IMF: Prioritize Social Protection in Egypt Loan Talks

In Egypt /Road Map Program, Statements and Position Papers by CIHRS

New Rights-Respecting Approach Needed in Any New Agreement

The International Monetary Fund (IMF) should ensure that any new loan program with Egypt expands social protection, strengthens judicial independence, and addresses corruption and the need for transparency, including for military-owned businesses, seven organizations said today.

On March 23, 2022, the Egyptian government officially requested support from the IMF to help mitigate the economic fallout related to Russia’s invasion of Ukraine. The IMF since 2016 has approved three loans to Egypt worth a combined US$20 billion.

“Despite $20 billion in lending to Egypt since 2016, the IMF has not achieved the reforms needed to meaningfully address the military’s growing and unaccountable role in the economy or to expand the social safety net to adequately protect people’s economic rights,” said Sarah Saadoun, senior business and human rights researcher at Human Rights Watch. “Progress on badly needed reforms remains elusive, and millions of Egyptians have been left increasingly vulnerable to external shocks in the global economy.”

The IMF and Egyptian authorities should not agree to any loan program that further raises the cost of living without dramatically increasing investment in universal social protection programs to ensure the right to an adequate standard of living, including food, for all.

Even before the pandemic, roughly one in three Egyptians – around 30 million people – lived below the national poverty line, according to CAPMAS, Egypt’s Central Agency for Public Mobilization and Statistics, and just under another third were considered vulnerable, according to the World Bank. Egypt’s two cash transfer programs Takaful (“Solidarity”) and Karama (“Dignity”) cover only about 11 million people, leaving tens of millions living in or near poverty without support even as prices, particularly for food, have dramatically increased.

Takaful supports impoverished families with children under age 18 and is conditioned on school attendance and health screenings, while Karama is an unconditional cash transfer program for low-income people over age 65, people with disabilities, and orphans. Egypt established these programs with World Bank support in 2015 to mitigate the impact of the sweeping economic and fiscal measures it implemented under an IMF agreement between 2016 and 2019. These reforms dramatically drove up the cost of living and increased poverty and inequality.

Expanding the coverage and benefits of these programs is especially important as the government undertakes measures that particularly hurt low-income people. Egypt heavily subsidizes imports of basic foodstuffs to ensure affordable access to food for its more than 102 million residents. But in August 2021, even before the latest price shocks, President Abdel Fattah al-Sisi announced that the decades-old bread subsidy program, which approximately 70 million Egyptians rely on, would be reduced. Last July, the government reduced subsidies for sunflower and soybean oil by 20 percent, and unblended vegetable oil by 23.5 percent because of the strain rising prices placed on the government’s budget.

The pandemic, and more recently, the impact of Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, have greatly exacerbated Egyptians’ economic hardships, reinforcing the importance of significantly expanding the country’s social safety net. Inflation hit 8.8 percent in February, the price shocks stemming from the Ukraine crisis.

Egypt is especially vulnerable to these shocks as the world’s largest importer of wheat, 80 percent of which comes from Ukraine and Russia. The price of unsubsidized bread has increased by 50 percent in Greater Cairo since the start of the invasion, according to media reports. On March 20, Prime Minister Mostafa Madbouly issued a decree that fixed prices for unsubsidized bread as an emergency response to sharply increasing prices.

The government was expected to announce details on how much the bread subsidy will be cut by the end of March, but it is unclear if these plans will go forward given the current crisis.

On March 21, the Finance Ministry announced a raft of emergency measures to mitigate the economic impact of Russia’s invasion, including earmarking an additional EGP 2.7 billion ($148 million) to add 450,000 new families to the Takaful and Karama programs, a 12 percent increase. The measures also increased allocations to each family by 1.5 percent. But the increase is still insufficient to support the millions who remain acutely vulnerable.

In considering measures to increase government revenue, reduce debt, and finance the expansion of social protection, the IMF should look to progressive taxation. A 2016 report by the Egyptian Initiative for Personal Rights, an independent human rights organization, found that the poorest 10 percent of Egyptians spend 6.4 percent of their incomes on a value-added tax (VAT) introduced as part of an IMF program, nearly twice as much as the country’s richest, who spend 3.3 percent. The income tax law passed in April 2020 raised the tax rate on those earning EGP 400,000 ($25,000) or more from 22.5 percent to 25 percent, which is a step in the right direction, but relatively low by international standards.

