In a side event to HRC 46: Israel’s Health Apartheid Must Be Recognized and Condemned by UN and Member States

In Arab Countries, International Advocacy Program by CIHRS

On 16 March 2021, the Cairo Institute for Human Rights Studies (CIHRS) held a joint webinar titled “Israeli Health Apartheid during COVID-19” in parallel to the 46th session of the United Nations Human Rights Council, co-hosted with civil society partners, moderated by  CIHRS. The webinar was attended by diplomats, representatives from UN agencies and civil society organizations.

In her intervention, UN Special Rapporteur on the right of everyone to the enjoyment of the highest attainable standard of physical and mental health, Dr. Tlaleng Mofokeng, said:  “More than 4.5 million Palestinians will remain unprotected and exposed to Covid-19, while in this case Israeli citizens living near and among them – including the Israeli settler population – will be vaccinated. Morally and legally, when you are using the bedrock of human rights as your compass, we know this differential access to necessary health care in the midst of the worst global health crisis in a century is unacceptable.”

During the event, Palestinian civil society addressed the impacts of the global pandemic, which have brought into sharper focus Israel’s denial of the right to health to the Palestinian people as part of its commission of the crime of apartheid. Seven decades of Israel’s institutionalized racial domination and oppression have resulted in wide disparities between Israeli and Palestinian access to healthcare and Palestinians’ broader enjoyment of the right to health.

Speakers[1] from Addameer, Al-Haq, Al Mezan, JLAC and WCLAC focused on the impact of the Israel’s regime of institutionalized racial domination and oppression over the Palestinian people on the right to health, including the denial of equal access to life-saving COVID-19 vaccines, the deliberate underdevelopment of the health sector in the West Bank and Gaza, Israel’s medical neglect of Palestinian detainees and prisoners, and the disproportionate impacts of Israeli policies, including demolitions and evictions, on Palestinian women and girls.

Civil society organizations called on UN Member States to recognize Israel’s  establishment of  an apartheid regime over the Palestinian people as a whole, and urged them to take effective measures toward bringing the illegal situation to an end. In the context of the ongoing pandemic, organizations called on the international community to ensure that Israel upholds its responsibility as the Occupying Power to respect, protect, and fulfill the right of health for all Palestinians under Israel’s effective control, including by providing Palestinians with equal access to vaccines.

In her closing remarks Special Rapporteur Dr. Mofokeng added, “As someone who lived and grew up in apartheid South Africa, I don’t have to imagine or read textbook research to understand what’s happening and the urgency of the issues” in Palestine.

You can view the webinar here.


[1] Speakers included Budour Hassan from the Jerusalem Legal Aid and Human Rights Center, Nuriya Oswald from Al Mezan Center for Human Rights, Milena Ansari from Addameer, Shahd Qaddoura from Al Haq, and Amal Abusrour from the Women’s Center for Legal Aid and Counseling.


Related:

 

This post is also available in: العربية

Share this Post

المجتمع المدني يدعو الأمم المتحدة إلى إدانة ممارسات الفصل العنصري الإسرائيلي في القطاع الصحي

In البرنامج الدولى لحماية حقوق الانسان, دول عربية by CIHRS

في ندوة إلكترونية على هامش فعاليات الجلسة الـ 46 لمجلس حقوق الإنسان:

في 16 مارس 2021، نظم مركز القاهرة لدراسات حقوق الإنسان بالتعاون مع شركائه من المنظمات الفلسطينية ندوة إلكترونية مشتركة حول “الفصل العنصري الإسرائيلي في القطاع الصحي خلال كوفيد-19″، وذلك بالتوازي مع الجلسة الـ 46 لمجلس حقوق الإنسان بالأمم المتحدة. شارك في الندوة عدد من الدبلوماسيين وممثلي هيئات الأمم المتحدة ومنظمات المجتمع المدني.

