنية» و«استخدام لقب مهني محدد قانونيًا دون استيفاء شروطه» و«عرض كتيبات من شأنها تقويض المصلحة الوطنية» وأخيرًا «التحريض على التجمع غير المسلح». يُذكر أن هدية قد تعرض للإيقاف عن العمل لثلاث سنوات؛ بسبب مشاركته في إضراب، وأُعيد للعمل قبلما يتم إيقافه مجددًا في 2018.

في 11 أبريل 2021، حُكم على بلقاسم مازا، كاتب المحكمة والمدافع عن حقوق الإنسان، الموقوف منذ 17 سبتمبر 2020، بالحبس 6 أشهر مع وقف التنفيذ وغرامة قدرها 100 ألف دينار، بتهم الإساءة لهيئات عامة (المادة 144 مكرر من قانون العقوبات) وتشويه سمعة قرارات المحكمة (المادة 147)، استنادًا إلى مشاركته في احتجاجات الحراك.

Image
سعد الدين مرزوق
Image
مراد غدية

إن التصاعد الملحوظ لمستوى القمع، يؤكد مدى أهمية اتخاذ الدول موقفًا أكثر حزمًا؛ في سبيل حماية الجزائريين، وحقهم في ممارسة حريتهم في التعبير والتجمع وتكوين الجمعيات بشكل سلمي. لقد حان الوقت لتتصدى الدول الأعضاء بالأمم المتحدة للتجريم المتزايد لحريات التعبير والتجمع السلمي وتكوين الجمعيات في الجزائر. فإننا نعتقد أن حملة القمع المكثفة هذه تنطبق عليها معايير مجلس حقوق الإنسان اللازمة لاتخاذ إجراءات عاجلة، على النحو الذي أوضحته أيسلندا عام 2016.

This post is also available in: English

Share this Post