The IMF should also include measures in any future arrangements with Egypt to restore judicial independence, which is key for economic growth and fighting corruption. Egypt ranked 136 out of 139 countries in the World Justice Project’s Rule of Law Index for 2021, with abysmally low scores in regulatory enforcement, civil justice, and criminal justice factors. Constitutional amendments passed by Egypt’s Parliament in 2019 further undermined judicial independence by granting the president unchecked supervisory powers over the judiciary and the public prosecutor, as well as the authority to appoint the heads of judicial bodies and authorities.

The IMF has previously made advancing judicial independence a key part of its programs, for example, in Ukraine. In February 2021, the IMF withheld the second tranche of a $5 billion loan to Ukraine in part because the government failed to make sufficient progress on judicial reform. Four months later the Ukrainian parliament passed a bill reforming a council that selects and evaluates judges.

It is imperative for the IMF to include robust anti-corruption requirements, such as restoring the independence of Egypt’s Central Auditing Agency. The government has consistently undermined the independence of its own anti-corruption entities and fails to enforce its anti-corruption laws. President al-Sisi issued a decree in July 2015 allowing him to dismiss the heads of a number of regulatory agencies, including the Central Auditing Agency, an independent body designed to act as a corruption watchdog. The law had previously prohibited the president from dismissing these agency heads without cause.

In March 2016, President Sisi fired Hisham Geneina, the head of the Central Auditing Agency, after he reported losses of EGP 600 billion (about $76 billion at that time) between 2012 and 2015 due to government corruption. Later in 2016, a Cairo court convicted Geneina of disseminating false information.

As part of its focus on corruption, the IMF should make explicit that transparency measures related to state-owned enterprises extend to military-owned businesses and it should independently verify that these disclosures are made as part of its reviews. Military-owned businesses lack any independent or civilian oversight, leaving the Egyptian public without access to information necessary to evaluate the costs and beneficiaries of publicly funded projects. A comprehensive 2019 report found that Egypt’s military-owned businesses operate in near-total secrecy, concealing “inefficiencies and hidden losses,” despite capturing “a disproportionate share of public revenues.”

The military’s aggressive economic expansion has gone hand-in-hand with increased political repression, including of members of the business elite who are perceived as political opponents. In December 2020 and February 2021, National Security officers arrested Safwan Thabet and his son, Seif Thabet, owners of the Juhayna Company, a major dairy producer, after they reportedly refused to surrender shares in their company to a state-owned business. The men have been held in solitary confinement ever since. At minimum, the IMF should require transparency about the role of military-owned enterprises in the Egyptian economy.

The issue of transparency is also closely connected to the role of civil society and media – all the more so due to the uncertainty over reliability of official statistics. The IMF should press the Egyptian authorities to reverse the clampdown on freedoms of expression and association by releasing unlawfully jailed journalists, parliamentarians, and human rights defenders as well as reviewing the 2018 conviction of former CAA head Hisham Geneina.

“If the IMF is serious about helping to improve Egypt’s governance and building an economy that works for all Egyptians, it will need to dramatically change its approach,” Timothy Kaldas, policy fellow at the Tahrir Institute for Middle East Policy said. “It can no longer close its eyes to the tens of millions of Egyptians living in poverty and the vast expansion of opaque military dealings in the economy.”

Signatories:

  1. Human Rights Watch
  2. EuroMed Rights
  3. Civil Rights Defenders
  4. The Freedom Initiative
  5. The Tahrir Institute for Middle East Policy (TIMEP)
  6. Project on Middle East Democracy (POMED)
  7. Cairo Institute for Human Rights Studies (CIHRS)

This post is also available in: العربية

Share this Post

على صندوق النقد الدولي وضع الحماية الاجتماعية في أولوياته فيما يخص القرض المصري

In برنامج مصر ..خارطة الطريق, مواقف وبيانات by CIHRS

طالبت 7 منظمات حقوقية «صندوق النقد الدولي» بضمان أن أي برنامج قروض جديد لمصر سيوسع الحماية الاجتماعية، وسيعزز استقلالية القضاء، إلى جانب ضمان تصديه للفساد، ودعم الشفافية، بما يتضمن شركات الجيش. كانت الحكومة المصرية قد تقدمت رسميًا في 23 مارس 2022، بطلب دعم من صندوق النقد الدولي؛ بدعوى المساعدة في تخفيف التداعيات الاقتصادية الناتجة عن الغزو الروسي لأوكرانيا. وكان الصندوق قد وافق، منذ 2016، على 3 قروض لمصر بلغ إجمالي قيمتها 20 مليار دولار أمريكي.