بدأت فعاليات الندوة بكلمة المقررة الخاصة بالأمم المتحدة المعنية بحق كل فرد في التمتع بأعلى مستوى يمكن بلوغه من الصحة البدنية والعقلية الدكتورة تلالنغ موفوكينج، والتي ركزت بشكل خاص على الممارسات الإسرائيلية العنصرية في مجال الرعاية الصحية في خضم الأزمة، قائلة: “أكثر من 4.5 مليون فلسطينيًا معرضين لخطر لكوفيد-19 وغير محميين منه، بينما يتم تطعيم المواطنين الإسرائيليين الذين يعيشون بالقرب منهم وبينهم – بما في ذلك المستوطنين الإسرائيليين.” وتابعت: “أخلاقيًا وقانونيًا، إذا كانت حقوق الإنسان هي بوصلتك، فإن هذا التباين في الوصول إلى الرعاية الصحية الضرورية في خضم أسوأ أزمة صحية عالمية منذ قرن هو أمر غير مقبول.

خلال الندوة، تناول المجتمع المدني الفلسطيني انعكاسات الوباء العالمي على الفلسطينيين، مسلطًا الضوء بشكل أكبر على إنكار إسرائيل لحق الشعب الفلسطيني في الصحة، كجزء من ارتكاب إسرائيل لجريمة الفصل العنصري الممتدة منذ سبعة عقود، الأمر الذي أدى إلى تباينات واسعة بين وصول الإسرائيليين والفلسطينيين للرعاية الصحية وتمتعهم الأوسع بهذا الحق.

وفي هذا السياق تطرق ممثلو[1] مؤسسات؛ القدس والميزان والضمير والحق ومركز المرأة للإرشاد القانوني والاجتماعي المشاركة في الندوة إلى تأثير الهيمنة العنصرية المؤسسية الإسرائيلية على الشعب الفلسطيني لا سيما في سياق الحق في الصحة، بما في ذلك الحرمان من المساواة في الوصول إلى لقاحات كوفيد-19، وتراجع تطوير القطاع الصحي في الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة، بالإضافة إلى الإهمال الإسرائيلي الطبي للمعتقلين والسجناء الفلسطينيين، والآثار غير المتناسبة للسياسات الإسرائيلية – بما في ذلك عمليات الهدم والإخلاء – على النساء والفتيات الفلسطينيات.

ومن ثم، دعت منظمات المجتمع المدني المشاركة الدول الأعضاء بالأمم المتحدة إلى الاعتراف باتباع إسرائيل لنظام فصل عنصري بحق الشعب الفلسطيني ككل وإدانته، واتخاذ تدابير فعالة من أجل إنهاء هذا الوضع غير القانوني. كما دعت المنظمات المجتمع الدولي إلى ضمان تحمل إسرائيل مسئوليتها كقوة احتلال في احترام وحماية وإعمال الحق في الصحة لجميع الفلسطينيين الخاضعين للسيطرة الإسرائيلية الفعلية، وخاصة في سياق الجائحة المستمرة، بما في ذلك ضمان المساواة في وصول الفلسطينيين للقاح.

في ملاحظاتها الختامية، أضافت المقررة الخاصة الدكتورة موفوكينج: “بصفتي شخصًا عاش وترعرع في نظام الفصل العنصري في جنوب إفريقيا، لا يتعين عليّ أن أتخيل أو أقرأ بحثًا في الكتب المدرسية حتى أفهم طبيعة ما يحدث، أو أقدر خطورة الوضع في فلسطين.”

رابط الندوة على يوتيوب: هنا.


[1] ممثلو المنظمات المشاركة في الندوة: بدور حسن من مركز القدس للمساعدة القانونية وحقوق الإنسان، ونوريا أوزوالد من مركز الميزان لحقوق الإنسان، وميلينا أنصاري من مؤسسة الضمير، وشهد قدورة من مركز الحق، وأمل أبو سرور من مركز المرأة للإرشاد القانوني والاجتماعي.


ذو صلة:

 

This post is also available in: English