وبحسب سارة سعدون، الباحثة في الأعمال وحقوق الإنسان بـ«هيومن رايتس ووتش» فإنه «برغم تقديم صندوق النقد الدولي قروضًا لمصر بـ 20 مليار دولار منذ 2016؛ إلا أنه عجز عن تنفيذ الإصلاحات اللازمة للتصدي بشكل فعال لدور الجيش المتنامي دون مساءلة في الاقتصاد، أو لتوسيع شبكة الأمان الاجتماعي لحماية الحقوق الاقتصادية للأفراد. كما لا يزال التقدم في الإصلاحات الضرورية بعيد المنال، وأصبح ملايين المصريين يتعرضون بشكل متزايد للصدمات الخارجية للاقتصاد العالمي».

ينبغي على صندوق النقد والسلطات المصرية رفض أي برنامج قروض يرفع تكلفة المعيشة دون زيادة الاستثمار بشكل كبير في برامج الحماية الاجتماعية الشاملة؛ في سبيل ضمان الحق في مستوى معيشي لائق، بما فيه الغذاء، للجميع.

ووفقًا لـ«الجهاز المركزي للتعبئة العامة والإحصاء» المصري؛ فقبل تفشي الجائحة، كان واحد من كل ثلاثة مصريين -حوالي 30 مليون شخص- يعيشون تحت خط الفقر الوطني، ويواجه مثلهم  خطر الفقر، بحسب «البنك الدولي». في المقابل، يغطي برنامجا التحويلات النقدية المصريان «تكافل» و«كرامة» 11 مليون شخص فقط، تاركين عشرات الملايين يعيشون في الفقر، أو معرضين لخطره، في ظل تصاعد أسعار الكثير من السلع الأساسية، خاصةً المواد الغذائية.

برنامج «تكافل» المصري، يدعم الأسر الفقيرة ممن لديهم أطفال دون 18 عامًا، بشرط حضور المدرسة والخضوع للفحوصات الصحية. بينما يغطي برنامج «كرامة» ذوي الدخل المنخفض ممن تزيد أعمارهم عن 65 عامًا، والأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة، والأيتام. وأطلقت مصر هذين البرنامجين في 2015 بدعم من البنك الدولي؛ للتخفيف من تأثير التدابير الاقتصادية والمالية الشاملة التي نفذتها بموجب اتفاقية صندوق النقد بين عامي 2016 و2019، والتي تسببت في رفع تكلفة المعيشة، وزيادة معدلات الفقر وعدم المساواة.

توسيع تغطية وأعداد المنتفعين بهذه البرامج يكتسب أهمية خاصة في ضوء التدابير الحكومية التي تضر بذوي الدخل المنخفض على وجه الخصوص؛ فالدولة المصرية تدعم بشكل كبير واردات المواد الغذائية لضمان إتاحتها بأسعار معقولة لسكانها البالغ عددهم أكثر من 102 مليون نسمة. إلا أنه في أغسطس 2021، وقبل الارتفاع الكبير الأخير في الأسعار، أعلن الرئيس عبد الفتاح السيسي عن تخفيض برنامج دعم الخبز المستمر لعقود، ويستفيد منه قرابة 70 مليون مصري. وفي السياق نفسه، خفضت الحكومة دعمها لزيت عباد الشمس وزيت فول الصويا بنسبة 20%، والزيت النباتي غير المخلوط بنسبة 23.5% بسبب الضغط المتزايد على ميزانية الحكومة بعد ارتفاع الأسعار.

تفشي جائحة كوفيد-19، إلى جانب الغزو الروسي لأوكرانيا، تسببا في مفاقمة الصعوبات الاقتصادية التي يواجهها المصريون، الأمر الذي يعزز من أهمية توسيع شبكة الأمان الاجتماعي في البلاد. ففي فبراير الماضي، وفي أعقاب ارتفاع الأسعار الناتج عن الأزمة الأوكرانية، بلغ معدل التضخم في البلاد 8.8%.

وبشكل خاص، تعد مصر من الدول المعرضة لصدمات كبيرة في الأسعار باعتبارها أكبر مستورد للقمح في العالم، ويأتي 80% منه من أوكرانيا وروسيا. ومنذ بدء الغزو، ارتفعت أسعار الخبز في القاهرة الكبرى بنسبة 50%، بحسب تقارير إعلامية. وفي 20 مارس الماضي، أصدر رئيس الوزراء مصطفى مدبولي قرارًا بتحديد أسعار الخبز غير المدعوم؛ كاستجابة طارئة للأسعار المتزايدة بشكل حاد. ورغم أنه كان متوقعًا أن تعلن الحكومة المصرية مقدار خفض دعم الخبز بحلول نهاية مارس؛ إلا أنه لا يزال من غير الواضح ما إذا كانت هذه الخطط ستنفذ في ظل الأزمة الحالية.

في 21 مارس، وفي محاولة للتخفيف من الأثر الاقتصادي للغزو الروسي، أعلنت وزارة المالية عن مجموعة من الإجراءات الطارئة، منها تخصيص 2.7 مليار جنيه مصري إضافي (148 مليون دولار) لإضافة 450 ألف أسرة جديدة لبرنامجي تكافل وكرامة، بزيادة قدرها 12%. وكذا رفع مخصصات كل أسرة بنسبة 1.5%. إلا أن هذه الزيادة لا تزال غير كافية لدعم الملايين الذين لا يزالوا معرضين لخطر الفقر بشكل حاد.

وينبغي على صندوق النقد الدولي أخد الضرائب التصاعدية بعين الاعتبار، عند النظر في تدابير زيادة الإيرادات الحكومية، وخفض الديون، وتمويل توسيع الحماية الاجتماعية. فبحسب تقرير لـ«لمبادرة المصرية للحقوق الشخصية»، فإن أفقر 10% من المصريين ينفقون 6.4% من مداخيلهم على ضريبة القيمة المضافة المفروضة كجزء من برنامج صندوق النقد الدولي، بنسبة تقارب ضعف ما يدفعه أغنى أغنياء البلاد، الذين ينفقون 3.3%. وفي السياق نفسه،  رفع قانون ضريبة الدخل الصادر في أبريل 2020 معدل الضريبة على من يكسبون 400 ألف جنيه مصري (25 ألف دولار) أو أكثر من 22.5 إلى 25 %، وهي خطوة في الاتجاه الصحيح، لكنها لا تزال منخفضة نسبيًا وفقا للمعايير الدولية.

كما على صندوق النقد إدراج تدابير في أي ترتيبات مستقبلية مع مصر لاستعادة استقلالية القضاء، وهو أمر أساسي للنمو الاقتصادي ومحاربة الفساد. احتلت مصر المرتبة 136 من 139 دولة في «مؤشر سيادة القانون» التابع لـ «مشروع العدالة العالمية» لعام 2021، مع درجات منخفضة للغاية في عوامل الإنفاذ التنظيمي، والعدالة المدنية، والعدالة الجنائية. كما ساهمت التعديلات الدستورية التي أقرها البرلمان المصري عام 2019 في تقويض استقلالية القضاء، بمنحها الرئيس سلطات إشرافية غير مقيدة على القضاء والنائب العام، فضلًا عن سلطة تعيين رؤساء الهيئات والسلطات القضائية.

كان صندوق النقد الدولي قد سبق وجعل النهوض باستقلالية القضاء جزءً أساسيًا من برامجه؛ ففي أوكرانيا على سبيل المثال، حجب صندوق النقد في فبراير 2021 الدفعة الثانية من قرض بـ 5 مليارات دولار لأسباب من بينها أن الحكومة لم تحرز تقدمًا كافيًا في الإصلاح القضائي. وبعد أربعة أشهر، أقر البرلمان الأوكراني مشروع قانون لإصلاح المجلس الذي يختار ويقيّم القضاة.

كما يعد ضروريًا أن يضمّن صندوق النقد شروطًا قوية لمكافحة الفساد، مثل استعادة استقلالية «الجهاز المركزي للمحاسبات» المصري؛ خاصةً في ظل تقويض الحكومة المصرية لاستقلالية هيئات مكافحة الفساد، وعدم تنفيذها لقوانين مكافحة الفساد. كان الرئيس السيسي قد أصدر في يوليو 2015 مرسومًا يسمح له بإقالة رؤساء عدد من الأجهزة الرقابية، بما فيها الجهاز المركزي للمحاسبات، وهو هيئة مستقلة لرصد الفساد. كان القانون يمنع سابقا الرئيس من إقالة رؤساء الأجهزة دون سبب.

في مارس 2016، أقال الرئيس السيسي هشام جنينة، رئيس الجهاز المركزي للمحاسبات، بعدما أبلغ عن خسائر بقيمة 600 مليار جنيه (نحو 76 مليار دولار حينها) بين 2012 و2015 بسبب الفساد الحكومي. في وقت لاحق عام 2016، أدانت محكمة بالقاهرة جنينة بتهمة نشر معلومات كاذبة.

كجزء من تركيزه على الفساد، على صندوق النقد أن يعلن بوضوح أن تدابير الشفافية المتعلقة بالمؤسسات المملوكة للدولة تمتد لتشمل شركات الجيش، ويجب أن يتحقق بشكل مستقل من أن هذه الإفصاحات جزء من مراجعاته. ولا تخضع شركات الجيش لأي إشراف مستقل أو مدني، الأمر الذي يحرم المصريين من الوصول للمعلومات اللازمة لتقييم التكاليف والمستفيدين من المشاريع الممولة من القطاع العام. وفي 2019، وجد تقرير شامل أن شركات الجيش المصري تعمل في سرية تامة تقريبًا، وتخفي «أوجه القصور والخسائر الخفية»، برغم حصولها على «حصة غير متناسبة من الإيرادات العامة».

التوسع الاقتصادي الشرس للجيش ترافق مع تصاعد القمع السياسي، بما فيه قمع نخبة رجال الأعمال الذين يُعتبرون معارضين سياسيين. في ديسمبر 2020 وفبراير 2021، اعتقل «قطاع الأمن الوطني» صفوان ثابت ونجله سيف ثابت، صاحبَي «شركة جهينة»، إحدى أكبر منتجي الألبان، بعدما رفضا تسليم أسهم في شركتهما إلى شركة تملكها الدولة بسب تقارير. ومنذ ذلك الحين، لا يزال الرجلان محبوسين انفراديًا. ينبغي على صندوق النقد، على الأقل، المطالبة بالشفافية بشأن دور شركات الجيش في الاقتصاد المصري.

ترتبط الشفافية بشكل وطيد بدور المجتمع المدني ووسائل الإعلام، لا سيما بسبب عدم ضمان الثقة بالإحصاءات الرسمية. على صندوق النقد الضغط على السلطات المصرية لوقف قمع حرية التعبير وتكوين الجمعيات بإطلاق سراح الصحفيين والبرلمانيين والمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان المسجونين بخلاف القانون، وكذلك مراجعة إدانة رئيس الجهاز السابق هشام جنينة عام 2018.

قال تيموثي كالداس، زميل السياسات بـ «معهد التحرير لسياسات الشرق الأوسط»: «إن كان صندوق النقد الدولي جادًا بشأن المساعدة في تحسين الحوكمة في مصر وبناء اقتصاد لصالح جميع المصريين؛ فعليه تغيير نهجه بشكل كبير. يجب أن ينهي تجاهله لعشرات ملايين المصريين الذين يعيشون في الفقر، وللتوسع الهائل في الدور الغامض للجيش في الاقتصاد».

المنظمات الموقعة:

  1. الأورو-متوسطية للحقوق
  2. مبادرة الحرية
  3. المدافعون عن الحقوق المدنية
  4. مركز القاهرة لدراسات حقوق الإنسان
  5. مشروع الديمقراطية في الشرق الأوسط
  6. معهد التحرير لسياسات الشرق الأوسط
  7. هيومن رايتس ووتش

هذه المقالة متاحة أيضًا بـ: English

Share this Post